Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
102
3.7 out of 5 stars
The International  [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£4.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 15 September 2017
Clive Owen plays his role to perfection in this intelligently written film, that is punctuated by gripping action scenes. Owen reminds me of Richard Burton, who also excelled in playing the intense hero.

Pity about the title.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2017
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2017
Splendid movie. Intense and clever.
A lot of good acting , but the female lead is very week.
But it is easy to ignore her cardboard acting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2017
Excellent product. Received in great condition and I'm very happy with my purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2017
Great film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2017
very informative about the real hidden role of the Banks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2010
The plot attemtps to picture a major conspiracy, but director's/producers lack of attention to detail and poor believability (ref Stanislavsky) kills it completely... The movie is a cross between the worst of James Bond movies and Stallone's Cobra- one of the characters survives being hit by a fast moving car only to be back on duty on the same day wearing high heels. In another scene, Clive Owen's characters manages to leave a building with a wounded comrade inspite of being cornered by a group of professional killers mounting an attack with automatic firearms. I think Clive Owen must have thought it's not shaping up, because he plays it poorly...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
I bought this on recommendation from a friend and I must say I question he's taste as this is one really awful over ratted film,it's slow to get into and boring and has Clive Owen in it one of the the most mediocre actors I have ever seen honestly it isn't even worth £4.00 maybe 50 pence if you are lucky.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 13 December 2014
This isn't the fastest moving movie you'll ever watch , and it's not really the strongest story-line...but....once you get into it there is enough within to keep your interest alive.
The story ? It's the tale of what in the film that is a leading bank will anything d to protect it's involvement in selling 'arms' to the Arab -States to wage war on 'Israel' not telling the buyers of course that the Israelis have the weapons to counter what they sell.
'Louis Salinger' ( Clive Owen ) after the murder of a colleague makes it his business to expose the dealings.
There is a 'great' gunfight sequence 'two-thirds' the way through the film that not only works well on 'Blu-ray' but on it's own is what makes the film worth buying or at the very least watching.
44 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 30 January 2013
I'm possibly be a little over generous with the 4 star rating but 3 seems too low for this movie.
Clive Owen is dependable as ever as suits the role well the scruffy look works wonders for Clive in this movie. Naomi Watts provides some eye candy and can also act (which helps) Overall happy with the cast and with Armin Mueller-Stahl being very suitable for a banking type figure too.

It has to be said that there are times the plot stretches things a little (financial institution conspiracy theme- though with recent events in banking you might feel it's not far off of reality!), could also be argued the ending isn't as good as many might like.
There is a very good and quite lengthy sequence inside the Guggenheim Museum, which is both well filmed and appealing from a cinematic angle an ideal location for a "shoot out" and it worked for me.

Overall I do recommend the film as I think it's one of the better thrillers in recent times, but enough action to keep non heavy plot folks entertained as well (the story is good and requires some thinking/attention, but it's not all long boring chats either). Decent acting, good story (even if stretched a tad), moves at a reasonable pace, good cinemaphotograpy as well I think it's worth checking it out. The bottom line for any movie for me is a: Did I enjoy it? (yes) and b: Have I watched it more than once (yes again) It's not a grade A masterpiece, but it's almost a B+ one.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)