Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
10
4.9 out of 5 stars

on 7 January 2005
Whilst watching The Incredibles I was puzzled to see, on numerous occasions, what I thought were tell tale "lines" on the screen, usually the product of 32mm film whizzing through the projector gate. An odd thing to see indeed in this day and age - especially when animated films are created entirely digitally! After a moment's thought, however, this made perfect sense; it was clearly a deliberate stylistic cue, a nod to the classic 60s spy genre that the Incredibles gently spoofs. It should come as no surprise then to find that the music, which I loved throughout the movie, should bear the same traits.
Take Lalo Schifrin, mix his riffs for Mission Impossible and Bullit up with John Barry's early James Bond scores and Henri Mancini and you have a labour of love soundtrack every bit as good as the movie it accompanies. Michael Giacchino's original score will remind you of the great 60's TV/movie action-adventures themes while at the same time making the genre seem new again - and that's no mean feat. Recorded in analogue just as great scores used to be (yes, the ENTIRE orchestra is in front of the mic - no layering here), with an unmistakeable big-band sound, it's a cool, knowing and yet affectionate hommage to the jazzy scores of the 60s - retro-cool at its finest. Just like the film.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 March 2005
If the rumours are true, that John Barry was set to score Pixar's wondrous new feature The Incredibles, but had to drop out at the last minute, then his replacement Michael Giacchino was an inspired choice.
This soundtrack is simply one of the best John Barry style Bond scores, that current Bond composer David Arnold could only dream of writing.
Currently best known for his stunning Medal of Honor games soundtracks that recall John Williams at his peak, Michael Giacchino has the knack of writing strong memorable themes and his use of brilliant orchestrators enables him to sound so like the composers he obviously admires. With the Incredibles Giacchino has captured the swagger and sass of John Barry's early Bond soundtracks for From Russia With Love, Goldfinger, Thunderball and OHMSS, without blatantly pinching a single tune from Barry.
Ok there are times when it's obvious you are listening to the underscore of a frenetic piece of action more akin to Carl Stalling's Looney Tunes music, but on the whole it's like listening to a long lost Bond soundtrack.
If you love movie music buy this album - it's a lot of fun.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2005
In 2004, Pixar released its *sixth* smash-hit movie, The Incredibles. When making the movie, writer-director Brad Bird found his dream composer in the form of Michael Giacchino, a film composer who could make the big jazzy music that the story demanded. This CD contains the soundtrack of the movie that Bird created and Giacchino brought to life.
OK, sound like hyperbole? Well, once you get a chance to listen to this soundtrack, you will realize just how much the music brought the story to life. And I'll go beyond that, this soundtrack is great to listen to on its own. Some soundtracks are all variations on the same theme, and quite boring, but this soundtrack is really great to listen to, swinging between smoky quiets to screaming crescendos.
Yep, I loved the movie The Incredibles, and I loved this soundtrack. If you love good jazz, then this CD is for you. I highly recommend it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 29 December 2015
I'm a huge Disney fan and I always love having both the film and the soundtrack.

This is such a lovely CD to have.

Originally John Barry was asked if he’d compose the score but he declined as he didn’t want to duplicate any of his earlier scores.

The original score was written by Michael Giacchino, this was his first soundtrack for Pixar.

If you listen carefully the score is written in the style of movies and TV shows from the 1960’s, (the big superhero days of Batman and Robin, Spiderman etc) which gave us a huge orchestral sound back then.

Michael has written some lovely melodies for the film as the work so well with the emotion of the film.

I can highly recommend this for both Disney and Classical music fans. :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2014
I had this cd years ago. My youngest son has just gotten into it but my disc is scratched and jumps. I searched all over but eventually found this on amazon. Fantastic as now we can listen to it at bedtime without it sticking and jumping. It's the actual voices from the film in a shortened version on cd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2012
Myself and my little boy are massive fans of the Incredilbles.
This soundtrack has it all;Cool jazz and james Bond like themes running through it.
Its yet another brilliant Pixar effort plus my son loves it!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2013
My kids have seen this movie countless number of times and my 11 year old in particular loves the the soundtrack. The CD came in very good time and has had good use.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2016
Just what we wanted, a trouble free transaction DEALING WITH AN INCREDIBLE MUSICAL LISTENING, many thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2014
Just brilliant! How is this man not rated alongside Korngold, Williams and Goldsmith?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2015
Fantastic trumpets!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse