Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
282
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.66+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 November 2005
The Stones now reach a level with this album (1971) where it is very difficult to criticize even one track. Even 'You Gotta Move' which is the obvious weak link here fits the album perfectly, and in context is quite enjoyable. For the rest of the album, we have a closet of Golden Wonders. And I'm not talking about Crisps. The opener 'Brown Sugar' is no less than the best Rock Dance Number ever committed to vinyl. Forget the live versions. This is the one. 'Sway' finds the Stones at their swaggering best. Quite an album track. 'Wild Horses' is utterly infectious. Up there in the Top 3 ballads this band ever recorded. And that means better than 'Fool To Cry' (1976) or even 'Waiting On A Friend' (1981). That good. 'Can You Hear Me Knocking' is an extended jam featuring Mick Taylor and Keith combining on on some quite superb guitar. It goes on a bit but is pretty compelling for the most part.I Got The Blues' is an incredibly moving slow blues number with great organ support from Billy Preston. Compare this, for example, to 'Coming Down Again' from Goat's Head Soup'. They only matched this style of track on 'Let It Bleed' (1969) with 'Love In Vain' or 'No Expectations' from 'Beggars' Banquet' (1968). 'Sister Morphine' is a brilliant piece in its atmosphere. Depressing maybe, but quite brilliant musically...and pretty hard hitting lyrically. 'Dead Flowers' is wonderful relief to all this gloom, classic tongue in cheek Country and Western Jagger. Nice guitar. And then we come to the closing number 'Moonlight Mile' which is utterly superb. In every way. Lines such as 'with a headful of snow' are perfectly evocative. And the melody and Jagger's vocal delivery are quite incredible. Not a single but a classic all the same.
Rarely have this band produced an album of such consistent brilliance.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 July 2015
A classic Stones album from the early 70s, this double CD version sounds excellent in this new deluxe release. The main album is very familiar to any Stones fan, but the second CD is the real reason I bought this. The version of Brown Sugar featuring Eric Clapton on guitar is brilliant (said the biassed EC fan!). with EC throwing in a very tasty short solo. The live tracks from the Roundhouse concert in 1971 are also terrific. Up there with Get Your Yayas Out for my money. Very happyy with this purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2017
Perhaps the Stones' best single LP...oh my GOD! There is a mouse by my feet!! Right as I type this...whoa.
A big mouse. Not a rat but a mouse with...is that cheese?

And he looks a bit like Mick Jagger. In the face, I mean. Almost exactly. MARSHA...COME HERE QUICK. Could this be a sign from God??
Or should I not have eaten those week-old collard greens I found in the back of the fridge? Oh man, I need to come down...the MOUSE IS GETTING BIGGER...AHHHHHHHH🙀
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2015
Still wonderful and much better remastered on CD than my 40 year-old vinyl. Just try Sister Morphine. The track, I mean.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2000
"Sticky Fingers" was created smack (ha ha) in the middle of the Stones' most creative period. From the introduction of Mick Taylor for 1969's "Let it Bleed" through to "It's only Rock n Roll" five years later, the Stones were Rock's Royalty - completely untouchable. "Sticky Fingers" kicks off with one of Richard's greatest riffs on "Brown Sugar" and it just gets better from there, blending their classic Blues Rock with out and out Country ("Dead Flowers"), traditional Country Blues (Mississippi Fred MacDowell's "You Gotta Move") and the beautiful, balladic "Wild Horses" supposedly influenced, if not actually co-written, by the legendary Gram Parsons. And Taylor's influence is most evident on the haunting closer "Moonlight Mile" another of their strongest-ever songs. The word "Classic" is over-used in the field of music these days but it actually applies to this and the other Stones albums of the Mick Taylor era.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2016
Used but in perfect condition for £3 inc. delivery.
Not much info on the sleeve but this has been expertly remastered/remixed. Can even hear clearly the acoustic rhythm guitar on 'Brown Sugar' which I had never noticed before.
A classic Stones album, their first without Brian Jones. It was all downhill from here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2016
My husband is a major Rolling Stones fan having almost every album available in vinyl as well as the entire CD collection not to mention his book collection and various other bits & pieces. This was a necessary addition to keep the collection going. Not cheap but he loves it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2015
Superb album, even better with the extra tracks. Turn it up to 11
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2011
Brilliant album - five stars no question at all; a band at the absolute height of their powers. What I love about the Rolling Stones is that they never changed their formula very much, but still managed to produce 5 or 6 albums of the best rock and roll music ever made.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2015
I've always thought 'Sticky Fingers' represented a creative high-point for Jagger & Co. - it's the one album apart from any greatest hits compilation that I can play all the way through and really enjoy listening to without feeling the need to skip tracks. Brown Sugar, Wild Horses and Moonlight Mile being the real standout songs whilst everything in between just adds to the mix with strong rockers like 'Bitch', 'Can't You Hear Me Knocking' and laid back bluesy nuggets like 'Sister Morphine' and 'You Gotta Move'. 'Dead Flowers' is the only real filler track to my ears.
I bought this because of the companion disc with recordings I hadn't heard before. With any such purchase there's an element of chance and the worry that it's just a way to get more money for nothing of any great value...however, I'm really blown away by the content here - interesting alternative recordings and some genuinely good live stuff. Excellent value!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99
£6.99
£6.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)