Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
49
4.6 out of 5 stars
Sing The Number 1's
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99


on 30 June 2017
really good cd very enjoyable would recommend to anybody thinking of buying this disc thanks seller
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2017
Excellent product at a great price many thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2017
JUST AWESOME
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2017
Just ok definitely not their best by a long way
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2015
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2017
Very good product, I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for an item like this. My grandad loved it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2011
this is a good cd to bring back memories of what you were doing when the songs were no 1,in the style of foster & allen.It brought back many happy memories with a feelgood factor and is a must for over 55s,It took me back to the time of innocence of youth as my mum would say and i realy enjoyed the cd and would recomend it to anyone who likes Foster& Allen
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
#1 HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERon 30 May 2009
Mick Foster and Tony Allen may wish that they'd had even one British number one hit, but they've managed to have a very long and successful career anyway without even coming close. Nevertheless, their albums have always sold reasonably well in Britain and they are very popular in several other countries including, of course, their Irish homeland.

This album is a part-compilation, including as it does 13 tracks recorded between 1986 and 2002, together with 27 tracks recorded especially for this release. Some tracks that qualified for this release, but which appeared on other then-recent compilations have been excluded. For example, the 2003 release Very best of Foster and Allen included a few covers of British number one hits such as The wonder of you, Can't help falling in love, Green green grass of home, One day at a time and Matchstick men and matchstick cats and dogs, all became British number one hits in the sixties or seventies for other artists, but they aren't included here. Similarly, no tracks from the 2004 release Sing the sixties are duplicated here. Wisely, the compilers decided that a significant proportion of people buying this set also bought one or both of these two earlier compilations. Another thing to note is that three of the original number one hits are instrumentals and they are played as such here, so the compilation title isn't entirely accurate, as Foster and Allen only sing on 37 of the 40 tracks.

The track listing tells us when the songs made number one but makes no mention of other versions that charted. Thus the listing for I have a dream (the Abba classic) mentions Westlife but not Abba, the original having spent a month stuck at number two behind Pink Floyd's Another brick in the wall. For those songs that made return visits to number one, each visit is recorded. The opening track on the first CD, Unchained melody, has been number one for four different artists and all are listed, but again no mention is made of other hit versions.

Inevitably, the hits chosen reflect the duo's own tastes, with many of the originals dating back to the fifties, sixties and seventies though some are later. They are clearly huge Elvis fans as they recorded Good luck charm and She's not you for this album, to add to all the other Elvis covers they'd previously recorded and which can be found elsewhere. There are no Beatles covers as such, though John Lennon (Imagine) and Paul McCartney (Mull of Kintyre) are represented. Still, although I'm not short of Beatles covers, I'm disappointed that at least one wasn't included. There are a few country songs here, although two of them (I can't stop loving you, If tomorrow never comes) were British number one hits for non-country artists. Three more (Distant drums, Coward of the county, Lucille) were among the few genuine country recordings to have become British number one hits. As for Annie's song, it depends whether you count John Denver as country or not.

I'm not going to pretend that Foster and Allen's versions are better than the originals, but the covers here are very well made and just hearing these songs together in one package will bring back many memories for older people. I really enjoy hearing this double CD. Sometimes when playing it, I'm reminded that it's time I played one or more of the original versions again.
22 Comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2013
For those like me who appreciate melodic understandable lyrics and truly great songs from the past this is it !! Eat you heart out Simon Cowell, this, what you would call 'cheesey' music, will live on forever and time has proved that these two great performers definitely have the "X" Factor.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
love this keep it in the car it has all our favourites on it and is good for a sing along very good price too
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Celebration
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)