Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
37
4.3 out of 5 stars
Lives Of A Bengal Lancer [DVD][1935]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 15 October 2017
One of those films which are iconic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2017
Very fine film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2017
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2017
Great old Hollywood film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Bought for a work project. Not a fan of the film but can't fault the product, service and delivery time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2011
A fantastic movie!

The British Raj at it's height. Hitler loved this movie as it represented an empire with a force of 200,000 men controlled a nation of millions. He wanted to emulate that.

I love this movie. It has humour between the two leading men. It is not gung ho in any way.

Thoroughly recommended
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2014
Considering its age, this film holds up well, with some dark humour and of course some dashing action. It is truly a classic and worth looking up. The actors are old for their roles, but that was normal in those days. Great movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2013
No CGI just great actors and a great storey Loved it frame to frame This was a good quality aprint as well Getting the English language version up was not as easy as I thought.. Otherwise 8++++++++
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2011
Saw this film when I was very young. Have not seen it since on screen, but I was Surprised and delighted to find that I could purchase it as a DVD through Amazon.
It goes back to 1935 when released, with the young Gary Cooper & Franchet Tone [was
that his real name or stage name?] and that fine old actor and former cricketer Sir C Aubrey Smith. The transfer of a 1935 film to DVD is very good and the soundtrack is the same.

Although it is in black and white as most films were in those days it ranks alongside other oldies like - "Gunga Din", "Charge of the Light Brigade", "They Died With Their Boots ON", "Captain Blood", "The Drum", "The Four Feathers"

These were all action adventure films which I still enjoy watching today. Cooper was a very watchable actor of the old school alaways seemed a very hesitant hero i.e. Sergeant York and "For Whom The Bell Tolls".

Of course it was very accurate in depicting the Indian soldiers especially the resplendant Bengal Lancers. The shame is they dont make films like these ncwadays.
although the pageantry is likely still there but no longer the actors of the caliber of Cooper and others of his ilk.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
This film is a classic and should be watched for it"s own merit and not for the morbid reason that the most evil individual who ever walked our planet favoured it above all the many movies he spent 1939-1945 watching whilst millions died as a result of his psychopathic beliefs.

The movie takes us back to the era of the Raj and whilst that period evokes mixed emotions for many, particularly Indians nonetheless it has a good story line and entertains. And really, that"s what movies are for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)