Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
57
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 March 2017
Excellent cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2013
Catchy pop punk from our Northern friends, always good to be alternative and this is a short album that brings joy. Recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2015
Bought it for a mate and he assures me it is a good listen
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2015
Dead on
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2015
It is very good Alban we music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2016
I am really pleased with this CD! The price was good, it arrived quickly but best of all the CD is fantastic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2015
very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Very good product and just what I needed for the job
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
If you need an introduction to Swedish rock band The Hives' music, this 2001 compilation album is still you're best bet. The confidently titled 'Your New Favourite Bet' milks together tracks from the band's first two albums 'Barely Legal' (1997) and 'Veni Vidi Vicious' (2000), as well four songs from an EP. It was released in a attempt to generate mainstream interest and success in the UK and US. Whilst it wasn't quite a success in helping them breakthrough to the States, it had the opposite effect over here in Britain, peaking at number seven in the UK's album chart. With such fast, crazy guitar riffs, drums, great vocals, funny and sharp lyrics, and feet stomping beats, that was hardly surprising.

The Hives gathered together some of their most wonderfully chaotic, catchy punk-pop music for this compilation, and although they never came even close to being 'my new favourite band', I still give this album a spin to this day - it's always great fun!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 16 February 2013
Combining the raw musical edge of traditional British punk bands like The Exploited with the humour of 70's Punks like The Dickies, 'Your New Favourite Band' is an enjoyable ear splitting romp.

As with all such albums, musical variety is not on the menu here and the first two tracks are incredibly similar riff wise. As with the very best punk music from the past, however, there is a lot going on here lyrically (if you can pick out the words!) and in spite of musical appearances an intelligent mind is obviously behind these creations. Venting your fury at 100mph is what punk is all about and as such those into shouty, throat tearing, vocals and urgent, muffled and grunted backing 'vocals' will love these tunes. 'Hate To Say I Told You So' is of course the most pop friendly of the material here as most of this collection (bar the last instrumental track) will not appeal to anyone who doesn't enjoy their brain being kicked about inside their head!

As a compilation of work it could perhaps have been better compiled as far as the running order goes but I very much doubt most punks worry about the subtle art of making an album anyway...

Good fun stuff and a throwback to what the word punk used to mean!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)