Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
25
Secret Voyage
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.49


on 12 March 2013
Bought this a while back and guess I wasn't in the mood to hear it at its best- but having taken the time its shown itself to be a quite remarkable and inspired album (as other reviewers have stated the inclusion of the 'Elvis song' is a little ropey but not worth taking a star off for - its a crafted guitar solo- but probably best kept for live shows). However in an age of Xfactor-oke tribute bands retreading past glories, Mr Blackmore's current approach (albeit many albums now) is fresh, brave, unique and quality. One past glory brilliantly reinterpreted here is 'Rainbow eyes' with a glorious slide tone - sadly we'll never see a duet with Ronnie but it suits the singer perfectly. I've grown to love John Renbourn LPs over the years and some of the instrumentals on this album show the versatility of Blackmore in a similar vein.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 June 2010
If you listen to all the Blackmore's Night albums you can hear a steady progression, greater sophistication, greater confidence and a growing surety of purpose. But what I haven't seen anyone else mention is the growth in Candice's voice. The mature power of her voice in this album is streets ahead of the first two albums, especially the weak Under a Voilet Moon. Secret Voyage is pure quality, though like a diamond, it has one flaw: that dreadful Elvis crap. The covers on BN albums are all a bit of risk but this is the only one that falls flat on its face. For listeners new to BN this would be a great first album to buy (just a little ahead of Ghost of a Rose and Village Lanterne). When's the next album coming? (Though you try buying it in the UK High Street - no chance!)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 October 2014
Every now and then you stumble upon a new artist and are swept up in their amazing music. I'm so glad I discovered Blackmore's night. The best description I can come up with for them is 'folky rock' - songs that you could imagine being sung in some inn or round a campfire, yet with a great blend of instruments. My favourites were 'God save the keg', 'Locked within the Crystal Ball', 'A Toast to Tomorrow', 'The Circle', and 'The Peasant's Promise.' With the exception of the first (which I could visualise walking down the aisle to ;) ), these songs are lively, powerful ones that are guaranteed to get you dancing.
A great album for a very cheap price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 April 2015
Arrived in tip top condition and thoroughly enjoyed the listening experience. This album is a lot more enjoyable than some of the later albums but not as good as the first two albums "Shadow Of The Moon" and "Under A Violet Moon" Definitely worth purchasing though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 7 July 2014
Another nice easy listening CD from Balckmore's Night. Lots of excellent singing and playing. I am so glad I discovered this band while searching on YouTube.
If you like well produced, catchy and well played easy listening music then Blackmore's Night is well worth a look.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 June 2017
Great value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 March 2015
Pleasant with a few especially good songs. If you like the style this is adecent enough album though maybe not up with the best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2014
I've listened to Blackmore's Night snippets many time, and now decided to collect them all. I admire Ritchie Blackmore, his unique talent, musical visions and feels. I adore Candice' wonderful vocals which has similarities with ABBA's Agnetha and Anni-Frid, and then some Stevie Nicks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 July 2015
Their best album. Great music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 December 2015
as is expected of blackmores night a excellent listen and very good value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

To the Moon and Back-20 Years and Beyond
£9.99
Ghost of a Rose
£9.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)