Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
46
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 February 2003
It is no exaggeration to say that some admirers of John Barry's work have been waiting for this re-release of On Her Majesty's Secret Service for decades.
Well, it was worth the wait; the work on this disk is truly incredible. The soundtrack now runs to over 75 minutes, and features all those cues that could previously only be heard by viewing the film (Gumbold's Safe, the Ice Cavern scene, Bond's dalliances at Piz Gloria, and so on. Only the ice waltz source music is missing, but that's simply because a disk can only hold so much.
The reproduction is so pin-sharp that you can hear all manner of orchestrations which were lost on past releases - and that's what makes this such a good buy. We always knew there was something special about these early Bond scores, but now we can hear every bit of the inventive genius that went into them.
It leaves you longing for the glory days of James Bond music.
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2003
OHMSS was the first Bond film I ever saw (at Christmas 1969) and it's had a special place in my affections ever since. IMHO both the film and George Lazenby were vastly underrated for many years, although that now seems to have changed.
Surely, however, no-one can argue that John Barry served up some of his finest music for this film: exciting, sinister, romantic and a perfect match for the images on screen.
For twenty years I hunted for a copy of the soundtrack album. Finally the OST was released on CD - but there was still something missing, the minor cues that didn't make it to the soundtrack album but added immeasurably to the atmosphere of the film.
Now, at last, it's here! The full score, remastered, in all its glory. Everyone involved in this gets a big, big thank-you from me. If you only buy one Bond OST you can't get better than this. And if you have the original album don't hesitate to shell out a few more quid for the bonus tracks. You won't regret it, believe me.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2017
Unlike the vast majority of people who do not like this film or George Lazenby's Bond I think it is superior to the one that followed - Diamonds Are Forever. Now, to the score. The music works fine within the movie, outside of it is another matter. John Barry created a fine theme. Unfortunately, he, along with the track We Have All The Time In The World, uses it too often. Each track is virtually a rearrangement of these two tunes. It's by no means a bad soundtrack, it's just not one of his better scores to listen to separate from the movie.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2015
Is this John Barry’s best movie score ever? It might possibly be just that. The fabulous blend of brass and synthesisers give this a unique flavour that sets it apart from other Bond soundtracks. The only weak spot? That flaming song from Louis Armstrong. The producers took the brave decision not to have a theme song and then ruined it with the schmaltz fest that is We Have All The time In The World. It works so much better as the basis for the instrumental themes than it does as a song. Fortunately it’s out of the way early in the album, after which it is five stars all the way. You can almost see 007 racing down the mountains from Piz Gloria as the escape and chase music builds up. There is an overwhelming sense of speed and time running away as the main theme plays that is splendidly counterbalanced by the ponderous regal beat that accompanies Bond’s establishment alter ego, Sir Hilary Bray, in the movie. The left-field Do You Know How Christmas Trees Are Grown? By Nina seems an odd choice for an action movie but succeeds marvellously in jolting the listener back to the mundane real world. The finest track on the album must be the closing titles. A slow sensitive arrangement of We Have All The time In The World morphs into The James Bond theme complete with moog synthesiser.
Five stars and a meal at the Piz Gloria restaurant on top of the Schilthorn
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2017
Again John Barry at his Bondian Best an excellent soundtrack with ton of extras on it. With the extra tracks featuring a fair bit of the tune to "We haveall the time in the world" you vcould germt a little sick of it repeating in many tunes. "Do you know how Christmas trees are grown" is the least ever Bond song you'll hear but there is so msny extra tracks that for true Bond fans this is a must.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2014
My favourite of the pre-Craig Bond films is matched by a John Barry masterclass of synth and brass. And of course there's that ski chase theme. Awesome.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2017
It's good for me thanks u for it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
OHMSS has long been one of my favourite Bond films, largely in part due to the excellent score from the ever reliable John Barry.

Something a bit different was required for the score to this film. There was still the usual big action sequences, but the score also has to underline the glimpses we get of Bond's vulnerable side, and highlight the romance as he genuinely falls in love.

John Barry wrote an exceptionally good score that brings forth all these moods in the film. We have the usual big and thunderous action themes that heighten the excitement, but this is immediately contrasted with slower gentler themes that accentuate the emotional development of the characters. It is these sudden changes and contrasts that makes the film, and music, so effective.

And finally, there is the piece de resistance. `All the time in the world' has to be one of the most memorable motifs in any bond film, especially the end title where we see Bond totally unable to cope with his grief, but the masterstroke was to engage Louis Armstrong to sing the theme for the scenes where Bond and Teresa are falling for each other. It's a sublime track (OK, I am biased as I am a huge fan of Armstrong), and beautifully describes what is being represented on the screen. The title is a bit ironic, as Armstrong was in failing health and probably new when he recorded this that he did not have all the time in the world left.

It's a great album, which can be listened to by anyone who has never seen the film with much enjoyment. This is the sign of a truly great soundtrack for me.

This 2003 release boasts an excellent remastering and restoration, the music is crystal clear. There are also a host of extra track which really add to the album. There is a booklet with an essay about the film and score, and some stills from the film. An excellent release of an excellent album, 5 stars.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2005
I owned the previous release of this Bond soundtrack and as enjoyable as it was, the running time left you gasping for more... so here it is. As part of the Bond remastered series, the entire score is presented so at last you can enjoy unreleased gems such as Gumbold's safe and the escape from Piz Gloria. Barry was at the top of his game and added incredible atmosphere to the movie and it seems incredible that a full release took 40 years. The only problem with the Bond remastered series is that the discs present the music as the soundtrack was originally released followed by unreleased tracks at the end, rather than rearrange them into order for a more satisfactory listen. Thankfully, OHMSS doesn't suffer too greatly from this as the cues are unedited and independent, so programme them into the correct movie order and enjoy. A classic.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2015
Gumbold's office [ safe break] This is not the original as used in film. Listen to the bars !! too fast. I think Barry re-recorded this originally hoping for it to be on album. Which finally did in 2003
Then listen to Escape from Piz Gloria . Where's the first few seconds of the strings ?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)