Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 29 March 2003
I believe this is the first ALW cd that Sarah and ALW worked on. Yes they are new recordings, but since this is from 1995, then they arent so new anymore. There is a selection of songs from ALW's musicals. Drawbacks are that is doesn't have 'Phantom Of The Opera' and 'Memory'. A lot of these songs are slow ones from the romantic musicals such as 'Song and Dance' and 'Aspects of Love' and Sarah sings them beautifully. The booklet doesnt have lyrics but there are notes from Andrew Lloyd Webber and a commentry for each song written by Andrew. The photography is beautiful in the leaflet. The best of songs on this album is probably 'Surrender', 'Unexpected Song', (which both contribute to the title of the album 'Surrender: The Unexpected Songs') and one we don't see often: 'Everythings Alright.' A pleasent listen are the different versions of Memory (Piano - Italian version) and 'Don't Cry For Me Argentina' (Spanish version). As far as I know, you won't find these two versions on any other cd.
This is a must buy for any Sarah Brightman fan. I also think Andrew Lloyd Webber fans (Yes I know every single artist under the sun has done an ALW cd) will enjoy this since it has rare tracks and rare versions, especially as ALW himself worked on this album. 5 out of 5, for the angelic vocals and the genius selecting of songs.
22 Comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2016
Every track on this album is beautiful and so good to listen to regardless of what you are doing. I particularly loved "Piano" which is memory in Italian and given the full on operatic treatment. Of course there are several of Sarahs' big hits from Phantom and a wonderful version of "With One Look" Well worth spending money on any Sarah Brightman album, but if you are new to her music this would be a great place to start
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2015
Did not know about this, good thing is when you look for something, always other items appear.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2015
Typical Sameness LLoyd Webber type show songs
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
Perfect for her stunning voice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 April 2008
Not her best album - despite its 'striking' artwork, but has some gems on it.

Some beautifully sung songs here, and ones that utilise Brightman's voice to the best of her ability - the soprano one that is, such as that clearly accomplished in the latter half of 'Unexpected Song' and 'Chanson D'Enfrance'. This is something Sarah does not do enough of, and as a consequence her album releases can be somewhat frustrating at times. She often sings the wrong songs that do not always impress, and do not always do her the natural justice of the soprano she is and deserves to be.

There are also some oddities here, and so the album is aptly titled. I never understood or liked the Show 'Cats', and got bored with it halfway through viewing, and so the 'cat' songs we could have done without here in my opinion - they're distinctly out of place, and do not fit into the rest of the selection in any capacity at all - not even with the novel contribution from Sir John Gielgud!

Some songs I just don't care for - others I love. The biggest sore point for me being 'The Music Of The Night', which is not a woman's song, but a very 'erotic' song, full of masculine sexuality, and thus should only be sung by a man - a complete turn-off... (and before you all jump to leave comments - all this political correctness is a lot of nonsense, and that's coming from a 'woman's' point of view!)
55 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2016
Excellent! Very pleased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2017
As ever brilliant!!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2016
Super CD, I love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Harem
£3.99
Fly
£7.99
Symphony
£6.69

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)