Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
17
4.7 out of 5 stars
Price:£2.67+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 March 2010
This DVD includes the episodes;
Night of The Sentinels Part 1 and 2- where the X-Men meet Jubilee for the first time,
Enter Magneto - featuring Magneto,
Deadly Reunions - featuring Sabretooth,
Captive Hearts - featuring the Morlocks,
Cold Vengeance - featuring rivalry between Wolverine and Sabretooth, and
Slave Island - featuring Cable.

I haven't put too much about the episode as I don't want to spoil them!

Easily the best cartoon ever made in my opinion! Although this series was aimed at children, so it's not as dark as the comics were in places, the animation still holds up today (a few good belly laughs at the lovely 90's fashions to boot!) If you think that you can just get season 1 as a reminder of why this series was so amazing you would be wrong, you'll soon want the whole set!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2014
Love this cartoon as my reviews say not much to write just that if you read comics back in the 80's you will understand the cartoon and the films that marvel is making nowadays the newsy cartoons ain't as great the older ones are more true to the original comic the new HD cartoons are like Japanese suped up versions of the original get the nineties versions they are not in HD but if you have a blu ray payer they upscale to 720 p other ones to watch are The Amazing Spider-Man and his friends,The Fantastic Four,TheHulk many more but if you are a comic fan the get the nineties versions
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2011
Many a purist will curse me but I have no problem with the films. However given a Desert Island Disc situation I'd choose the animated series every time. Not just because of their faithfulness to the original characters and stories that were penciled back in the 90s but because, unlike so many others of their time, the animation feels like you're watching the very same comics brought to life rather than simply watching a cartoon. The X-Men series is deeper, richer and more intelligent than most of its peers and is a respectful homage the the genre.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Ah for the heady days of the nineties, when I would sit down on a saturday morning and wait for DJ Kat to get off the screen and get on with the superb x-men!
Although at first the animation is a bit dodgy, bear with it as it changes part way through, giving a sharpness and clarity that you will like.
The best thing about this series are the stories, faithful to the originals, and appealing to more than just kiddies. The addition of the character 'Morph' gives a new depth to some of the stories, and helps the story arc as it marches through the whole dvd.
X-men for the intelligent!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2010
I was delighted when this show first aired in the 90s. A cartoon show I could happily sit and watch with my young sons. Bright and action-filled enough for them, intelligent and emotionally-charged enough for me to enjoy too, being based faithfully on classic X-Men stories of the 1970s and 1980s. And what a rockin' theme tune! For those who might not know, the X-Men are a group of super-powered mutants brought together by Professor Charles Xavier to defend humanity, often from other mutants. They were created by the great comic-book artist, Jack Kirby, in the 1960s. The animation here may not be the best ever, but it's of a higher standard than the dismal Pokemon and its ilk. It does, in fact, have quite an anime feel to it. The characters are rendered much as they appear in the comic books and the voice actors capture their personalities very well: Rogue's husky, cigarettes-and-bourbon drawl, Gambit's Cajun cool, Hank's calm intelligence. The seven episodes on this first disk introduce those vast, implacable, robotic mutant-hunters, the Sentinels, and the grim, tortured villain, Magneto. Great stuff. Oh, and there's lots of Wolverine snicking those adamantium claws too.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2014
This X-Men cartoon, in my opinion, is the best on-screen portrayal of X-Men we’ve ever had for three clear reasons. It takes a lot from the ‘blue and gold’ era of X-Men comics, which saw Professor X’s students (arguably) at the peak of their powers. The team is made up of X-Men stalwarts Beast, Cyclops, Gambit, Jean Grey, Jubilee, Storm and Wolverine. It never shirks from the tough issues (e.g. change and prejudice)

Season 1, Volume 1 sees us introduced to the X-Men through the eyes of Jubilee. The main villains are Magneto, Sabertooth and the Sentinels. There’s also an appearance from Cable. My pick of the episodes is “Deadly Reunions”, where a lot of bad blood boils; Prof X confronts Magneto and Wolverine faces Sabertooth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 February 2011
Really enjoyed watching these again. One of the best animated shows ever. My only complaint here is that 7 episodes isn't enough. Surely there was room for the whole season?! And the animation is a bit dated now but for fans of the X Men and marvel cartoons this is essential viewing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2010
After years of waiting I have finally been able to get my hands on and re watch this entire series.... the original AND the best.... by far the most characters AND the best story lines...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
dont know who loves this the most. my five year old child or my husband. a great dvd for xmen fan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2014
loved it when first on tv but now showing its age. Fans will love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse