Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
85
4.9 out of 5 stars
Price:£6.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 August 2009
At last Rick Stein Mediterranean Escapes is released on video - and a chance to own the wonderful record of Rick's gastronomic adventures in sunnier climes. Once again, his enthusiasm bubbles over as he eyes up wonderfully fresh produce with a view to creating delicious dishes, and not a supermarket in sight!
If you are stuck indoors on a typical British summers day, listening to the rain beating on the windows, you couldn't do better than to lose yourself in this sumptuous collage of Mediterranean scenery, rustic villages, vibrant atmosphere, blue skies, sea, sun, and fantastic food. It's enough to lift the summertime blues!
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2009
What a delight! Watch an episode from this DVD after lunch or supper at your peril! You are most probably going to eat again! This is for the foodies out there! Rick Stein is the ultimate food-lover and his enthusiasm is contagious indeed! And to make it even more of a delight, he takes you on a journey through interesting places with beautiful scenes, done in a most professional way. I'm sure it's a team effort, and what a team! I'm ready to buy all Rick Stein's DVD's!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2011
What a lovely DVD! I bought it based on the excellent reviews I had previously read. I was certainly not disappointed. Although Rick's objective is food focused, he manages however to portray the " flavour" of the country as well as its cuisine. The filming is beautifully done. Without going into too much detail of the countries visited, this DVD gives you the feeling of actually being in situ. Rick's interviews with the local people are so respectful and courteous. He isn't at all patronising as can be seen sometimes in travel programmes where they go out of their way to draw attention to local exceptions rather than the normal way of life. His attitude is so relaxed and easygoing. That, along with his pleasant sense of humour, make him, I think, a natural in front of the camera.
Places included in the DVD are:-
Corsica, Sardinia, Sicily. Puglia, Corfu, Mallorca, Cataluña, Morocco and Turkey.
In each place he finds the best examples of the local speciality. Fish certainly comes over as his main cullinary interest. After seeing the dishes cooked (and eaten), we are sometimes taken back to Rick's kitchen in Cornwall where he makes a modified version of the original. The actual recipe part of the programme is not very detailed but I think this is what makes this DVD so enjoyable. It's more of a travel documentary with the emphasis placed on food. Saying that though, there are still some great cooking ideas to try out.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2009
I reccommend this dvd to everyone! its brilliant, great to watch, 2 disc dvd, a joy to watch and hope there will be more to come! i love it. Don't hesitate if you see it, just get it. It's worth it...
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2013
It was a very bold move to cover several Mediterranean cultures with their quite different cuisines in the one series, but Rick pulls it off brilliantly. His usual chatty and personal style gets to the heart of the subject matter, and his demonstrations show just how easy it can be to make some quite delicious dishes I'd never heard of before.

If I can find a single fault with this it's that the series just wasn't long enough. I've already made several of the dishes from these programs and they are so delicious. You won't want to spend out on a take-away when you can follow Rick's recipes.

As with his other series, each program is also a travelogue, and a unique "meet the people" journey. Well done Rick, love this as much as the others.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2010
I was firstly given the book as a birthday present and subsequently bought the DVD which accompanied the TV series. I have thoroughly enjoyed both and would encourage other purchasers to buy both too. Whilst ostensibly a cookery programme it is much more than that. It is a rich tour of several Mediterranean countries showing the country and culture of each. It concentrates on family life and every day family recipes which the locals eat and enjoy away from the touristy trails. This,to me is first class and what I wanted to see. The DVD is interspersed with Rick's own variations of some of the recipes as not all the produce is available in the UK. The DVD Is a relaxing and very enjoyable way of following the recipes in the accompanying book. I found much inspiration to try new dishes and I would thoroughly recommend this to everyone.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 10 June 2016
I love this dvd it's like a history culture holiday programme, makes you want to go there and try all the food and see all the culture. Rick shows you how to cook like the locals with his amazing talent. I love to try out the recipes also hey are simple and inexpensive but always a joy to eat.

It would be extremely helpful if you could please vote 'YES' in case you like this review or vote 'NO' if you find it unhelpful with a comment so I can improve quality of future reviews.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2009
Just a brilliant cooking experience! Have been to many of the places Rick visits and it brings back super memories.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2011
If you want to watch an extremely pleasant memory of hols around the Med, mixed with some easy recipes you will not find a better evenings entertainment on the TV
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2015
Rick Stein explores the Mediterranean coastline and islands sampling the food and customs of the region on the way. His culinary series always celebrate the landscape as well as the food and his laid back style introduces us to places we would never see or experience. This is six hours of escapism of the highest quality for a very low price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)