Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 25 October 2010
The Chieftains have been around for nearly 50 years and have released around 40 albums. During that time they have had many changes of lineup and engaged in many collaborations and crossovers. To select tracks from just 3 albums from a 3-year period and call it 'The Best of' is misleading, to say the least. It would make a good 'Best of Vol 2', if a selection from the pre-Columbia years had been the 'Best of Vol 1'. The liner notes struggle to rationalize the selection by calling it 'an overview of a dramatic phase' in the band's history. Maybe so. The notes end by saying 'this is only a chapter in an epic tale'. Quite so.

That said, there's some first rate Irish music here, perfect for your St Patrick's Day party. This is the sort of thing that, if you like this sort of thing, you'll like this. Just don't be misled into thinking you are getting 'the best of'. You are getting 'some fine examples of'.
[PeterReeve]
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2017
I wanted some very traditional, stirring Irish music and that is exactly what this album provides. Nuff said?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2017
quite enjoyable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2010
At £2.99 this is a ggod price for an introduction to the Chieftains, with a wide range of their style of music. A personal favourite would be the track " O'Sullivans March" which is a high quality recording and sounds great on a hi-fi. Not sure if all the tracks have been remastered, some of them have a faint hiss in the background
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2014
I like the Chieftains and their album with Van Morrison is an all time favourite . This is not a best of . This is a greedy record company lazily hurling together a compilation . There has been no thought about the sequencing of tracks and their compatibility . It's a bit like your best girl promising you a special treat and then placing before you a plate of chips covered with stewed rhubarb . Sorry , lads , you are a great band and deserve better than this .
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2012
I think have collected all the available Chieftains recordings, but I think "The Best of.." should include "Carrickfergus". and I wish they would have recorded "Planxty Irwin" somewhere.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2013
Yes this is the Chieftains at their foot-tapping knee jigging best, and throughout is very enjoyablle, though if you were buying this as an introduction, you could come to the conclusion that their music is all very "samey", which isn't true. So a 4 rather than 5 stars because it is missing some of their more thoughtful and reflective songs which would add a bit more variety into the mix.

Nonetheles, for £3.49 including auto-rip, this is cracking value- so go on and buy it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2013
I heard the Chieftains on record at a friend's house when I was a teenager many years ago nad the experience left an impression on me. This compilation offers a sense of the band's music, though not comprehensive, it still manages to conjure up images of the wild landscape of Ireland.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2012
No pint of Guinness is complete without this... The best of the very irish... And worth every penny... Seriously does not get better than this... Go onto Santiago next
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2014
first time I heard the chieftains great Irish music must get more spoiled for choice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)