Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
55
4.9 out of 5 stars
Clough - The Brian Clough Story  [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.84+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 25 January 2012
Bought this as a Christmas gift for my husband. As he has always liked Brian Clough, I thought that he would like it. We watched it together and both enjoyed it very much(surprising for me, considering that I don't care too much for football!) I did particularly enjoy the interviews with Brian's wife Barbara where she speaks warmly of their life together. A very touching story and would highly recommend.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2009
If you were an admirer of Mr.Clough then you'll love this. It charts the end of his playing career all the way to his back-to-back European Cup days with Nottingham Forest. It was made by ITV in response to the very 'bad press' given to Cloughie in that Satanic verse of a book called the Damned United, which apparently was a book of faction about his days at Leeds United.

The DVD has two great interviews with Austin Mitchell and journalists on his arrival at Leeds United and one directly after. It clearly sets the record straight on the issue and forms a great tribute from ITV to the Clough family as a whole as they are shown paying tribute to their father. The Clough family are mainly represented in the interviews by 'Our number 9', Nigel Clough and his mum Barbara.

As a Forest supporter from Burton-upon-Trent I cannot give the DVD high enough praise as the Clough family are local heroes. I was only disappointed that the DVD was not longer and could celebrate the great teams that came after 1980. I couldn't help feeling that a multitude of players would want to be on a tribute DVD to give their stories of the great character he was. I would have been keen to here the acknowledgement of help given to their careers from Neil Webb, Steve Hodge, Stuart Pearce, Des Walker, Roy Keane and so on.
11 Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2011
This had me transfixed from start to finish when i first saw it on TV a few years ago, so much so that i snapped up the DVD as soon as it was released. Brilliantly put together, it tells Cloughie's life story through the eyes of his family, friends, celebrities and former players/ staff. It had me roaring with laughter and totally intrigued. I don't mind admitting that it also bought a lump to the throat on more than one occasion. This is one of those rare football films, which make you put your footballing alligiances to the side and has you glued to the screen in plain awe.

Brian Clough was a total enigma, a complete one off and the world has been a much sadder place since his untimely passing.

Pure Gold.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2011
Interesting and informative documentary about Clough's career with a touch of his private life where relevant. Would recommend to anyone interested in learning more about Brian Clough. Interesting insight into 70s football management - not really relevant today as the world has changed so much. Not too long nor too short. Good.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2009
Superb.Gives a different side of the story to The Damned United.Genuine interviewees such as Mrs Clough,Nigel,Johnny Giles and the Greatest Living Yorkshireman,Sir Geoffrey Boycott give a well balanced and genuine view of the great man.Excellent extras too with an interview after he was sacked by Leeds and a fascinating debate between Clough and Revie in which Cloughie verbally destroys the Don.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2009
This DVD covers everything concerning Brian Clough's climb to the very highest level in the football world.
It covers also the release of the book and the film 'Damned United'
and compares and explains the huge differences between both.
This DVD is football history never to be equalled, Brian Clough took a small virtual non-league team at the time Nottingham Forest; within under a five year period to become European Champions (Two years in a row), this feat of a normal UK domestic league team away from the big four becoming champions of Europe will never ever be able to happen again and never will.
The DVD shows in depth what all true football fans knew already that because Brian Clough was not a 'Yes Man' the F.A. even though he was the best manager in the country; blocked him from becoming the England manager. "People in high authority are scared of experience, knowhow and success" by an individual doing things his own way.
The DVD is at the end very sad, I had a tear in my eye, knowing that Brian Clough was a outspoken footballing genius who was corruptly and unfairly blocked out of the job he wanted so dearly the England job and to many people all over the world have stated that if he was in charge of the national team then, England would have won the world cup again and again.
For any real football fan of any age this DVD is a must buy...
22 Comments| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2010
I saw this with my wife when it was first aired on tv and apart from the footage and history of Brian Clough it also includes excellent insights from his lovely family. If you watch Damned United and want to find out more about this great manager/personality ( as my son did and loved) then this is a great companion dvd. Tremendous.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2011
Although very little knowledge of soccer, this dvd impressed me very much. Bought this dvd toghether with the film "The damned United", a more romantic view on Clough. This documentary showes a very honest and at times moving story.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2014
Bought this as a Christmas present for my boyfriend. He loved it! We ended up watching it twice on Christmas Day! (I really enjoyed it too!) The story of a remarkable man.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2011
This film as expected was full of insightful anecdotes + stories of the great man's life. You dont have to b a fan of football to view Brian Clough as an absolute hero
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)