Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
63
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 March 2003
I have mostly enjoyed Arnold's movies, with some exceptions (such as Commando, Twins and the most terrible one where he - oh horror! - gives birth to a child).
To me at least it seems that Collateral Damage is both related with and an opposite of Commando; related because both movies have a revenge plot. Opposite because whilst the latter was characterised by amazingly bad acting and a predictable ending, the former both displays a convincing performance by Arnold and delivers a most surprising - if not shocking - finish.
The plot: I will not reveal too much here in case the reader is yet to watch this move, but the story begins with Arnold losing his family in a bomb blast set off by a terrorist. We witness Arnold's agony, the search for revenge, the captivity in a South American jungle, the friendship with the terrorist's family - and - the incredibly shocking ending.
I know that another review here says that the terrorist is portrayed in a way too sympathetic light, which makes it impossible to despise him as much as we despised the bad guy in Commando. I disagree. And very much so: One quality of Collateral Damage is that we get the impression that there is a human side to the terrorist; we start to understand/think that even his family opposes his evil plans and what he has become; we start assuming that a relationship is developing between Arnold and the terrorist's wife.
In other words, one gets an impression that the plot is taking a particular direction and that the ending will become logical and predictable. But not so! The movie takes us to the conclusion that you can trust no-one, and that nothing should be taken for what it is. And indeed, that fanaticism can override even natural human relations. In my opinion, that is no bad plot at all.
Let me put it like this: If you are looking for something with lots of killing and a banale plot (such as Commando) or explosive sci-fi (such as Total Recall and Terminator II), then Collateral Damage may be an unsuitable choice. But if you want to watch a solid performance by Arnold, an unusual plot and at the same time great action, then Collateral Damage may be what you are looking for.
I may be accused by some of entering deep waters now, but to some extent I would compare parts of the plot in Collateral Damage with the one present in the fantastic Arlington Road. Watch Collateral Damage and you will understand why.
Best regards
22 comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2012
Collateral Damage was released in 2002 and stars Arnold Schwarzenneger. For a start, the plot of this film is very good to brilliant, in my opinion, and is certainly very believable! Arnie plays Gordy, a Los Angeles fireman who witnesses the murder of his wife and young son in a bomb attack by a Colombian terrorist. Following his loss, Gordy obsessively attempts to track down the bomber and his efforts take him from Los Angeles to the heart of the Colombian jungle, even Washington, DC! Overall, the plot is a suspenseful thriller with more than a few shockers to keep you on the edge of your seat. In the heel of the hunt, one must ask, how far would you go in your search for justice?

Now, onto the Blu Ray quality.

Picture: The picture quality gets a solid 9 from me here. While it does take a while to show itself, and you will see what I mean when you first watch the film on Blu Ray, it is one of the better Blu Rays out there in my book. It really surpassed my expectations. The brightness, sharpness, contrast and textures are all on top form and, in some cases, visually exemplary! This is definitely a Blu Ray I would recommend if you like your picture quality to be top brass!

Sound: I would give the sound an 8, overall. There's no real problems with it, except that the dialogue gets lost amid the action at times, so to speak. Overall, it isn't a big problem and it's known to happen with Blu Rays.

Overall, Collateral Damage is a very good film and it is matched by a very good Blu Ray here, in my opinion. It really surpassed my expectations on Blu Ray as I really wasn't expecting much, given the film's age now (2002). A solid Blu Ray transfer guaranteed here, highly recommended!
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2013
Gordon Brewer is plunged into the complex and dangerous world of international terrorism after he loses his wife and child in a bombing credited to The Wolf.

Frustrated with the investigation and haunted by the thought that the man responsible for murdering his family might never be brought to justice, Brewer takes matters into his own hands and tracks his quarry ultimately to Colombia.....

After the horrific events in New York, this film was always going to fail. But it's not the film, nor anyone involved with the films fault. It was just plain bad timing.

Take these specific elements away, and what you have is Arnold's best film of the noughties. There isn't many to choose from, but compared to The Sixth Day, and Terminator 3, this is really good stuff.

What I believed irked many though was the fact that this wasn't The old Arnold we knew and loved. Gone were the one liners, gone were the muscle bound antics and Arnold being invulnerable, this was a step in a totally different direction, and it drove many away.

The premise is pure Schwarzeneggar, but with such a tough subject matter, you can't really have a grieving father and husband quipping in every instance.

The support are fantastic, Curtis is on form as usual, and Tutorro and Leguizamo make some bizarre but good cameos.

it's not the action film you would expect from star and director, but it's a solid thriller, with a great performance from Arnold.

Just don't expect the man from the eighties.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2015
Ok. . .so it has been said in other reviews,but like others, i found this a bit slow.It's really not what us Arnie fans are used to. . .i expected John Matrix style butt kicking in this movie,but it just didn't happen.

without doubt,the last hour of the film has the most action,it would have been great had the film started this way and took that route.

Blu Ray picture quality was nice,sound good as well.

Had to give this a 3,as it just didn't hit the mark for me.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
I think this was one of Arnie's last full-role action movie before moving into politics, and it is a pretty decent movie complete with typical one-liners and packed with enough action to shake a stick at. Not going to go into much detail as for anyone who's not seen it should see it really.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2016
Hey, it's an Arnie movie and delivers what you expect. Pretty good performances throughout and a plot that has been done a thousands times probably...but it's Arnie and his wooden acting just so suits this type of thing. Just sit back, don't expect too much and enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2009
Video: 1080p High Definition 16x9 1.85:1

Audio: Dolby TrueHD 5.1,Dolby Digital: English 5.1,
Français 5.1 (Dubbed in Quebec), Español,(Castilian 5.1 and Latin 2.0),
Italian 5.1, Portugues 2.0

Subtitles: English, Français, Español, Chinese, Danish, Dutch, Finnish,
Italian, Korean, Norwegian, Polish, Portugues & Swedish.

Special Features: Commentary by Director Andrew Davis
2 Featurettes: The Making of Collateral Damage and the Hero in a New Era:
Reflections on Collateral Damage - Additional Scenes - Theatrical Trailer.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Hmm. As with all action films, especially those that feature one of the action heroes we grew up with, there will be supporters of even the most turgid of productions. Collateral Damage was the point where the truest and honest of Arnold Schwarzenegger's fans knew it was the end of an era.

Famously held back from release for a year due to the 9/11 attacks on the twin towers, the film pitches Schwarzenegger as a L.A. fireman, who after his wife and child are killed by an act of terrorism, decides to take the law into his own hands. The focus here is Colombia, and the big guy goes off to Colombia on a one man crusade to kill those responsible for his grief. Cue explosions, kinetic action, bad effects, bad dialogue, mucho posturing and hissing villains.

It works on a very basic level for fans of such fare, in fact it's nice to see Arnie playing a vulnerable role where he quite often gets hurt - both physically and mentally. It's just that it feels tired, feels too long, while it wastes a cast that includes Elias Koteas, John Turturo and John Leguizamo. Decent enough as a time waster? Yes, just, but really if this wasn't on Schwarzenegger's CV then nobody would lose any sleep over it. 5/10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 August 2014
For a revenge story where Schwarzenegger loses his family to revolutionary terrorists, ignores the government warnings he is given and decides to infiltrate the Colombian hideout of the guerilla forces and get justice the old-fashioned way, this is going to be classic Arnie mayhem! Right? WRONG.

He get's into Colombia via a decent enough narrative, a mix of basic thriller and drama, and he dishes out the punishment in the following ways:

- Punches and elbows a couple of people
- Bites off a mans ear
- Pushes a man into a small explosive device

So when things really get dangerous and America is threatened once more, Arnie heads back home to stop them once and for all by throwing a villain into a computer terminal, electrocuting them. The only worthy kill comes from the use of a well aimed small axe. That's it. I know - an Arnold Schwarzenegger where he DOESN'T shoot a single gun, rocket launcher or break any necks/spines or give a decent pun! Bad times indeed.

The film does deliver a decent story and a brilliant twist towards the end but it's just not the Schwarzenegger film you may expect on the premise. As this was relased just after 9/11, it was hard to stomach with many audiences, and with the focus on terrorism being such a tender subject at the time, it was promptly pulled from cinemas, so it did sort of go under the radar.

It was probably on the cusp of Arnie trying to check into less action orientated films and more thrillers with a message before he went into peaceful politics, but it just doesn't work for him without a pistol or pun on call. The cast are strong enough to support him and the film does work, but is a little slow in places to compensate a film trying to deliver a political message behind the guise of an action film.

Check it out for an average, well shot thriller, but don't expect a classic Schwarzenegger romp as I was!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2012
It was awesome. Eraser was great, and if you are a fan of Schwarzenegger, you not be disappointed. Yes, it might sound like a boring old revenge on the bad guys type of movie, but it's delivered with greatness, and with Arnold in it, it only makes it better viewing
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)