Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
43
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.83+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 July 2009
Like a previous reviewer, I saw this lady on the Leonard Cohen show and thought how good she sounded. I am a great fan of Jennifer Warnes (an earlier backing singer for LC) and expected something similar from this album. In fact it is far more 'late-night'. The highspots are definitely the songs she co-wrote with LC but it is all high quality stuff. If you like LC's lyrical stuff then you will like this. I will be watching for her next album.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2009
"Everybody knows this girl is magic, everybody knows this girl can sing...." Sharon Robinson was Leonard Cohen's backing singer on the wonderful 1979 tour along with Jennifer Warnes. on that tour Warnes was the more prominent of the two and, to this day, remaind special in the hearts of Cohen fans. However, over those thirty years, Sharon Robinson has grown from his backing singer to his regular collaborator and she deserves every plaudit that comes her way. This is her first solo album - which is a crime, because she is an excellent artist and song writer in her own right. Listening to the first track 'Invisible Tattoo', you immediately know that this is pure class, listening to the last track 'Summertime' you wonder why this is her first, and so far only album. Ok, some track were written with Leonard Cohen (he is my all-time favourite artist, by the way), but this is a Sharon Robinson album from start to finish. Comparisons have been made with Sade and, yes, there is some similarity, both have superb voices and produce excellent albums. So, please don't hesitate, don't just buy this because of the Cohen connection or the Sade references, buy it because it is worth buying on its own merit and, perhaps some record company will wake up and sign her to a second album.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2009
This is a beautiful album, and this girl is magic! She had an all too brief solo part in a recent TV show of Leonard Cohen songs & I thought who is that? Turns out that although she does backing vocals she also produces for him as well. Listening to this album is like have a full body massage of the ears, very Leonard Cohen and that's alright by me.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2008
She's best known as a collaborator with Leonard Cohen, but Sharon Robinson is much, much more. This is a brilliant CD and I'd love to see her live on her own, or with a great band. Her voice is rich, warm and earthy.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2013
I came across Sharon Robinson via my enthusiasm for Leonard Cohen as she has been his collaborator for some years. Many of the songs on this collection I already have as Leonard Cohen recordings (in some instances with Sharon Robinson supporting on backing vocals) but was keen to add this to my collection. Sharon's version of Alexandra Leaving is particularly moving. All in all a well-produced album of some beautiful songs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2009
One could be tempted to think that there is nothing here apart from Cohen's songs; and that is not true. The Cohen's words you need like the oil for living are there; but there is also much more. If you still miss Sade's velvet, or need more Cohen, Robinson is the best of both worlds.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2009
Sharon is Leonard Cohen's long-time collaborator and this album is just brilliant! If you like this then buy Leonard Cohen Live in London and their joint album Ten New Songs! Her voice is just beautiful and the arrangements are excellent and really showcase her talents.

BUY THIS CD!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2010
.....should buy this album.
If you've seen Leonard in concert you will have heard Sharon Robinson too.
You won't be dissapointed with this album.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2009
Having been totally blown away by two recent Leonard Cohen concerts I decided to buy this album on spec. It is fair to say that it is as good as I had hoped it would be. The already familiar "Alexandra Leaving" and "Everybody Knows" (though delivered somewhat different than the Cohen version) are obvious stand outs but given the range and quality of her vocals there is not a weak track evident. Sharon Robinson is definitely more than just a back up singer and her mellow voice has a warmth about it that borders on the intoxicating.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2008
Own a US import version of this CD. Can listen to this time and time again. What a voice. Buy it - you will not be disappointed.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£11.11

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)