Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
23
Black Monk Time
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99


VINE VOICEon 9 August 2014
It seems a bit odd to give this five stars, since a lot of it is disappointing rubbish. Yet The Monks are a hugely important band, even though their career essentially consists of a few recordings made in Germany in 1966.

Anyone interested in just the sound should listen to the first half, and especially 'I Hate You' and 'Oh, How to Do Now'. The first is a grinding punk-rock howl of hatred, while the second is a skanking groove fit for any party. But for music historians, The Monks are huge. These five GIs who stayed in West Germany after discharge are the only pre-1968 band to get a serious mention in histories of Krautrock Those metronomic beats must have had an influence on Neu! and Can - even though Can's Irmin Schmidt saw the Velvet Underground - and that influence seeps into punk rock, alt-rock, trance and industrial all the way through the 80s and 90s.

This might not be a great album, but it is a very important album.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 February 2015
A classic 1966 of pre punk garage from the tonsured ex G.I's nearly 50yrs on it still rocks & has led to the Monks songs being covered by various artists on the 2006. "silver monk time" a fantastic tribute.
the first bands to use many techniques we take for granted today , forget the Beatles, this is Black Monk Time.....
With classic proto punk of " I hate you" & "Shut Up" , if garage , MC5 etc are your cuppa try some Monks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 February 2017
Sorry to burst any bubbles but this cd is very disappointing...comparisons with The Stooges, Velvetss etc are ridiculous as well...it is an interesting sound but to my ears it appears over produced for those people who like to wax lyrical about old stuff....forget this and buy Monks the early years 64-65... now thats a different kettle of fish...I could wax lyrical about that
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 March 2018
As described thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 June 2013
Vintage prototype skuzz-pop that would late give rise to such sonic gems as early Stooges The Fugs, Neu The Fall ( who pay homage with an excellent Monks cover on Extricate) and countless others. Propelled by claggy guitars, screeching organ andmotorik drums...this is a pop album of primeval excellence and importantly it is rude as it is and vital. So far ahead of it's times and captured by Doctors with a wry prognosis. Find of the year. In fact if something this good and impolite was released by a new group now, the star count would be the same.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 June 2014
Seminal album from the 60's bya band who were based in Germany of all places.This is not your typical 60's album .It transcends the era.It's at once garage ,it's aggresive it's other wordly.It's good.Well worth the outlay.
Recommend the seller they were prompt So thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 December 2015
Quite a surprise to discover this band. Really something different, but really good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2011
It's true! This fabled 'lost' garage classic is as good as it is said to be, or so it seems to me. Manic, edgy, disturbing... I wish I'd discovered it when I was in my 20s rather than my 50s!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 March 2017
this is great and the delivery was prompt.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 May 2017
Great album, great service by dodax. Both highly recommended. Thanks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)