Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Shop now Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 July 2009
Ok first off let's not confuse this release with the single cd available as this is a new remaster and what a remaster at that!
I was a tad skeptical about this release and one reason i didn't rush straight out and buy because i wasn't sure if it was just the same as the single cd,but after reading on the black sabbath forum about the unbelievable quality i had to get it asap.
Ok onto the review.
Well Many cds these days are so poorly re-mastered that great dynamic sounding music seems to be becoming a rarity these days with many artist's back catalogues and indeed new music being butchered and ruined so it fills me with enormous happiness to say this deluxe edition is really quite superb,in fact it's one of the best cds ive ever heard.
Everything about this cd is brilliant,one because it was the first and highly influential album from sabbath and two ive never heard it sound better.
From the opening of black sabbath to the final track of disc one warning i was amazed at how dynamic and powerful sounding this is.
The second cd has outtakes and instrumentals from the album which i found to be excellent especially the studio outtake of black sabbath,at the start you hear ozzy say (and i'll leave out certain words lol) "i dont understand it....i can't remember the words" really is priceless and in my opinion worthy of purchase on this reason alone.
Seriously though this is a masterclass in remastering and one that all engineers should take note and learn from.
So if you are a fan of heavy metal or sabbath and you are not quite sure whether to get it then don't wonder anymore just go for it.
Comparing this to the single cd version is like comparing gold to dirt,the single cd is louder,harsh sounding and brittle,this deluxe edirion is pure gold,not at all loud very smooth and rich.
Absolutely brilliant and a pleasure to award it 5 stars!
11 comment| 61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2001
....'What is this that stands before me......' This album was the type of sound the youth then and now were/are looking for.The lyrics,Ozzy's distinctive voice,Iommi's heavy guitar work-those brilliant rifts-Geezers great bass playing and Wards'thumping drums. Although the lyrics are simple enough,it is clear that they hold great meaning about this 'system'and the evil within said system and within individuals. This album is a work of genius:in all its glorious aspects. this album will be around forever.A definite must for any collector of hard/heavy rock.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2009
Check out the video below where I talk about the release. I show you a complete unboxing, showing everything that is inside there, speak to the sound quality, the extras on the second CD, etc, etc... The real review is in the video, not in this text. :)

Minor updates to my review. The book I mention towards the end is not Mark Weiss, he was the photographer, I believe. And the poem from the original release *IS* here, but not the upside down cross. That was my error.
33 comments| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2016
BEWARE OF THE 2016 LIMITED EDITION COLORED VINYL OF ALL SABBATH ALBUMS. Very poor pressings. "Black Sabbath" skips and clunks throughout track two (possibly pressing residue). "Sabbath Bloody Sabbath" has severe crackling on lead out track side two. All album cover reproductions are pretty terrible ("Master Of Reality" isn't even embossed). My "Sabotage" album arrived with the cover severely scratched even in the factory sealed cardboard box. My sealed box for "Master Of Reality" actually contained "Paranoid". I think they dropped the ball on these ones. All albums seem to have a fair bit of dust and surface noise on first play. Musically, apart from the faults they sound good to fantastic but it's a gamble I will not take again.

0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2004
I first heard Black Sabbath on a rock compilation when I was 14 and have been listening to them for 17 years, in which time this album has not worn thin. Even apart from the whole "they invented heavy metal" thing and the patent influence of this album and what came after on all rock music thereafter, this album stands on its own as a brilliant piece of music from the early 70s. It is the musical equivalent of a Hammer Horror film, but has aged much better!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 November 2006
Most bands who forge an individual identity take a couple of albums to do so. Black Sabbath had theirs pretty much laid out when they made their first. Let's make music to scare people, they said. It might have had something to do with the obvious fact that several other bands were ahead of them in the heavy blues stakes. Indeed, their blues influences surface on 'The Wizard' and 'The Warning'. But Chuck Berry this is not. Hammer Films might not have consulted them, but this is horror music. Tony Iommi was clearly already a fine guitarist, but the extended solos on 'The Warning' demonstrate that the band's strength was not conventional riffing, but the ability to create that effect of some unspeakable leviathan splitting the earth open and crawling out of it. As Ozzy Osbourne advises on the band's signature tune, 'Turn round quick and start to run'. From the beginning of this album, they bring your nightmares to you. Osbourne is no great singer, but he sure knows how to arrange the flowers in the graveyard. For me, the tracks 'Black Sabbath', 'Behind The Wall Of Sleep' and 'Sleeping Village' are what this band do best and make them unique. The bluesy stuff is okay, but better left to others. Meanwhile, the lyrics are variable to say the least. The title track sets the tone for the band's career, but when, on the bonus track, 'Wicked World', they address serious issues directly, it comes across as hackneyed. With hindsight, this is a landmark album, but is it classic rock? In places, yes, but not entirely. If you like 'Master Of Reality' and 'Paranoid', then come back to it later.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2000
This is a blinding debut from the Godfathers of Metal. From here, they went on to conquer the world with a quartet of metal masterpieces -Paranoid, Master of Reality, Vol 4 and Sabbath Bloody Sabbath - which set the agenda for all aspiring heavy rockers for the next 20 years.
Each song on this album is a classic. My favourite is Behind The Wall Of Sleep, a dreamy, dank tale of drugs and death. The riffs are splendiforous, elegaic and very, very heavy. The lyrics are sparse and taut, with Ozzy's unmistakable whining rising up like a phoenix from the flames. This song is a relatively unknown classic, and one of many anti-heroin songs that the band wrote. Others include the fabulous Hand Of Doom from Paranoid, which prove that they were, in fact, a bunch of quiet and loveable cider drinkers...
If you're into Soundgarden circa 'Superunkown' or Metallica pre 'Load' then get into this. It'll make your ears bleed and you'll love every second of it. I guarantee you'll fall in love with this album.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2011
Let's be clear, this album isn't as good as some of the Sabbath albums that followed it. However, for a debut album by a little Brummie band with little in the way of cash and metal peers to influence the sound, it's an awesome piece of work! 'Black Sabbath', 'NIB' and 'The Wizard' are right up there in the upper echelons of bone-crunching Sabbath material. You should buy this if you've ever liked any metal. :-)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2011
I am new into Black Sabbath and have been really surprised by how quickly I have got into them. This Album rates between 3-4 overall with my personal favourites being Black Sabbath, The Wizard and NIB.

I was trying to imagine how people would have reacted when they first heard the intro to the song Black Sabbath, on the album Black Sabbath by a band called Black Sabbath. What a way to announce yourself to the world.

Looking forward to increasing my collection.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2013
There is no point reviewing the music because it has all been said so many times, suffice to say that yes, Black Sabbath's debut is compelling in extremis.

To paraquote Gillan, I don't just love it, I genuinely need it. At least once a week.

However, as is mentioned elsewhere but less trumpeted as a bonus, is the sound quality of an album made on a budget by blokes, just about in shoes but for whom at the time, laces were little more than an effeminate peccadillo.

Not just made for buttons but famously recorded in a few hours, almost in the context of a 'jam,' the clarity of what chimes forth from a decent hi-fi's speakers is nothing short of astonishing: it genuinely sounds as though you're physically present at that ubiquitous Parisienne gig (the one always shown from 'back in the day.')

If you roll forward to the next three albums where the production quality varies between all three, you have to accept a three year hiatus before 'Sabbath Bloody Sabbath' and a return to this kind of audio pleasure.

What a record; WHAT A RECORD. Sheer bliss...
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)