Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
15
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.06+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 July 2009
Eric Bibb is one of the great treasures in music today.He owns a superb voice,his acoustic playing is an absolute joy to listen to.His band perfectly fill out his sound on this live double disc set.His mix of self penned songs,gospel,blues creates a set that is pure listening pleasure.He's certainly one of the most popular artists in acoustic based blues these days and this release shows exactly why.disc 1 contains 14 tracks of material from up to his most recent albums,with his three piece band of Larry Crockett (drums),Trevor Hutchinson (upright bass) and Staffen Astner (electric and acoustic guitar).As Eric says on the sleeve notes 'listening to live a Fip makes me feel good',well Eric it makes us feel pretty good as well.Disc 2 see's him using just two added musicians,at around half an hour and six tracks we then get a bonus video to put into the computer and have the delight if him singing with Ritchie Havens plus other goodies.This release overall is going to be a classic Bibb album that will bring pleasure for years to come.If heavy rock blues is your thing then this isn't for you,but if you enjoy acoustic based music beautifully played and sung then you will enjoy every second of a very fine release indeed.One surely that will figure in 2009's top CD releases of the year.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
Eric is a competent bluesman, this double cd was recorded in France in 2009 as part of his tour. There is a slight political element to this cd with the election of Obama, but then wasn't this what the blues were all about? The first cd starts with 'Kokomo' an classic acoustic blues number. Other tracks on this cd include the more upbeat 'Pockets' a well produced piece with good lyrics. The atmosphere contributes to this cd, you can almost smell the smoke and booze, or was that my imagination? The track 'Hold on' demonstrates the bands expertise and the vocal talent of this man. There is a little detour into the spiritual side of the blues with 'In my father's house' and 'I shall not be moved' before we go to the second cd, this cd is a little disappointing not because of the quality but it features 27 minutes of music and also has a video program which I haven't been able to access yet. It features Eric's arrangement of a couple of blues classic tracks including 'Stagalee' and Goin' Down Slow'. This cd is not re-recorded or messed about in the studios before release which is a plus. A good buy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2009
Eric Bibb's live performances have always been better than his records; but this recording captures most of the excitement. I remember seeing him perform "In My Father's House" live, and the manic version on this CD is just brilliant.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2010
Another engaging and authentic offering from Bibb! The energy and passion with which he plays and sings, his ability to draw the audience into his songs - (Needed Time continues to be an anthem which Bibb prays as much as he sings). Some usual suspects are on this CD, "My Father's House",(raw and gutsy) "Don't ever let nobody drag your spirit down", "Shingle by Shingle" and "For you" make an appearance as do some I am not as familiar with, "Kokomo", "Connected" and an instrumental version of "I shall not be moved." All in all, a CD I will enjoy listening to and sharing with anyone who cares to pause for long enough to participate in the artistry of Bibb.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2014
The best album he has ever done. First heard it on Spotify and am only too glad I bought the CD. Got lots of his albums on CD and vinyl and this is Eric Bibb at his very best. Was it the setting? The audience? Don't know? What ever it was if it could be bottled every Musician would be buying it by the cart load.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2011
I didn't know much about Eric Bibb before I ordered this double CD. I got only just one old CD by E.B. "Eric Bibb Live at FIP" a very balanced, nice smouth blues record. Excellent for long driving by car.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2013
Splendid live album, showing how a master musician can keep his catalogue fresh.
Great support from band members adds to Bibb's excellent playing and vocals. His voice is so good that even when he "gruffs it up" there is still that rich melodious Bibb tone behind.
This album will be played and played untl teh chance to see Eric Bibb live comes around again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2011
Eric Bibb at his very very best ! Every song is powerful and rich ! I think that's one of most intrresting recent blues album! I really love it and can't stop playing it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2009
Interstingly, the second album is the stronger. A few new original arrangements make it worth adding to your Bibbology
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2010
I have lots of eric Bibb CD's already but was tempted to buy this live 2CD set.
It is great. A good introduction to this wonderful Blues singer.
I managed to get to see him live this year and this CD reminds me why I travelled over a 100 miles to see him perform and what a great artist he is.
If you are an eric bibb fan..buy this CD. If you are new to him lucky you this is a good CD to introduce you to his wonderful songs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse