Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
72
4.3 out of 5 stars
Price:£9.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 August 2017
file and cutting mat are the best parts of set, clippers aren't bad but the hobby knife if a tad shoddy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2017
Must have for beginners in model kits
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2017
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2017
A ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2017
For the money this is excellent value!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2015
The cutting mat is very small
The cutting knife does not hold the blade properly
The file does not have a handle
The sprue cutter is the only usable item
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2017
A good cheap set for £10. Very surprised to see it now going for £75 with £20 shipping from the US, but probably harder to find this exact set anymore. However I certainly wouldn't pay the current extortionate price from certain sellers on Amazon, as of May 2017.

At any rate the clippers and file are perfect. The mat is fine for smaller models, but you may want a larger one if you're into making something bigger. The knife is the only part that really lets it down; it's plenty sharp enough and comes with spare blades, but the screw tightening mechanism comes loose far too easily. For me the only time it didn't loosen during use was after a long hiatus from model making; in trying to replace an old rusty blade, the blade snapped completely because I couldn't get enough grip to loosen the screw thread. It was fine after rummaging around for a good pair of pliers, but it doesn't say anything in favour of the quality of the mechanism, despite the handle otherwise feeling quite solid.

Overall though, even the knife isn't that bad. If you can find it for about £10, that's as much as I'd say it's worth. I am still using this set 2 years later, knife and all, so it certainly isn't bad value for money. I rate this product 4 stars for the price I paid initially, and would recommend it for beginners if you can find it for that price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2015
This is a very useful kit for beginners who are looking to start model building. The pliers are perfect for gently nipping plastic parts off rollers, and the file is quite good at sanding down nubs. However, the knife is a little flimsy (though entirely usable), and doesn't compare to a proper rigid hobby knife in terms of cutting power and rigidity. On the whole, I'd say this kit is great for beginners who aren't looking to pay a fortune for professional tools, and the pliers are probably going to last you an entire career. You'll likely be tossing away the knife as soon as you get a better one, though. The finish given by the file is also rough; you'll need extremely fine sandpaper and oil-based markers to completely erase any marks left by separating pieces from their rollers, so keep that in mind if you want your kits to look 'professional'. You get what you pay for, but I would say this toolset is still pretty good overall. I'd buy this, then buy more expensive tools individually. That way you won't get screwed over by buying a very expensive toolset with one or two tools of substandard quality.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2014
The quick delivery was great. The file, and pincers are great, but the knife broke the 2nd time i used it. The grub screw snapped clean in half, way too flimsy
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2015
This is an excellent starting kit for any modeller. The nippers have a nice, firm close to them and the file is very sturdy, no flex.
The knife felt a little loose at times, with the blade shaking from time to time, and whether it is a common flaw or whether it was just in transit, my cutting mat had a dent in it so doesn't sit correctly, leaving me using the kitchen chopping board still.

Overall, would recommend, but be wary of the above.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)