Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
69
4.5 out of 5 stars
Price:£16.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 11 March 2017
I bought this for my grandson's 13th birthday. He is a Monopoly fanatic and has various sets of different sorts. He had already played this with a friend and enjoyed it. Three of us played one evening, but I set a time limit at which point we would add up everyone's assets to decide who was the winner, based on the values given in the instructions for ending a game this way. This is useful to prevent games dragging on endlessly.

It has advantages over the original game such as you can build on properties even where you only own one of a set, and auctions are forced when a player lands on a square that is available, so the game moves with some speed initially. However it IS more complicated, and I had to refer to the rules quite frequently, Having said that, who doesn't with a new game? Familiarity with the original Monopoly board game does not mean you can just sit down and play this assuming all the same rules apply. They don't. It pays to study the rules initially as you can gain advantages if you understand what pieces count.

One thing I did not like was that the skyscrapers sticking up all over the board make it very difficult to throw the dice, and children often do so energetically, demolishing and displacing buildings in the process. This is owing to the board layout where properties almost entirely cover the centre of board, which remains largely clear in the original game save for the two sets of cards. With all the paraphernalia of money and deeds surrounding the board on all sides, it is very difficult to be able to throw the dice in a clear area! A major disadvantage.

On the whole an intriguing take on the original game, and probably more attractive to Monopoly enthusiasts who want to try something a little different. As with all board games, you probably need to play it several times before you really know what you are doing and can play it with ease.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2017
We love it - a twist on the original game which makes it more fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2017
Great game
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Exactly what you'd expect from Monopoly
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2009
Monopoly is my all-time favourite board game but even I'll admit after probably playing hundreds of games now it can get a bit 'samey'. I got this not long after it was released and have played it numerous times now.

It's best summed up by saying it's similar to Monopoly but different too. The board is arranged in a similar way and the aim of the game is again to move around the board, collect rent and buy properties and the richest player wins. However, the difference is the way you go about winning (or losing!)

Instead of houses and hotels there are various buildings that can be built, any time on your turn, on any of your properties. You don't have to have all of the colours in a group to build and your buildings now go in the middle of the board (you build a city) and collect increasing values of rent as in Monopoly. Community Chest cards have gone, new Chance cards are in and there is an interesting "rent dodge" card under Free Parking. Stations have been replaced with build a hazard/attraction spaces which stop another player collecting rent/block another player stopping you collecting rent. Electricity Company and Water Works have also gone. I promise you these aren't missed, after the initial "oh, where have they gone?", because of all of the new features. The money has also been revamped, it's not pounds sterling anymore but Monopoly money. It doesn't really make much difference, just more zeros on the end of the notes!

However, the biggest difference for me is that the game forces you to auction properties if you don't buy them on your turn (or you can't afford to buy a property you land on). There are also a few 'auction' spaces on the board. I know Monopoly, if played according to the house rules, made you auction but few people I know did in fact auction. It's good because it speeds the game up and you only have 50 seconds to auction a property off (there's a timer that beeps!) and makes it more exciting.

There are skyscrapers that double your rent if you own all properties in a colour group and the Monopoly Tower doubles the rent of all of your properties!

Overall, a brilliant game that has kept the core features in that made the original Monopoly great but altered a few things to make the game arguably more fun and exciting than the original.

If you loved the original Monopoly but want a different twist to the game; buy this.
1313 Comments| 178 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2012
Monopoly teaches business sense and money management - an education still not found in state schools. The traditional game was great for seventies teenagers (and probably responsible for a whole generation's ability to create wealth through property purchasing). Monopoly City takes potential property ownership to the next level, including the need for an awareness of the impact on property values when town planners introduce non-residential construction into residential areas. If you want your children to understand home and property ownership, get them started early by buying this game, suitable for any child with the numeracy and literacy skills of a 10 year-old. Oh, and my children found it a lot of fun, particularly using all the new possibilities to bankrupt your opponents - such as rendering their residential properties worthless by constructing "black" buildings in districts they own.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2009
I'm a lover of the original monopoly and was tossing up whether to get the old classic or try this one out. The household is very very happy with this version! As previous reviewers have mentioned it is a great remake of a classic game. The board and buildings makes playing fun and looks great!

We have played with 2 to 6 players and have found that it is great fun with all number, but you need to change your tactics depending on the number of people playing, which makes it more interesting.

And it is much faster as well, since there is no need to collect all the colours before building, it brings up the pace of the game.

All around I think that this is a great game and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for an upgrade to the normal monopoly.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2015
We have only played this once so far but the whole family agrees that it has great potential. There are some nice differences from standard monopoly. These include - Free Parking, you pick up a card and if you land on an opponents property, you can present the card and avoid paying the opponent. however, if somone else lands on free parking before you used it, you have to hand it over. Building property is similar but there are some nice twists to it. There is an electronic buzzer that is multi purpose, it tells you when an hour is up, it has a countdown for use during auctions, (every property has to be bought or auctioned when landed on) and there is a kind of roulette wheel with 4 spots. A light stops on one at random and decides how many properties you can build or you can even build a subway that allows you to bypass whole sections of the board.
Community Chest has gone - just chance now - but 6 chance places (I was never really sure why there were 2 verieties in the original) The airports are now gone and they now allow you to build either a good or bad building e.g. a school is good, a sewage works is bad. If you build a sewage works on an opponents land, they cant charge people the high bills for the property that they built. If you build a school (on your own property) it stops opponents building sewage works on it.
This game uses cash where our last version had a credit card system. I think I prefer cash because over christmas, the credit card system was hard to do (maybe red wine related)
I paid twentyfive quid and had free amazon prime delivery. I think it was great value for money.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2011
I bought this for my 3 nephews for christmas,we played it on boxing day, the rules are a little different from the game i played as a child, but they are an improvement. The rules recommend using the box lid to thow the dice into i think this will reduce the longevity of the box.We all loved it, best of all my 7 year old nephew wrote to me to tell me they had played for 3 hours and he had won. yippie.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)