Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a basic firewire cable, one level up in durability from the thin cables that come free with some devices, but nowhere near the robustness most professionals will demand.

Firewire, IEEE 1394 and iLink (all the same thing) is a professional specification for transmitting large amounts of data swiftly. This particular cable, 4-pin to 6-pin, is designed for the older Firewire 400 specification, and would normally be used to connect a DV camera, such as a Canon or Sony to a computer, or into another 6-pin device such as an external hard drive. You can daisy chain Firewire equipment without the signal degrading.

Anything which properly satisfies the FireWire specification will do the job. The difference in cables is in their length and their build quality.

The maximum length of a FireWire cable without a repeater is 10 metres. At 1.8 metres, this cable is long enough to be used at your desk, but not much longer. Fine for most applications.

For robustness, many pro FireWire cables are heavily rubberised, with thick rubberised plugs to ensure they take no harm. With fairly thin, plasticky insulation, this particular cable is not in that category. It should be fine for hobby applications, though.

To be brutally honest, this is one of the less satisfactory and less robust FireWire cables I've used. It seems to have been built to the standards of USB, which is a much more consumer focused spec. I would personally check the market before buying one of these.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2014
The connectors at both ends are a very tight fit, and not very positive feeling when you insert them correctly - I thought I was going to break the fitting on my laptop with the 4 pin connector (very tight fitting). Otherwise OK, and they worked to connect up a Nikon Coolscan 4000 film scanner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 11 March 2010
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
My five star rating of the Amazon Basics firewire cable is primarily due to its price of less than nine pounds.

My video shows the packaging then compares the cable with a six years old packed-with-card firewire cable then compares it to a grey Ethernet cable in order to show the flexibility/construction of the cable. Finally I show how even the box within the box will not fit through a letterbox.

IT MUST BE STRESSED THAT I REPACKAGED THE CABLE FOR THE PURPOSE OF MY VIDEO AND AMAZON PACKED WITH NO STICKY TAPE IN A VERY SECURE MANNER.

The cable in use is effective and indeed my video was transferred to PC using it after being connected and disconnected. Recommended.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 March 2010
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Part of the AmazonBasics excellent quality low cost range this cable has lots going for it, quite apart from the excellent value for money.
It features what must be the ultimate hot swop tech' as there is no need to stop, or manually disengage whatever your attaching to the PC/Mac as unlike USB classic and USB2 connections it allows you to access the facility to 'hot swop' compatible devices and quite literally both 'plug and play' as well as 'plug and go'!
Nice design as well as the quality and ruggedness that you would expect form an Amazon own brand cable, it has gold plated lugs and is a decent length to accommodate most home computer/device configurations.
Worth noting is that this is not the Firewire 800 standard cable needed to connect to the back of the new iMacs, for this you need a cheap adaptor (sold on Amazon!) and then you're ready to go!
In short then, excellent quality, decent length and good spec's.
What more is there to wish for from a Firewire cable?
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2011
Having spent the last 6 months trying to find a Windows7 64bit driver for my Samsung D453 camcorder by trawling through posts about it on the internet, I happened to stumble upon a post that said I would be able to use the camera and upload with a FireWire cable. I was a bit skeptical because, if the solution was that simple, why had it taken me so long following various links to find out. Anyway, I ordered this basic FireWire cable from Amazon and it arrived yesterday. Switched on PC, plugged cable into camcorder and switched it on to play. After an initial technical hitch (I forgot to plug the lead into the FireWire port on the PC), my camcorder was recognised and I can now edit my videos. Well worth the price and so much cheaper than having to buy a Windows7 compatible camera!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 March 2010
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This Firewire IEEE 1394 cable (which I'm currently using to connect my MiniDV Camcorder) is another excellent cable from the AmazonBasics Range providing great quality at a reasonable price. Having used Amazon's HDMI cable from the same range, I'm quite impressed by the quality of these cables and wouldn't hesitate to recommend these in future.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Another cable in Amazon's own 'AmazonBasics' range, and once again it's a good bit better han a basic cable.

Build quality is good with good connectors and a well moulded strain relief at each end.

This cable allows you to connect a Firewire / IEEE 1394 device such as a DV/HDV camcorder to your PC/Mac - just look for firewire / IEEE 1394 connectivity listed on the box of your device. Of course your PC/Mac will need a firewire connection as well.

Your PC is likely to have a 6-pin (the larger of the two on this cable) connector, and your device is likely to have the 4-pin (smaller) connector. This isn't a hard and fast rule though, some laptops also have the 4-pin connetor so make sure you check what you need for your kit.

There are cheaper 1.8m cables available, but the quality of this cable IS better than a lot of cheaper alternatives.

Once again, however, this prouct is let down by the packaging - a cable in a bag in a box in a box (yes, two boxes!). Why? And the inner box had a sticker sealing it that required a knife to open it, so not exactly frustration free! True, the cable could have been supplied in a finger slicing plastic blister pack which would have been worse, but as one of the supposed selling points of this product is the 'frustration free' packaging, I think Amazon are consistently getting this wrong.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 March 2010
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Can't really say much about this product due to its basic function but the speed at which it does what it is supposed to do is fantastic. The speed is essentially the only USP varying between the manufacturers and this cable has a great rate. Comes with a 1-year warranty too - which can be unusual elsewhere in the market.

The packaging made me laugh, however, as the cable came in a large box with just the cable sitting at the bottom. Was taken to the post office for collection which was a pain. Frustration free? Not really!

Product = great. Packaging = A little frustrating!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2013
Needed a firewire cable to connect an old MiniDV camcorder to my computer to transfer the video over.
Plugged in the camcorder using the cable to the port on the motherboard, and Windows Movie Maker detected it straight away.
The cable appears to be of a good quality, and was long enough to get from the back of the PC to the camcorder on the desk.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2010
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
First things first. The cable is fine. It works great and I couldn't be happier. But Amazon, sort out your packaging!!!!

Its ridiculous. This cable came in a sturdy box. Fine. The sturdy box came in another A4 box, which was totally unnecessary. I know cardboard is recyclable. But it still takes energy to recycle it. No excess packaging is better than excess recyclable packaging.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)