Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Kesha Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
37
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 January 2009
If you want to hear the Soundtrack of Oliver at it's very best, don't look at the rest just go for this one. There is not a singer/actress alive that has ever compared with Georgia Brown's performance of Nancy. Her version of As Long As He Needs Me is the most honest, truthful and vocally outstanding that you can get - sheer perfection. She was a true East End Girl (look her up on Wikipedia) and it really shows. She has a voice which is "true class" and for this show, second to none. I am an East End girl myself and have over the years heard quite a few versions of this song - trust me you will not be disappointed. As for Ron Moody - I do not need to say anything - history speaks for itself. Buy this CD. It is not the most expensive - it's a real bargain but truthfully it is the VERY VERY BEST, NO KIDDING !!
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2017
Grew up listening to this album.This is still one of my favourite recordings,played it at work and everyone was singing along.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2017
No worries very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2017
Family favourite
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
For me there is only one recording of Oliver that works and this is it. I can remember having the cassette reissue of this album and playing it so much the tape stretched and finally it was no more!
This CD release is very welcome and I'm quite sure that the sound quality is better too. Dating from 1989 this was an early CD on the Decca, Deram label. Running time approx 57 minutes.
The cast Ron Moody, Georgia Brown, Danny Sewell (the brother of George Sewell), Paul Whitsun-Jones and well cast Keith Hamshere in the title role bring the whole show to life. The orchestrations are by Eric Rogers and the orchestra was conducted by Marcus Dods. My favourite song on the CD is Ron Moody "Reviewing the Situation". The most powerful performance is without doubt from Danny Sewell as Bill Sikes and his "My Name" still sends a shiver down my spine after all these years! And as for Georgia Brown, well she was perfect as Nancy.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2009
Fantastic value for a fantastic version - the original and the best! If you're not already familiar with her, relish in the outstanding quality of Georgia Brown's voice - THE definitive Nancy!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2009
This is THE definitive cast recording of this show, if you are doing an amateur production go no further, especially not to the film version. This marries up with the keys and words and ALL the songs in the official arrangements and score, and has the peerless Ron Moody as Fagin, and Georgia Brown as the best ever Nancy, also listen out for Barry (Dame Edna) Humphries as Mr Sowerberry, plus Tony (Baldrick) Robinson is also in there somewhere too, Consider it, perfect!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2011
Having kick-started British rock and roll in 1956 with Tommy Steele, written Fings Aint Wot They Used To Be, and Living Doll for Cliff Richard (his first US hit in 1959), Lionel Bart had to save his creative energies and produce a musical. And what a musical! Oliver! - an amazing tour de force that Bart was never to repeat and, indeed, creatively spent he ended up selling his rights to Oliver! to others just to pay his bills. This is the original West End cast - Ron Moody and Georgia Brown starring. It's significantly less polished than the movie that came along in the late 60s but its rawness is magnetic. Great songs performed by great artists in an all British musical that its composer was never able to repeat with neither Bart's Blitz! or his later musical on Robin Hood producing any 'old grey whistle test' hits.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2012
Having just been to a singalong-Oliver! at the Theatre Royal, Norwich - which was great fun for a pretend musical stage star like myself - I decided to buy this soundtrack to carry on the pretence in my living room. It's a very good CD but, and this is only in my opinion obviously, I prefer the movie soundtrack with Jack Wild, Mark Lester and Harry Secombe's vocals. Georgia Brown's 'Oom Pah Pah' and 'As Long As He Needs Me' however is unsurpassable. This remains a very good CD though and, as it's my favourite musical of all time, I'll still keep playing it and making believe.....
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2014
having watched this show in london two weeks after it opened i really wanted a recording featuring the original cast.....now i really do have one! much as i enjoyed the film you really cant beat the original, thank you. pristine used copy, arrived bang on time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)