Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
14
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
4
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

First Sentence: With the celebration of Eastertide at the end of March, a warm spring radiance had descended on Lincoln.

Templar Knight Bascot de Marins is recovering in the castle at Lincoln after eight years captivity and torture in the Holy Lands. Someone has poisoned a scribe of the castle and the family of a merchant in the town. The poison is traced to a high-grade honey and the poisonings were deliberate. It is also realized that the victims where not those intended. The first victim was to have been the castle's castellan, who asks for Bascot's help in finding the killer.

I very much enjoyed the first two books of this series, but the third wore a bit thin. It is a classic investigative mystery, which was well done, but short on dialogue and contained very little suspense. Although we know something of the primary characters, there is not a lot of depth provided to them. The sense of time and place was adequate but not rich or terribly evocative. In all, I'd have to say this was a good read, but not much more than that.

In all, I'd have to say this was a good read, but not much more than that.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2009
Enjoyed this just as much as her first two books. Nice to have a new author in the ranks of historical fiction.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2009
Once again Maureen Ash has come up with an intriguing plot. As before the detailed description of 12th century Lincoln is very interesting and adds to the tensions of the story. The plot starts rather slowly, but soon comes to the boil. All in all a very good book - following in the footsteps of Candace Robb.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
It's a shame that this book can only be bought from Amazon..... as it's a now Canadian /English lady author, so doesn't merit shelf space in UK book stores. These mysteries are excellently crafted and you don't know "who dun it " until virtually the end of the storyline.... which is excellent. I've enjoyed every one of this authors series of books. I hope she writes many more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2012
I love this series books. I know Lincoln and its surrounding area fairly well so understand the settings and background to her plots. Maureen Ash has really has done her homework and I have learned so much more about custom and practice in medieval times. I have read four of her books so far and hope there are more to come.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2013
The third book in this series proved to be just as entertaining as the proceeding ones. Not fast moving but great attention to detail and good plot. Our Templar hero and his young charge of very believable and I am once more left anticipating their next adventure and the next stage in their developing relationship.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2015
A tale that moves quickly and with pleasing description of the life in those times. The character of the Templar is well drawn and the plot is veiled until the end, with a red herring or two on the way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2014
Fans of quality ghistorical mysteries will be delighted. A deft re-creation of a time and place, with characters you'll want to meet again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2014
Cracking good read very much in the vein of Brother Athelstone and Hugh Corbett series. Characters well drawn and intriguing story lines.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2014
I bought this for my Mum, she is always pleased with this type of book & really enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse