Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
126
4.1 out of 5 stars
Che - Parts 1&2 [Blu-ray]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£10.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 30 October 2017
Brilliant film. So glad I got it !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2017
Fantastic story as a follow on from the Motorcycle Diaries.
Greta insight into Che the man and his story of his life
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2012
This is a powerful, seminal work covering key chapters in the life and career of the world's most famous revolutionary Che Guevara. And, for the price, you are getting over 4 hours of superb movie biopic, handled with the right balance between fact and filmography.

Be clear, there are parts in English but on the whole, it is subtitled in English which some viewers can find tiring. I'd just say, don't let it put you off - be patient and give it a chance. You will be well-rewarded.

A film in two parts, the first sees the Cuban revolution whilst the second follows events in Bolivia up to an amazing finale. Benicio del Toro is magnificent in short footage at the end of the film, we see the actor glancing out over the sea. For me, he really captured the character, the myth and the legend of Che.

There are gaps that it simply wasn't possible to cover in the timeframe of the movie which I would like to have seen more of. For example, his family and five children barely get a mention, leaving one wondering where he found the time to squeeze this effort in. In addition, his time in Congo is covered so briefly that the viewer just ends up with the idea that he `spent some time in the Congo'. It almost feels that there is a missing 45 minutes covering this chapter.

But these are minor criticisms in what is an epic film and the perfect place for people new to Che's story to read. You'll have plenty of time to pick and read further after the story. For now, prepared to meet one of the men hailed as one of the greatest humans of the last century - you don't have to agree with the assertion but fans include Mandela etc.

Guerrilla Warfare - for further information I recommend reading Che's own work first, before delving into the hundreds of books about him.

Enjoy this visual feast of a film and be transported to the revolutionary days in Cuba and Bolivia.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 December 2011
This two part film is a long consideration of its topic, the hero of the Cuban Revolution, Ernesto Che Guevara. Like all heroes who died before their time he has a certain "aura". Our view of Guevara nowadays is linked to where the communist revolution eventually went, but Guevara was in at the beginning, when it was a simpler struggle between landlords, US corporations and campesinos, before the weight of the contest between the USA and Soviet Russia effectively made proxies out of many regimes.

The Guevara it portrays is wise, kind, helpful and able to maintain great loyalty, but he is also willing to execute his enemies (and in this beginning is his end) and support the loss of their property. The result is the philosopher guerrilla. If you lived through the period (as I did) you can enjoy spotting people like Regis Debray and re-reading the aims of Fidel Castro. The portrayal of guerrilla fighting is very effective; both where it is succeeding and where it fails as in Bolivia. There may not be quite enough action for many, but there is plenty in such a long film. Del Toro's portrayal of Guevara is so powerful as to begin to overwhelm the images I hold of the original Che.

The film may infuriate Cuban exiles or cold war warriors but, rather like "La battaglia di Algeri" its portrayal of both Battista troops and the Bolivians hunting Che is never simplistic. One can even sense admiration for the skill of the latter. It reminded me of just how little I know of Latin America's complex history.

Though I found it well told and beautifully filmed it must be said it moved slowly and probably into unknown waters for many viewers. I doubt it is a film for the viewer wanting some relaxing entertainment; a situation which does not reflect on either director or viewer.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2014
A very good film about a very good man. If only the CIA hadn't murdered him, eh. My hero since the age of 11, and all the more so since reading his biography. Lost his life fighting for others, with nothing to gain for himself. A real life Jesus Christ.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2015
Terrific!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2015
Pleased with item and service..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2015
Love this movie had to watch it before going to Cuba
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2015
good film!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2015
Awesome film re a legend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)