Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
205
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 November 2013
In 1957, at Camp Crystal Lake, a young boy, Jason Voorhees drowned.

As the years go by, two camp counsellors are murdered. Fires and bad water thwarted the camp's reopening.

In 1979, Camp Crystal Lake relaunches with the help of a few new counsellors.

Ignoring the warnings from good old Crazy Ralph, popping up everywhere, the murders start again while a mysterious stalker prowls the area.

Even though the film is in my opinion the epitome of eighties slasher movies and the beginning of one of the best horror franchises ever, its not the most fun movie to watch from the series, unless your one of the lucky ones who saw the movies in chronological order.

Its a shame if you saw Scream before this, because there is a major plot spoiler in the opening scene.

Its a simple set up that has been homaged, ripped off, and copied several times, especially in the eighties with the likes of The Burning, Sleepaway Camp etc, but this has never been bettered.

But what makes it hold up, is the actual plot and narrative, and its very sinister, even by today's standards. And the killers revelation and their rationale, is totally brilliant.

The sequels after part two were very tongue in cheek and virtually threw the sinister parts away, but they were and are still, a lot more fun for a group to watch.

The cast are great and add to the nuance, and even 33 years later, its still one of the best stalk and slash movies ever made.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 April 2009
Firstly, for those of you wondering, the US import IS region free. It plays perfectly well on my UK PS3.

The picture quality is very good, but not the best I've seen on blu-ray. But let's be balanced about it, this is a low budget movie shot mostly at night. Not day-for-night, but simply night, which is never easy. The result is graininess in the blacks, although you can significantly compensate for this by adjusting your contrast settings etc. Grain doesn't bother me too much anyway, as I don't sit too close to the screen. However, despite the grain, the image is otherwise very clean and sharp. I do think they've gotten the best transfer out of the negative or interposotives they used, as the sharpness of the image can't be criticised.

The audio has been cleaned up very nicely. Again, the source material was never the strongest, with analogue issues in all previous releases (including the first DVD release) but all that seems to have gone. The dialogue is mostly clear and the score has never sounded better. I think Manfredini's music benefits from this release as much as anything else; it's certainly the aspect I noticed felt "newest" if you know what I mean. It doesn't sound as tinny as it did before, and that's a good thing.

The extras are very nice, if a little short. But what's there is welcome, especially seeing some of the key cast/crew members again. Most of us want to see how everyone's doing, and seeing Betsy Palmer and Adrienne King sitting at the same table after nearly 30 years is great. The cast reunion isn't very well edited, but then it's only really a convention appearance so the filmed material is limited. But yes, it's nice to see them. In the reunion, we see Betsy Palmer, Adrienne King and Ari Lehman (Jason), writer Victor Miller and composer Harry Manfredini, and in one of the other mini-documentaries we also get a nice couple of bits with Robbi Morgan, who played Annie. She's cool.

Anyway, there you go. Like I said, not a perfect picture, but it's sharp and probably the best they could've got without spending a HELL of a lot reprocessing the whole thing frame by frame a la Blade Runner Final Cut. The audio is better than it's been before and clean. The extras are pretty good but I would've liked more.

4.5 stars.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2016
The original film that kicked off the 80's horror craze arrives on Bluray.

Camp Crystal Lake, a picture perfect summer camp with a sinister history that is bathed in blood. After several years of closure the son of the camp's owners decide to make yet another go at turning around the camps fortunes, unfortunately one embittered individual is determined that the camp should never open again, even if murder is required to accomplish. Decent plot, for a horror film, unsuspected murderer and a young Kevin Bacon!

Bluray provides very good video and audio for what essentially was a low budget mainly night-shot film so you do have some inevitable imperfections but in many ways this adds to the charm.

Bluray is region free so can play on UK/US players without issue (tested on PS3 UK slim).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2009
Having now seen the first three "Friday" films on Blu, I have to say that this is darn close to being the best. Part II maybe just edges it for picture quality, but the original is surprisingly sharp, with night-time scenes very well managed and no objectionable grain levels, for my money. Colours are occasionally a little overcooked, as in the late diner scene, but then the seventies were just ending and perhaps they really were wearing those colours? That aside, colours and contrasts are generally good, with fairly solid black levels. This film really puts Part III to shame in terms of picture quality.

The soundtrack is also quite impressive for the age. Forceful and sinister, particularly in the last half hour. Dialogue is maybe occasionally a bit light-sounding, but on the whole the True HD 5.1 soundtrack does a terrific job, with respectable surround and subwoofer effects. To compare it with its great rival "Halloween" of which this film was something of an imitation: the sound quality is comfortably better, the colours are richer, and sharpness is also somewhat better. I must say that I disagree with the reviewer who states that this is not a worthwhile upgrade from the DVD. This seems to me unfair as picture quality and sound quality are markedly superior.

It's hard to say how well the film has aged as it leaves such mixed impressions. Much of the acting seems much weaker now than I had remembered. The plot remains the great ace in the sleeve, with a magnificent twist and a truly shocking ending. It is true that the effects are no longer very convincing, especially in HD, and double especially for anyone who has also seen the recent remake! Yet the film has not lost its power to generate suspense and make you jump; it's just that most horror fans are so desensitised these days that it is no longer truly shocking.

Nevertheless, a really great transfer of a much loved classic, albeit a classic indebted to "Halloween" and, in an inverted way, "Psycho". Worth comparing with the Van Nispel remake, or for a truly great horror weekend, take those two plus the original and remade "Halloween" flicks.
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2001
In the year 1957 at a Campsite buried in the woods a young boy drowns in the camp lake. The two councillors who were supposed to be watching him were making love at the time. One year later these two councillors are followed into the camp barn by an unseen assasin. They are both murdered.
It is now twelve years later and the camp is being reopened by Steve Christie who has hired seven new councillors. The date is Friday 13th June. The locals are shocked that 'Camp Blood' is being reopened and warn the councillors to quit.
None of the luckless teenagers listen to the warnings about Camp Crystal Lake and roam the campsite carefree. Unknown to them there is an unwelcome presence in the camp. A presence that is watching the councillors at every turn. One by one they fall prey to an unseen killer and when the killer is finally revealed it comes as a bit of a shock. The film is absolutely fantastic and it is the one that started it all. If you're going to watch this film don't decide that there's no plot and switch it off. Watch the whole thing, the plot is explained very clearly when the killer is revealed. There are some great makeup effects when the councillors are killed eg the axe through the head. In this film watch out for a seventeen year old Kevin Bacon! This was probably one of his first big parts. I would recommend this film to anyone who loves horror and likes being scared. 10/10
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2009
its really quite funny. Ask any "horror" loving teenager who the killer is in the 1st friday the 13th movie. They look at you as if you are the thickest person in the world and say JASON!!!. This is where you can laugh at them for obviously not even seeing the movie.

Friday the 13th has become soooooo famous and huge that you dont even have to have seen the films to know who the killer in the series is (for the most part). With its everlasting sequels and recent remake/reboot/reimagining of the series it dosnt show much signs of stopping anytime soon. Granted they may not be the best horror films in the world (not by a long shot) but there is something about them that people just cant resist and keep coming back for the newest release. Its safe to say that these movies are here to stay until they dont make enough money.

With all the squeles and the crossover movie freddy vs jason, its time to remember where and why it all began. Originally inspired by the success of halloween in 1978, sean s. cunningham made a knock of slasher film called friday the 13th. it isnt as scary as halloween but it does keep a good sense of terror throughout. It is suspenseful in the sense that u dont no who the killer is which isnt the case in the sequels.

This is far gorier than halloween aswell and has more creative death sequences in them which may interest people. Also Tom savini (dawn of the dead) did the make up effects which gets a thumbs up from me as he has worked on a lot of horror films.

In my opinion the 1st four friday movies are the best but i own all of them . It is interesting to watch this and see how far the series has come. Is it worth a watch? definatley!!!!!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2015
Sean S. Cunninghams classic finally see's this American's eyes and ears. Ari Lehman IS jason voorhee's a mentally challenged child and mongeloid. this film made "feel" for the real people whom are like jason voorhee's(whom asks to be born like this?).

great story, great beginning for Kevin Bacon. the most shocking part of this film which did make this jaded horror film fanatic's jaw drop was the 100% uncensored killing of Mrs. Voorhee's by the immortal Betsy Palmer(much more pronounced than even that of the American domestic release by paramount <= shame on you!), yet we only got to see Mrs. voorhee's head fly off NOT here "beheading".

Walter Gorney as crazy "death curse" Ralph
SPFX by the "the 1980's icon of horror" Tom Savini = still beloved!
the music in the ending credit can make one feel a false "an all's quite on the water-front" sense of insecurity.
silly = hairstyles by six feet under(?) in westport connecticut.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2012
As far as slashers go this is one of the best, you can't be a fan of the genre unless you've seen this one. The film is of course uncut although it is only 10 seconds of extra footage. The extra footage is that Anni's death is 2 seconds longer, The sex scene has an extra butt pinch, Jacks death is 4 seconds longer and Marcie's death is also 2 seconds longer. The final beheading has no time difference however it is edited differently. The extra's include the trailer, cast and crew commentary, a reunion, a couple of interviews and a strange short video of 2 people getting killed by an unknown killer possibly Jason it's only about a minute long. all in all this is definitely the best edition out there.
22 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2016
Not my favourite,parts 2 and 3 were but a decent horror film with a creepy camp by the lake setting and a maniac offing the camp leaders one by one in gruesome fashion.(SPOILERS) 2 things that did frighten me as a kid was jason voorhess mums shrill voice and the boat/dream bit at the end with the deformed jason lunging for the last surviving girl.Definetly a classic and worth checking out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2015
This is the R1 release of Friday 13th, Killer cut.
The widescreen picture quality is nice enough,
but not spectacular. I think it may be a bit gorier
than the UK version but i've not seen that print
for a long time. Jason looks terrific, the lump from
Supernatural is bearable & apart from Jason, the
Asian guy is the best (funniest) thing in it.
Good fx & pretty gory. Just thought, the mannequin
guy is pretty bloody funny also.
Extras- explore the rebirth of Jason- & additional slashed scenes.
2009
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)