Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
23
Live Jam
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£3.99


on 3 April 2017
it's not a patch on Dig The New Breed in my opinion, it's got lots on it and 1 or 2 decent Live versions of the likes of Carnation, Precious and the stand out track for me is Funeral Pyre, the overall sound quality is a little muddled in places but at less than a fiver you can't complain, don't forget to crank up the volume.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 April 2017
A collection of many of their best songs performed live, only downside is that the sound quality of the cd could have been better
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2017
this is brilliant,faster speed to all songs its a must to have
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 May 2017
Just simply brilliant,purchased again due to losing my last
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 September 2017
Excellent .. The Jam are still the best band in the ******* world
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 February 2006
If you're a Jam fan then you'll either have this already or ignore what any reviwers write and just buy it. You'll not be disappointed. Its a good live album and captures what the Jam were like at their height and in their (live) element. The track selection is extensive and gets in all the popular numbers plus some unexpected ones. If you're getting into the Jam, then this is as good a live set as you can expect and gives a good impression of what they were really all about.
Personally, I prefer Dig the New Breed, as some of the versions of the key tracks on that, are better and it has the standout version of Ghosts. Saying that, this album can't be faulted and in terms of the range and number of tracks, its a sound investment and well worth having.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 January 2007
Its 12 or 13 years ago now since I bought this album but its one I keep coming back to. It was my introduction to the Jam. I'd gotten into Weller in the Wildwood era and vaguely new something about the jam and him being in the band. It was about the time I was becoming obsessed with all things mod. My dad's old Who and Small Faces records used to go on every day after school. Then I heard Live Jam! Wow! The power, the aggression, the sheer energy coupled with Weller's musical genious had me hooked right away. All these years later and The Jam and The Style Council are still two of my favourite bands.

Buy it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 October 2012
It could be that i am now older, but this album is better than almost anything around today. I understand that it is all subjective, and today's music will be heralded by this generation in twenty years as "better than today's" music. Sadly, i do feel that music from the 80's and 90's maybe the last time that songs with melody, rhythm and audible lyrics were created. Well i will get of my soap box now and say that this is a great album ans worth a listen.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 June 2002
The great thing about this American disc is that it doesn't duplicate the running order of contemporary live LP (1982) 'Dig The New Breed' at all. Surprisingly, neither disc replicates the running order of a singles collection LP either, with obscurer tracks like 'Heatwave' given equal priority.
Far too young to have attended a Jam gig, and in the absence of any concert videos, listening to these CDs is probably the closest younger Jam fans will ever be able to get to being there.
Paul Weller as angry-sounding young man is what you get on every track, a million-miles from the dad rock strummings on last year's 'Days Of Speed'!
As with The Clash, listening to studio recordings only gives half the story, because The Jam live must have been a hot ticket.
'The Modern World' is a pretty dud song to kick off with, but 'Billy Hunt' gets the crowd going and 'Down In The Tube Station At Midnight' and 'Town Called Malice' are brilliant as always.
All told, a bit of a bargain really.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 March 2006
I saw the Jam twice in 1977-78. This album,for a ridiculous price, is something you should buy, firstly for yourself and secondly, and more importantly, for your (possibly future)children, so they can understand you when you complain about the triviality of modern "music". Rock and roll doesn't get better than this, though the Stones, Dolls, Kennedys, Television et al provide reasonable competition. Don't waste your money on another pint or ten fags, buy this.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)