Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
14
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 February 2009
This album's had amazing reviews on a lot of websites and it's right up front on myspacemusic. Have a listen and judge for yourself. The Elbow track is an astonishing cover of U2's classic Running to Stand Still and Franz Ferdinand do a rousing rendition of Blondie's Call Me. Beck, TV on the Radio, the Kooks, the Yeah Yeah Yeahs and Peaches all do great covers from the Ramones through to Bowie. There are few albums where you'll have more than half a dozen favourites like this. In fact the whole deal stands up to repeated listening. It wont disappoint.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2009
This isn't just a fantastic line up. This is music at it's best. The radio play this album's got has only scratched the surface. I've just listened to it on myspace and there isn't a single track I don't love. I don't normally write reviews like this. But this is great music to meet the needs of a great cause.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2009
Do yourself a favour - buy this album! Not only is War Child a fantastic charity but the album is truly amazing. Beck's cover of Dylan is stomping. Lily Allen duets with Mick Jones to give a whole new flavour to The Clash's 'Straight to Hell.' But the best is yet to come. Band de jour, TV on the Radio, remain faithful to Bowie's Heroes while also bringing something distinctly new to it. Hot Chip re-imagine Joy Division's 'Transmission' rather than trying to just copy the iconic original and succeed in giving a new electro, post punk-ish tinge to the track, one of the album stand outs. Peaches brings Berlin grit and dirty bass to The Stooge's 'Search and Destroy' which is another of the highlights. And The Like bring a 50s do-wop to Elvis Costello's 'You Belong To Me'.

Cannot recommend this highly enough!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2009
I dare say that many folks will not want to agree with me becuase this is a great list of musicians and the cause is an excellent one. However those things alone do not a great album make.

However while there are some wonderful covers here (see The Hold Steady and Peaches) many frankly stink. It is a shame as in many cases the artists in question are ones that I am a fan of, however some songs are plain dull (Duffy, Lilly Allen) while others are just terrible (Estelle, Rufus Wainwright).

Buy the album to support the cause by all means, but don't expect something that will knock your socks off song after song.

In summary it is great at the start, falls over in the middle and then picks it self up again (red faced) at the end.

Shame.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2009
There are some excellant covers of well-loved classics on this cd, some tracks I didn't know but I liked the covers anyway and some crimes against music! However it's a great cause and it's well worth buying this as an interesting experiment...it has introduced me to some new artists I'll buy more of and some old tracks I'd like to hear the originals of.

The best covers without a doubt are Elbow's Running To Stand Still & Franz Ferdinand doing Call Me - both of which are at least as good as the originals which is some achievement.

Other tracks i didn't know, but enjoyed were Becks cover of Bob Dylan and Lilly Allen on the Clash. I love love love the Hot Chip version of Transmission although i have no idea how the original sounds!

And the crimes against music - Scissor Sisters massacring The Strand - they should cut their tongues out it's horrendous. Duffy on Live and Let die is pretty lacklustre too - the old GnR cover is a much better attempt.

The Estelle version of Superstition is so-so - i was expecting to be blown away but it's a hard original to live up to.

I've only listened to it a couple of times so maybe some of the other tracks may turn out to be growers or fillers...not sure yet!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2012
After reading the utterly stupid review by the rock critics at the Beeb the whole point is these War Child comps are first and foremost for charity and not for dissecting.
Maybe some of the covers are poor but so what? Covers are today the lifeblood of the music industry though I would tend to doubt the blurb on the sleeve of "the ultimate..."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2009
I've just bought this album and I LOVE it. Not just something to buy to support a worthwhile charity its a great album. I really like the Kooks cover and the Rufus Wainwright song is gorgeous. Well worth £9.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2009
Hop Chip's cover of transmission is ace. Actually, the whole album is ace so it's hard to pick a stand-out track. Highly recommended and nice to know you're doing your bit for charidee too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2009
I adore this cd. I ordered it through a seller associated with Amazon, it arrived even faster than expected. Cannot fault this cd whatsoever:)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2009
Just had a listen on My Space and this album is brilliant. Well done War Child. Can't wait for my copy to arrive on Monday.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)