Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
84
4.3 out of 5 stars
Two Suns
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 11 April 2010
This is wonderful music to play on a sunny afternoon when you want some music, but don't want to annoy your neighbours, There are a lot of minor melodies, and her sining voice is beautiful and effortless. One of the best albums in a long time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2009
This is a brilliant album not least for the imaginative artwork on the album cover. Atmospheric use of instruments make this album an ephemeral experience. The solar system theme and the beautiful singing make this album a welcome break from main stream run-of -the -mill music. I would recommend that you give this music a hearing.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2009
Sounding like a more up beat Siouxie,this is a charming and quaint cd,massive drum beats .acoustic guitars and a strangely remiscent aura of late sixties folk style vocal all merge into a glorious melange that lulls and soothes the listener.
This is so typically English,at times similar in style to Kate Bush always challeenging and probing,the production is excellent as is the gatefold packaging,all i need now is a joint and i could be back in the sixties getting well and truly lashed!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2009
Firstly, buy this album. This really is something incredible, you only have to listen to the utterly accomplished and beautiful lyrics once before your heart skips a beat and you realise you're witnessing something special.

Every song has been lavished with so much love by Natasha Khan, this record really stands out. Every word she sings has been painfully chosen for all the intimacies of its meaning and the album is something incredible for it.

The love songs are so sincere and the imagery magnificent. The final song, Wilderness, (which I presume must be the 'secret' track you get with the code [got my album off iTunes]) is so completely heart wrenchingly beautiful and upsetting I found myself crying my eyes out in bed listening to it.

Please do yourself a favour and buy this album. She is an artist, a writer and an amazing musician, and after hearing this record I have nothing but total respect for her.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERon 7 June 2009
It's like climbing a long velvet rope sewn with golden charms and jewels. That description sums up the experience of listening to Bat For Lashes (aka Natasha Khan), even in her lesser songs. And fortunately "Two Suns" doesn't really have any lesser songs -- just a steady stream of painfully exquisite, crystalline pop that focus on the feeling of love that's gone.

"In the street's broadways I seek... him whom my soul loveth," she sings softly in the introductory song, before switching to a mix of tribal drums and wafting keyboard. .

After that, she spreads out into a string of love songs -- in fact, this entire album is pretty heavy on those. Most are bittersweet descriptions of an affair falling apart ("I drove past true love once, in a dream/Like a house that caught fire, it burned and flamed"), but there are some beautifully idealistic moments as well.

Along the way, Khan dabbles in some stompy synthy dance, a hymnlike freak-folk ballad backed by a choir, and the warmly off-kilter "Traveling Woman," and a finale that evokes old wooden stages, toy pianos and an old theatre being shut down ("No more spotlights/coming down from heaven... and already my voice is fading/goodbye, my dears/and into the big city...").

Fortunately she doesn't abandon her signature sound, which is that of an old fantasy story mutating into a beautiful, slightly wicked dream -- swirling pop, haunting piano ballads, the soaring and unnerving echoes of "Siren" and its synth-studded companion "Pearl's Song," ethereal melodies swathed in shimmering keyboard, and the exotic sweet danciness of "Two Planets." But the absolute peak of the whole thing has to be "Daniel," an catchily effervescent ode to a man with a "flame in his heart."

One of the biggest questions that comes to mind when listening to "Two Suns" is -- why is the music industry flooded with no-talent pop hacks, when such exquisitely vibrant music is right there for the listening? It's an album with stunning vocals and instrumentation, and lyrics that evoke images of forests on fire, magicians, crystal cities, and an alter ego Khan calls Pearl (who is either a femme fatale or a fantasy traveler).

Khan's music is, if possible, even more beautiful than before, mainly because she's managed to polish the instrumentals even further. In most songs she weaves together a shimmering wall of hauntingly silky keyboard with drums, violins, sharp beats and painfully pretty piano, but sometimes she also pares it down to the bare essentials ("Peace of Mind").

But Khan's voice is one of the loveliest things in this album -- she can sing powerfully or wistfully, and she even shows that she can manage a song almost a capella ("Peace of Mind" again). Her songwriting is even better: she can conjure powerful emotions with vivid swathes of words ("I drove past true love once, in a dream/Like a house that caught fire, it burned and flamed"). It's almost sensual.

"Two Suns" is a lush, lovely album that shows how much Natasha Khan's music has grown in the last year, and reminds you of the dark, beautiful places just out of reach.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2009
If you like Imogen Heap or Fiona Apple, cut with a dash of Beth Orton, then Bat For Lashes is going to hit the spot.

Her style is dramatic and theatrical. Her lyrics charismatic and at times touching, her arrangements and harmonies enigmatic, surprising and often beautiful.

She is a little bit special and this, her second album, is a lot more rounded and commercial - in a good way - than her first. However, that said, I feel she is still developing and has the potential to do even more in her in the future. Full of upbeat hits (Daniel for example) and growers, this is an album you will return to and find more in with each listen. Buy it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2013
A surprisingly accessible album released in 2009, Natasha Khan's quirky approach to pop music is a breath of fresh air, and sets her up as one to watch as her career develops. Two Suns is actually Khan's `tricky' second album after the poorly received but solid Fur And Gold, released three years previously, but it has the confidence and scope of any début or mid-period work; signature track Daniel is a hauntingly beautiful song about the rise and decline of a relationship, and sets the tone for a powerful yet fragile collection of imaginatively produced and personally performed near-perfect pop songs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 21 April 2009
In the fifties, she would iron, and clean, she would vaccum the house and darn socks, work idly round the house, gaze into the clouds and see the shape of her man. Him, stoic, hard, but soft, would fight the wars of the world outside, would drive the Buick to the office, smoke at his desk and calculate the profit gearing of the tea imports, sit and drink with the boys, play the role of the man, wishing that he was home, deep in his cocoon with her, the Juliet to his Romeo, as the world slowly killed them with dinner sets and social conventions.

This is what "Two Suns" sounds like. Two objects in orbit of each other, two massive balls of fire that can give or take life, burn or warm : two hearts, two objects of huge potential. In the rear view mirror of our lives, the two suns in the sunset - the setting white dwarf, the other the mushroom cloud of our great advances.

"Two Suns". Like the debut, it sounds like to me, the inarticulate speech of the heart, the rolling waves, the feeling beyond language, where fragments of lyric become a glimpse into another world, where percussion and punctuation thunder loving heartbeats, where souls move beyond the mundane to so much more than we ever thought.

This record elevates, transports, in the blink of an eye, a flash of the music, the whole world goes away, and you are there, dancing to a silent drum, gazing at the clouds, thinking of your loved one, the reason why we do all this, and hearing the voice of purpose in your head : This is why we do all this stuff, why we endure the indignities of work slavery and tax. Where souls meet, where lips touch, where love conquers all things. This record is not just music : the representation, the capturing in musical form of a two hearted dream, where we, us together can conquer all.

This is the sound of being madly, passionately in love, that second where the souls entwine, and everything in the world is beautiful, and nothing is impossible.
22 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
Natasha Kahn is one of those artist that you can't get enough of.
Two suns is a great album, with tracks like "Sleep Alone" and "Daniel" that is upbeat with true emotion.

Unfortunately the vinyl version is not the best.
The cover is of a lower resolution and printed on a not so great paper.

Great album, but I recommend rather getting the digital or CD version
As a collector, It is still nice to have her presence.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2009
Ms Khan struts her stuff in typical esoteric fashion, however her magnificent compositions cut a swath through all the genres. Gorgeous.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Fur And Gold
£5.54
The Bride
£8.45
Honeymoon
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)