Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 December 2010
The Sixten here present a selection of 21 well known traditional Christmas carols. The ensemble singing is of the highest order (as is usual with The Sixteen). The collection is genuine in that they have kept closely to the original texts and the tunes are in their traditional guise - unspolit by elaborate over-arrangements. The accompying booklet details all the verses for the carols.

This is a really first class CD of Christmas carols that can be recommended without hesitation. This is now my favourite carol CD - even replacing Kings College choir - and is destined to be the favourite Christmas Carol CD for years to come
11 Comment| 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2012
I love a traditional Christmas. Therefor a bought this CD and i wasn't dissapointed.
I played it while wrapping the gifts, I played it while helping to prepare the Christmas meal,I played it in my car while driving.I couldn't stop listening to it.
If you want to enchance your Christmas i can recommend this CD its an absolute winner.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2012
If you want a great Christmas album, at a great price, by one of the great ensembles, then don't miss this one. I'm a fan of The Sixteen so was delighted by this traditional collection. Amazon did me proud too by delivering before Christmas even though I only ordered on Dec !6th.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2013
Thank you for an excellent serviceI bought this CD after Christmas an have not listened to it properly yet. I have othe CDs of the Sixteen and they are excellent so I look forward to useing it during the next Christmas period
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2011
This collection of Christmas carols enchanted my relatives over from Germany last year. We were staying in a cottage, the snow was banked up high, the log fire ablaze and this CD playing in the background. I think they thought they had died and gone to Heaven. They weren't familiar with many of the carols here, but still had this on a loop (and the second volume by The Sixteen) pretty much on a loop for the entire duration.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2016
Very harmonious and beautiful singing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2012
if you or an older relative like this kind of music then this is a must but be aware not all the songs are in english,
not that it matters as the quality of the singing is very high as usual
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 19 February 2014
This is a sheer delight, having listened to it for over twelve months. At Christmas, it enriched the occasion. Even when played as a surround for the family, it gained attention. The Sixteen and Harry Christophers have the talent and ability to deliver the most familiar Christmas carols with a different slant. Their vocals are impeccable and the standard festive songs are produced with an authentic feel for the period. 71 minutes of joy. All expertly delivered. My young grandchildren were attentive and made comments ('this is different'). Wonderful.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2013
The performances and recording are all we have come to expect from The Sixteen, but on a personal level i would have preferred if everything was a little less mannered and completely sung a capella. And if i add that i couldn't always feel the excitement of advent here i am also willing to accept that i'm no expert and a hard to please old so-and-so. So now i've had my tuppence worth i can say that i am otherwise very happy and this release will be hard to beat for the selection of carols and the wonderful sound which will fill your home on this well-filled CD
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2013
Lovely choice of carols, beautifully sung. My daughter and I have listened to them a lot over Christmas. Would recommend
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)