Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
43
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 April 2003
As with most reviews you find here you get fans of a genre of music or an artist in particular raving on about how good the CD is they have listened to far to many times, and I am going to do just that.
There was something special about this album even before it came out. It was well advertised and Warp records were raving on about it a while before its wide release. Take a look at the website, [...] to see the effort that has been undertaken in promoting it and to get an idea of what you may be letting yourself in for if you choose to buy it.
It is hard to say anything about the album in simple terms, as its complexity is so profound making it a generally difficult listen at first. I don’t really class this double disc set as an album at all, more an experience, a ride you can undertake for 100 minutes: a heart pounding, confused, terrifying yet calming adventure if your alert and awake enough and can be bothered to give it your attention.
Over the two discs it could be said there are two themes or atmospheres that are both completely separable but compliment each other greatly and give the album an overall feeling. The two extremes being ‘Avril 14th’ and ‘Penty Harmonium’, ambient, instrumental and classical, compared with ‘Vordhosbn’ and ‘Cock/Ver 10’ which are a fusion of a ridiculous amount of sounds to make, if you have to give it a name; something close to drum and bass, and are the type of track that give the album its vast depth.
I have owned this album for just over year I and I have just began to see the extent of, put simply now, how good it is. It is not like the Aphex Twin we know; yet it is recognisable as something that has always been looming in his previous music. Aphex Twin supposedly makes his music for himself and his friends. This is almost Frank Zappa-esque in the way it offers more than just a listen: it is an experience that has been given real time in production and if you listen to Zappa’s ‘Lumpy Gravy’ you may see some similarities with this album (a strange comparison I know. No! Lets make that a passing comment.)
Overall its not an easy listen, with tracks like Gwarek 2 which starts with what sounds like a metal bar being walked along a metal fence followed what can only be described as screams of intense pain then a warped ping bong ball zipping around a large hall: the ping pong ball transforming into a group of screeching bats and flying away. Yes its acid induced, drugs in general compliment the album but the it is more a representation of drugs themselves, which is maybe where the title (Drukqs/Drugs?) comes from.
If you’re into any Warp records stuff get this, if you’re a real Aphex Twin fan you already have it but if you don’t like weird music or only enjoy conventional dance I wouldn’t bother. There’s far to much to say about Drukqs but I imagine it gives everybody different listen and they form their own nostalgia from but that doesn’t dispute the fact that its bloody brilliant, maybe even, dare I say it, Genius.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2004
This album contains the best IDM song ever created. It is track 2 on disk 1 and goes by the name of 'Vordhosbn'. This song has made me laugh, cry and almost sent me crazy. You may not understand it at first but when you get to around the 10th play you will more than likely be as dumbfounded as me. 'Vordhosbn' aside, this album also contains 8 other undescribably awesome peices of music, Omgjiga-switch 7, cock ver 10, mt saint michel + st michels mount, 54 cymru beats, meltphace 6, taking control, ziggomatic 17 and afxv237. Each and every one beautiful in its own messed up way. Although the beat orientated tunes are worth the enrty fee alone, the majority of the other work is well worth a listen. Avril 14th is nice, as are bbydonchord and Hy a scullyas lyf adhagrow. There is the odd filler lurking around, as would be expected of a 30 track lp, but you just won't care as you are taken in by vordhosbn and co time and time again
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2003
urr..........yes.........well....hmmm............yes right.....ok......
...............sorry, i was listening to Drukqs.
This is really how this album makes you feel, from each direction you look at it from.
From the unlearned "i could make this" ignorant people point of view this album sounds so disjointed and complex, but almost childlike at the same time. I really can simpathise with people who don't understand Aphex (but not for long!), because i used to be one of them. Things like "it's just noise" and "i could do this" are uttered from the mouths of these people and its understandable because its so damn weird, complex, fast etc...etc...it's everything all at once!
The braindance tracks are more caustic and violent than RDJ's earlier stuff. Not ravy like Caustic Window but complex like Squarepusher. There are intersperced with mellow piano pieces that are occasionally very beautiful.
My opening statement can be used with the veteran Aphex/braindance listener too. It's just so technically brilliant! Its fast, complex (have i said that already!) and ingenious! It must have taken ages to make its awesome.
And NO non believers! You could NOT make this album with 50 million years and copious narcotic subsatances to spare!!!
For the newly initiated listeners of Aphex or braindance steer clear of this album for now, get some Plaid or Boards Of Canada or ambient works Aphex. When youre ready get this.
Its a work of art, not music.
Can't play it on computers either, awkward bastard!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2005
To avoid a cliché when describing this album is virtually impossible, but revolutionary is the right word for me personally. Having only previously encountered "The Twin" on account of "Windowlicker" in a chillout CD purchased several summers ago I was a relative innocent. But as experimental electronica was coming to the forefront amongst friends I got to hear this and I agree that the track Vordhosbn is actually so outrageously mental that I do want to cry and scream and my heart rate actually increases to the point of ecstasy whenever I listen to it. Before I acquired the album my desire to listen to that track was actually eating me up, but after a few days I listened to the rest of the 2 discs and I am proud of my personal discovery. Without it I wouldn't be the man that I am. Tracks 8, 9 and 10 in that order on disc 1 are just indescribable; it borders on perfection and The Twin actually hit every nail on every proverbial head possible, ever, putting these in this order and letting them (not) follow on and cause spiritual chaos and metaphysical pleasure in psychopaths such as myself. Nice one.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2001
This record represents an intriguing development in the music of Richard D. James' most popular and glamorous persona, Aphex Twin. The characteristic qualities of darkness, sadness, lyric beauty, impressive violence, vulnerability, and sinister sexual aggression still seem to be there in 'Druqks', linking it to his former works.
However, this double cd will not be as palatable to the casual Warp listener in a way that songs with elements akin to commercial 'hooks' were (e.g. Girl / Boy Song, Windowlicker, Alberto Balsalm, Come to Daddy). The tracks are a lot less easily appreciable. They are mysterious in their musical statement, as cryptic as the apparently random collection of letters which constitute the track names.
This album, I believe, will be more appealing to more seasoned Aphex Twin listeners. There is a curious interspersion of acid techno/warp d&b with ambience of similar darkness to S.A.W. 2, and occasional simple piano melodies which have a distinctively chilling edge.
Technically 'Druqks' is confounding in its resourcefulness. The diversity of samples used and the ingenuity with which they are woven together into tunes makes fascinating listening.
I believe this record re-affirms Richard James' place at the top of his field, a position which some may have said was contestable (by, e.g., Squarepusher or more likely Autechre, although please adjust as your opinion determines). 'Druqks' is the fruit of an imaginative power and unbelievably prolific creativity belonging to a genius of the same order as Bob Dylan, Mozart, or J.S. Bach.
Why 4/5? 'Druqks' has great character and calibre, and is of great human and cultural interest, however it doesn't have the melodic elegance which, let's face it, is usually initial attraction to the rich and vast wealth of music offered by this powerful and prodigious artist.
0Comment| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2002
Drukqs sounds like the album Mr James has always been trying to make - an elusive masterpiece of a quality which in my opinion escaped his previous efforts for one reason or another: this album is neither repetitive nor does it sound like the theme to a nintendo game. despite the diversity in the trakqs on offer the album fits together perfectly - the squarepusher-esque beat workouts and the atmospheric piano interludes complement each other well and the production of each track is flawless. much of the album is dark / sinister and many of the sounds unique making it quite an introspective, personal listen. which is nice.
basically its an exquisite album, try it and decide for yourself. incidentally this was the first aphex album i bought but i havnt been as impressed by any of his earlier releases... enjoy
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2010
If there is one cd in my collection that deserves some sort of explanation or words to describe it, well this is the one. I do remember the first time I played it and I do remember thinking what on Earth I had just heard. Trust me it won't make any sense and you proberbly won't like it at all. However you need to play this album a lot and then as you become familliar with it, patterns start to emerge and then you will discover tracks which are insanely good. I give it 4 stars because there are quite a few tracks I still don't like. However the ones I do are just mindblowing. A few years down the road and what I originaly thought was Aphex Twins weakest album could in fact be his best.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2005
Drukqs is a fragmented and staggered masterpiece. Drukqs takes the listener on a fast-paced transient emotional joyride. The album moves shamelessly from twisted bitter acid beats to more traditional ambient melodies in a style that forces the listener into the role of a ball bearing in a pinball machine. One minute it coaxes feelings of quiet reflection and in the next minute it catapults the listener to levels of seemingly chaotic anger.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2001
Listening to the Aphex Twin is usually a demanding way to spend your time, and with this new album he has pushed himself to even further extremes. Although it features a number of achingly simple/gorgeous piano tunes, it is the complete insanity of the beats which will make this album stay at the top of your stack for months. I have listened to it repeatedly and still can't understand how a mere man can creat such sonic insanity. Even on the demented breakbeat tracks there are tunes - you may have to check that your cd player isn't jumping, but trust me, beneath those beats this is soulful music. Although it doesn't really add to the repertoire of Aphex Twin sounds - there are elements from his previous work in pretty much every track - the sheer brilliance of this album is scary. A work of genius.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2007
I did not know what exactly to expect when I bought this, and certainly it is not an easily approachable piece of work. But if you are patient, there are great rewards at hand.

Aphex Twin demonstrates all his musical intuition and inventiveness and the full range of his abilities.

I particularly liked the piano pieces (Nanou 2, Avril 14th, Father, etc.): they are lyrical and intimate, and in their apparent simplicity remind me a lot of early works by Erik Satie (the 3 Gnossienes and the 3 Gymnopedies in particular).

The electronic pieces are very interesting and aptly crafted, although they are not immediately captivating.

Overall, I think this is a very interesting double CD that reveales the scope of Aphex Twin's musical genius.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)