Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
34
4.9 out of 5 stars
Complete Madness
Format: MP3 Download|Change

on 30 March 2017
What an amazing band that have stayed at it for decades, I love this album and cannot stop listening to it. Keep going lads.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2017
Excellent retro album. Purchased to replaced my worn out original one. Great sound quality at a very good price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2017
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2016
Blast from my past, love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2003
Imagine, if you will, a small boy of 10.
He is in a record shop for the first time, a very large and imposing record shop. He's a little intimidated but he holds his mother's hand tight and pulls her through the people until they find the exact record he wants.
He's heard lots of the songs before on the radio but it's Baggy Trousers that he really loves. Its very happy, and you can dance to it. The video is great and its somehow about school.
So they find the album - actually it was a tape - with seven gurning loons on the front and go home.
And then he listens to it on his walkman again and again and again. He loves this music until it is in his pores.
As a little boy there isn't really anything to compare this to - he is just discovering music (the next thing he buys is Lou Reed because he heard Walk on the Wild Side in a movie he wasn't supposed to watch)
But as he grew older Madness stayed with him. The music didn't really mature as he did - it is still as wonderfully madcap and funny as it was all those years ago. The booming voices - One Step Beyonddddddddd - the parping horns - the ska (if only he'd know that word) rhythms - the silly lyrics (it took years to work out what House of Fun was all about).
There is no need to feel sad - listen to these early Madness songs - some of their best - probably most of their best. They were still holding on to their ska roots - but their pure pop selves were breaking through. For me it is a wonderful record full of more memories than almost any other (I still remember getting into a fight over whether Madness were better than Adam and the Ants).
Nothing more, nothing less, love is the best!
22 Comments| 105 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2009
Fun to listen to and quite catchy although must admit The Madness is an acquired taste. Have them on my mp3 player for the boring haul from work on public transport.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
Reviewing a song is too personal so I'll simply and quickly review the experiance.

You may not like my taste in music, but I have no complaints with how easy the song was to download or play online via amazon.

I also think the price is similar to itunes.

I would and have downloaded again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2013
Went to see the Madness musical 'Our House' this week at my local theatre and it featured the wonderful sound of all those great Madness tracks. Came home and just had to download the original tracks of their greatest hits. Pity that the song 'Our House was not on the album but you can't have everything - Fantastic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2015
Still fresh and fun over 30 years on. Great lyrics and irresistible fairground sound, especially Lee Thompson's sax and Mike Barson's keyboards. Not 'complete' because this compilation was issued in 1982 when Madness were still a very active recording band, but around 12 of these 16 tracks are classics. Pop heaven.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2012
Must have in everyones collection madness hreatest hits. It brings back memories of old and with great tracks can create memories of new. Timeless and for all generations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)