Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 13 December 2011
In the media, 'No place to run' was considered the end of an era when Schenker jumped on a motorbike to Spain and UFO went into decline. The doleful album cover, depicting the band posing outside a dis-used petrol station, epitomised the UK recession under Thatcher's monetarist experiment but Paul Chapman, Caaaaardiff boy and Schenker replacement, made a seamless transition. In fact, he could really play.

Highlights : 'Lettin' go', 'Gone in the night', 'This fire burns tonight', the title track.

Good 1980s classic rock where guitars aren't timid and the drummer and bassist are no shrinking violets either.

And, finally, an awesome vocalist and front-man of a genre that is sadly now obsolete.

A bit like Barcelona on a slightly off-day, but still superior to other outfits.

Recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 January 2012
Classic hard rock album very rounded and complete a cohesive piece of granite like songs superb(yeah that over used word)guitar work through out better for being Schenker--less in my opinion the focus here is on the songs all of them strong bar may be Young Blood the very song that follows the emense intro of Alpha Centuri this is a milestone album and needs to be in your collection (ive got 3 of them).I value an album by the emotion and adrenaline it kicks out and this opus really does deliver especially on This Fire Burns to Night ,Any Day, and Money Money buy ya self some rock history which IS as good today.Maximus Metalicus.Ps i still pose like the guys standing on the gas station on the front cover, ha !!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 October 2016
Bought the CD as I have the tape. Really class Album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 December 2016
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 November 2017
Excellent quality CD, really pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 March 2017
magic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 November 2007
This is an odd album by UFO's standards; it isn't bad, but it seems to lack the verve of their other albums between 1974 and 1981. 'Alpha Centauri' is also the title of a Tangerine Dream album and this opening instrumental is closer to what they do, though it's OK on its own terms. 'Mystery Train' meanwhile is a surprisingly fierce cover of the old Elvis song. UFO are in their usual rock mode on most of the other tracks, but the quality of the material is variable. 'Money Money,' 'Youngblood' and 'Lettin' Go' are the other highlights in my opinion. 'No Place To Run' is worth buying if you've got all the other albums from the aforementioned period, but I'd leave it until you've got them.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 October 2011
What can i really say about this album?. First saw UFO in 1979 as a 15 year old and they impressed my young psyche big style. Next album was this one and again as a young dude it hit the spot, obviously being brought up on their earlier Obsession and live Strangers albums, they were hard to follow, but it did the buisness for me. I digress though, get back to 2011 ya old rocker!!. Well i can only tell you this, listening to it again after a few years, well i cannot express in words how good an overall album this is. If your into, hard rockin, quality structured, well written songs, go no further. This is one absolutely brilliant album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 May 2013
new guitarist and produced by the fifth beatle!!!! this remaster is outstanding.the extras are good too.the sound is a lot more substantial.how ufo ended up with george martin at their disposal is a story i would love to hear.just buy it.play as loud you can.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 August 2013
ufo were one of the premier English heavy rock bands of the 1970s 1nd 1980s and this was one of their best albums.All the tracks are classics with no fillers at all and Phil Moggs voice was at its best. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)