Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
31
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 February 2005
I loved this album when it first came out (still have the old vinyl copy!), and it showed a 1st class rock band firing on all cylinders. Mostly written by long-time singer Phil Mogg and Guitarist Paul Chapman, TWTWTI features a barrage of great rock songs, driving riffs, and soaring solos that were (and still are) the UFO trade mark. There is melody to, as UFO eschewed the usual mindless grind that typified many of their contemporaries, in favour of a compelling mix of power and finesse to produce their best album of the Chapman era, and one of their best ever.
From the driving rock of Makin' Moves, through the light/dark melodic shades of Lonely Heart (I still remember the TOTP performance!); From the epic Long Gone to the ballad Profession of Violence, UFO were right back to their best, and firing on all cylinders. Chapman had laid the ghost of Schenker to rest and the keyboards (played by his erstwhile Lone Star colleague Jon Sloman, despite the credit given to Neil Carter on the sleeve) added the kind of texture always associated with this band.
It was too good to last though, and a year later the descent into (relative) mediocrity was underway. Buy this and remember the good times!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2009
this has to be the best album ufo have recorded, not a bad track on the album. in my opinion this is when ufo were at their peak, i had this on 33 rpm record and went to see them live on the tour that promoted this album, i am pleased to add this to my cd collection, brings back old memories. if you like heavy rock mixed with soft rock this is a must for every rockers cd collection, timeless and a classic. I never tire of hearing this album.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2003
OVERVIEW.
What can I say about an album that was voted rock album of the year (1981). Only this, listen to it, and you will see (hear) why. In my opinion this is U.F.O s best album, by a very long way. On it you will find great use of loud and quiet sequences, tempo changes and splendid, splendid guitar work. The guitar playing is unashamedly upfront and powerful, reminding me of the Scorpions at their very best. You can not fail to be impressed by this album if you like your rock on the heavy side.
TRACK BY TRACK.
Chains, Chains.
Amazing Intro, such power, such guitar work, a headbangers dream. The track also contains subtle use of pauses to build up the power of the music, or for changing tempo. The lyrics are good and there is a simple chorus. All in all, a truly awesome opening track.
Long Gone.
Gentle intro of acoustic guitar and bass guitar, leads into vocals.Second verse and chorus burst out at increased volume, with heavy electric guitar and drums. There follows a good section featuring lead guitar, supported by drums and bass.After this comes a well produced work leading to a reprise of the intro. Finally a string section is used to good effect in a piece which is first menacing and then poignant.
The Wild, The Willing And The Innocent.
Piano and subdued string section feature in the intro to this track. It builds up to the entry of the lead guitar, then on to the vocals. There is a great backbeat throughout the track. Listen out for an interesting background vocal harmony. Tempo changes are well used to re-introduce piano, vocals, or lead guitar.
It's Killing Me.
Electric guitar introduction with bass and drums fades in from nothing. The opening lyrics are almost spoken, until the conventionally sung chorus, which is accompanied by keyboard. There is a strong, slow rhythmn section throughout, with prominent bass guitar work.
Makin' Moves.
A gentle inroduction, gives way to a heavy guitar sequence and drum roll. Interesting lyrics, clearly sung, are folowed by a long electric guitar featured section which goes up and down the scales. More good headbanging stuff!
Lonely Heart.
The track begins with a lovely piano intro, which leads into vocals (good lyrics again) and a veritable explosion of instruments including saxaphone and drums. There is a great guitar lick in the central instrumental section, which is perhaps too short. After this, sax and piano section is punctuated by drum crash, leading into the next verse. The track concludes with piano and sax to fade.
Couldn't Get It Right.
Listen out for the great production work on the electric guitar intro, that is then followed by the rhythmn section and then by the vocals.This builds up towards a chorus of increased volume and tempo. The second verse and following chorus repeat this pattern, punctuated by an instrumental section. The final chorus is followed by a heavier electric guitar instrumental to finish.
Profession Of Violence.
A great rock ballad, from beginning to end. The beginning is an acoustic guitar with strings and piano, with gently sung, rather sombre lyrics. It is by far the slowest song on the album. Even the lead guitar, when it comes in is slow and almost mournful. The expression "My guitar gently weeps" might have been coined for this very piece. A fitting finale to a great album.
11 comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2010
UFO too often get tarnished with everything that hasn't got the wonderful German axeman on it being sub standard. With 'Tonka' Chapman back in the band (he was originally in for a spell around 1974)they released some excellent albums with only the fourth (Making Contact - still good but patchy)batting below the avarage.
Wild Willing is my personal favorite of the early 80's bunch without a bad song on it. It was the first to feature Neil Carter although I believe he only featured minimally in the recording with most of the keyboard parts being supplied by session men. Mogg's voice is in fine form as ever, melodic with the rock edge when required. From the rockers (Long Gone, Makin' Moves) to the singles (Lonely Heart, Couldn't Get It Right) he was then and still is one of the finest and most underrated voices in rock music. Andy Parker and Pete Way supply the solid backbone underneath Tonkas great guitar parts, and it is here where he shines on 'Profession Of Violence', a wonderful ode to the Kray brothers complete with a guitar solo to die for. Great stuff.
Complete with bonus live cuts and remastering this is an even better package than was originally released. If you want some quality hard and melodic rock you will nit be dissapointed.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2005
this one is great. bought it when I was 17 on vinyl. not sure why I got rid of it but know I have it on cd and in all honesty absolutly adore it. its quite heavy but what balance, theres all sorts, beautiful elements of subtle 'classical' music merged with heavy rock in perfect 80's heavy metal. Great lead guitar, great choruses and superb vocals. the production is superb as well. bought phenomenon, lights out and force it. none compare.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2016
I bought this CD based on reviews on Amazon. I hadn't previously heard any UFO without 'THE MAIN MAN' . I read reviews of the previous album, which portrayed a 'less than rocky style album' Ive played this album many times, I love the early UFO and for me the band lost its soul and hard rock drive when Michael left. The best I can say is that it's a nice album. The songs and lyrics are good, but the 'edge' has really gone. As I write this review, coincidently, I'm playing 'Force It' . Ive seen the band many times many years ago and the line up could never match the drive, force and rocking guitars provided by a man with many personal problems and probably a nightmare to work with ! There was a time in the past when the whole town was looking forward to the band playing and 'whispers' around the outside of the concert hall were that Michael had, yet again, done a runner. ! The early albums were terrific, but sadly, if reviews are to believed that this album eclipsed the previous one, I have no desire to ever hear the first. A great band in the seventies.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2009
the best ufo album released just prior to pete ways departure. mechanix (also a fantastic album) was the final nail in the coffin for bass player way due to the introduction of sax playing on certain tracks. dont let this put you off. wild and the willing is an out and out rock classic from start to finish and should be purchased with the mechanix album as they are both similar and of the same period.this album wont dissapoint.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2009
TWTWATI was UFO's first attempt at a self-produced album following the perceived "softer" album "No Place To Run" (a view I don't entirely agree with). According to Phil Mogg the band were given a free hand at Air studios and were looking for an earthier feel. They came up with this their seventh studio album proper (discounting the psychedelic efforts UFO1 & UFO2), probably more commercial and varied than any of the previous albums in my view.

As with all the recent crop of re-masters it's nicely done but not much different. Reasons to buy another copy then. Great little booklet and 3 extra live tracks previously unreleased from 1980/81. The first is "Long Gone" which chugs along a bit blandly with Carter on keys. Probably lacks a bit of guitar power. Next is "Lonely Heart" which has unbelievably bad backing vocals, followed by a decent version of "Makin' Moves". Whilst I like Paul Chapman's recorded work, particularly on this album, I still prefer the Schenker line-ups because of the structure, melody and perfectionism of Schenker's playing, particularly live. Chapman was certainly a different style to Schenker and much more Gung Ho live. Nothing to do with the intense party scene I'm sure!

Still in summary a well crafted 4 star plus album. Again this was expensive a while a go so get an extra copy now at this very reasonable price.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
This album certainly has its moments, but overall for me it's a band still trying too hard to replace the class that Schenker's playing brought to previous albums and including Americanisms in lyrics ('parking lot' etc) to garner Stateside appeal. A nice blend of hard rocking (if sometimes slightly unoriginal) tunes and as you'd expect high quality ballads, but not an essential purchase. The live bonus tracks are very rough - vocals are weak and the guitar playing is ordinary; Strangers in the night this is not. UFO could cut it live with Schenker but were struggling somewhat to gel as a unit with the new line up. That's fair enough, but as a purchaser...proceed with caution, this was a lineup who were very much a 'work in progress'.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2014
This is one of my fav UFO albums. It is, as you would probably expect, a rocker with melody. I'm not sure whether the original was more punchy and less fizzy or whether its my memory or gear that is at fault. You could leave the live recordings off because I don't feel they enhance the cd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)