Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
97
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 June 2017
A guilty pleasure of a movie
Rutger Hauer at his best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2017
Love this film...We're going to need bigger guns! Lol spot on very happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2017
Weird but quickly with some humour
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2017
I have been looking for this movie for many many years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2017
Fantastic movie...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a fantastic movie, great acting, good plot very English humour. While I admit it may not be Oscar material its well worth the watching, its a classic grizzled veteran cop with smart educated unwanted new partner. The serial killer that killed his partner is back and of course they are out to get him. The cast is good with a whole host of English talent on display. I think that this film is great, while it may have its tongue firmly in its cheek (it has that dark miserable Bladerunner feeling about it) as well as some beautifully crafted one liners. Sit back and enjoy. Unlike others I don't care about the lack of extras, I buy the DVD to see the movie not watch loads of tat relating to it, and as the film wasn't a huge success on release and its going back a fair way then there probably isn't any extra material available anyway. Buy it and enjoy it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2015
I’m going to say now that I enjoyed ‘Split Second.’ Partly because, as I alluded to in the title, it’s an underrated B-movie, but also because I saw it as a child and I am looking at it with a deep sense of nostalgia. It’s probably not as good as I say it is!

Back in 1992 pretty much all B-movies/monster-munching fun was set in America, so the sight of London flooded in 2008 (hey – it was a long time in the future when I first saw this!) was quite a novelty, let alone a beastie who runs around ripping people’s hearts out and leaving them for the police, or at least one particular police officer – Rutger Hauer. He got attacked by the killer a while back and, even since then, has been experiencing visions and is psychically-connected to it.

Now, the monster is in London and Rutger – while totally hooked on coffee, chocolate and pretty much anything else that’s bad for you (except alcohol – he quit that!) teams up with squeaky-clean copper called ‘Dick Durkin’ (*snigger*). Therefore you kind of have a ‘buddy cop’ movie with the end of the world at stake.

You may notice my slight titter of laughter at the character name ‘Dick Durkin.’ I don’t feel too immature for that reaction, as the film is kind of tongue-in-cheek and knows that it’s hardly on a par with Shakespeare. It’s a B-movie. Therefore, don’t expect much in the way of a budget. And, when I say ‘budget’ I basically mean the monster itself. You don’t really see it all the way through, so if that bothers you this might not be your cup of tea (or coffee in Rutger’s case). Plus the other downside is the script itself. It really does let the whole thing down. The atmosphere is great – dark and foreboding and the characters are fun, making the film good. It’s only some of the lines which sound as if they’ve been written by a work experience kid that let the whole thing down. That and the lack of visual sight of the monster, obviously.

If you’ve see Split Second before then you’ll probably be happy to give it another go. If you haven’t and you’re into B-movies, then make sure you’re in a forgiving mood and don’t expect too much in the way of special effects and you mind just find it an undiscovered little gem.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Not quite unmitigated junk, but not far off. What might happen if you mixed Lethal Weapon and Alien together and took away 90% of both budgets.
The scenario is pretty decent; a monster stalking a semi-submerged future London; a traumatised, trigger-happy cop partnered with a college-boy detective; a series of gory murders which might be supernatural...
But none of this hangs together as the plot progresses. For instance, the killer sends the cops an ice-packed half-eaten human heart. Later in the movie, it's obvious that the killer couldn't possibly have popped into a Post Office to send a parcel. Victims are mercilessly ripped apart - or not, if they happen to be the hero's girlfriend, in which case she gets barely touched, or conveniently kidnapped.
Plot holes everywhere, dodgy script, dreadful effects, a monster which owes everything to HR Giger (but apprantly they couldn't afford the moving jaw).
Best watched very late at night, after a long drinking session.
3/10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2015
I like the film, but this is an appalling Blu-ray transfer! I have DVD's that are, not just better quality but MUCH better quality, than this! Really disappointed, it looks as though no effort has been made at all to clean up this film. A very poor Blu-ray. Maybe wait until a better version comes out or buy it on DVD, at least you'll save some money that way! Also the disc comes with absolutely no special features whatsoever.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)