Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
237
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£41.28+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 August 2015
As I no longer use television, and I'm sick of what passes for decent programming these days, I've been watching box sets of several great series over the last year or so. It was the sad news of George Cole's passing which made me look for this as I was in primary school when the best of it was shown (the Waterman years). Having just watched the first two episodes it's lost nothing in 36 years, absolutely brilliant. Waterman and Cole worked well together, it would be hard to imagine any other pairing playing these roles and it lasting as long as it did. Apart from the obvious changes with cars etc, there's nothing in the dialogue which makes it out of date (okay, some racial references they wouldn't be allowed to use today) and the humour is as fresh now as it was then. They just don't make great programmes like this anymore.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2016
Fans of the hit Series Minder would love this Complete Collection telling the adventures of Arthur Daley with his MINDERS Terry McCann and Ray Daley. Through the whole of this collection we meet an array of great characters including Dave (Barman at the Winchester Club) Des (the dodgy mechanic), Inspector Chisolm (who is out to get Arthur"banged Up" at any cost) the list goes on and on.
The series is an" ALL TIME GREAT ".
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2015
Don't dismiss the last 3 series without Denis Waterman. You'll be missing out on some excellent drama / comedy. I refused to watch the new minder when first transmitted on 'principle' as I don't like change to familiar favourites & didn't have the patience when I bought this set 4 yrs ago.

HOWEVER.... recently I gave them another try & yes perhaps it did take a few episodes for the team to hit their new stride & they have a different tone, (less 'punch ups' & 'birds'), but most are excellent & well worth watching. Also seeing the 'grot' of London & the old pubs & clubs brings back many memories of enjoyable if misspent younger days.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2015
I was reminded of Minder with the passing of it's star, George Cole and thought I'll buy the set as there's so much disappointment on the telly these days. I've nearly watched the entire first series. Its excellent!!! I won't review it because so many have summed it far better than I could. In fact the reviews cemented my sale. If you haven't seen Minder for a while or have a vague memory of it and you want something funny, clever and entertaining... Just buy the complete set you won't be disappointed!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2015
I found myself somewhat 'biting the bullet' with this purchase because at almost £40 for 'a' DVD it's not (for me) an everyday thing but of course it's actually 10 series PLUS 3 specials including the difficult to find 'Minder on the Orient Express'. That's 33 discs in total of this wonderfully written, acted & produced masterpiece. So perhaps at almost £40 it's a massive bargain rather than a huge extravagence.
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2011
A real down-to-earth drama-comedy illustrating life on the mean streets where the 'proles' roam free. I really like the counterposition of the less-than-efficient dishonesty of one character and the forthrightness of his previously convicted minder that shows that 'proles' come in 2 flavours even if they appear to be the inverse.

What I really like about this series is that there doesn't seem to be any exaggerated effort made to be 'entertaining' like one might see in, say, 'Friends'. That makes this series, and especially the 'Terry years', all the more entertaining as it relies on interesting plots, down-to-earth conversations, arguments, perspectives, strategies, and simple humour.

Just received this collection last week. And i'm loving it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2015
I bought this series for my wife as it was one of her favourite past tv programmes and she hasn't been disappointed it's a brilliant series the only complaint is the sound, whoever made the transfers should have paid a bit more attention to the sound levels as some episodes are so low in volume it seems they couldn't possibly have listened to them during the transfer process
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2011
This is a very funny series that over a number of years became very popular with viewers of all ages and was recently repeated on ITV4 . Arthur Daley ( George Cole ) tries to make a fast buck with whatever nice little earner comes his way but usually comes unstuck and has to get his friend and employee Terry McCann ( Dennis Waterman ) to get him out of any sticky situation he falls into . Throughout the ten series that were made , and several specials as well , the cast of who's who runs thick and fast and all the episodes are very well made . Arthur is always trying to stay one step ahead of the law and any rivals who try to muscle in on his nice little earner . Simply hilarious and one of the best series ever made .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2012
I hadn't realised there were so many Minders. But when you want to simply sit and relax and put your feet up and BE ENTERTAINED, then this will be something worth turning to after you've scanned through the TV listings and dismissed the acres of dross therein.(yet again)

The stories are well put togther, the characters are amusing and the dialogue can be very pithy. We are glad we got this excellent value boxed set.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2017
Arguably not the best of Minder but watchable. Some of the storylines are a bit thin, particularly Caught in the Act... a fairly non descript effort with very little going for it, including the ending.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)