Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
180
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 July 2008
Take one part Patsy Cline, one part Ella Fitzgerald, add a dollop of Suzy Quatro, back with a really rock'n'roll beat and add a no-nonsense attitude...

I've just returned from the cornbury music festival where Imelda and her band did two sets. Having *never* heard of her previously, i was initially a reluctant listener, but by the end of the first number i was a fan. By the end of the second i was hooked.

while its a studio recorded (i.e. not a live) album, this cd manages to successfully capture much of her live act's spark.

Its very difficult to categorise her sound but if you like a broad range of music that includes blues through to lively rock'n'roll, (or would just like to try something different from bland churned out pop) you should find a great deal to enjoy here.

Give it a try and it won't be long before her voodoo's working on you too.
22 Comments| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2009
Take one part Patsy Cline, one part Ella Fitzgerald, add a dollop of Suzy Quatro, back with a really rock'n'roll beat and add a no-nonsense attitude (just check out 'Smokers song')...
I've just returned from the cornbury music festival where Imelda and her band did two sets. Having *never* heard of her previously, i was initially a reluctant listener, but by the end of the first number i was a fan. By the end of the second i was hooked.

While its a studio recorded (i.e. not a live) album, this cd manages to successfully capture much of her live act's spark.

Its very difficult to categorise her sound but if you like a broad range of music that includes blues through to lively rock'n'roll, (or would just like to try something different from bland churned out pop) you should find a great deal to enjoy here.

Give it a try and it won't be long before her voodoo's working on you too.

Tigger/Bandana Guy
22 Comments| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2008
Ordered this CD having seen Imelda May on Jules Holland and not disappointed. The best CD I have bought for years, just what is needed for the shortening days. Varied styles giving a mixture of jazz, blues, swing, etc. Obviously a very talented young lady. No matter what your preference in music buy this CD and you will glad you did. Great to hear proper music played by talented musicians.
22 Comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2008
I first saw Imelda May with the wonderful Mike Sanchez band,she's got a fabulous voice.She was performing Mike classic roots rock'n'roll.She was also part of the really great Blue Harlem (just check their album out,Talk To Me,its superb). Then she went solo,with a crack band and what's more performing many of her own material.She appeared at the Cornbury Festival and down a storm,she is such a top rate live artist .So now this album,theres not many female singers quite as goods as this,original,classy and the whole album is beautifully put together mainly using her live band so it all flows along more like a live show in the studio.This really does deserve to be heard and I've no doubt its selling well at live shows.Please those doing radio shows get playing this album because its by a talent well worth catching up on.I just love her version of Lovin Spoonfuls'Wild About My Lovin',just about the best I've ever heard it done.The rest is a mixture of originals that sound like classic roots music,rock n roll,ballads and a whole bit more.This lady is going to be a major star so catch up on her now and tell your friends as well,Dublins never done better than give us Imelda May.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2009
I have this album living in my CD player, this is one album that hits you in the gut from the get go, completely different from the rest of the crowd Imelda May's music just gets right down to the nitty gritty from ballsy numbers "Johnny Got A Boom-Boom/Love Tattoo to the more softer "Meet You At The Moon" and the truely haunting "Knock 123" all delivered with tight feel from a band who has paid their dues

You really need to listen to this album!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2010
the studio album is very good but the live album is worth getting as well - she does a great live show. And writes some of the songs and has a lovely Irish accent floating above a very good band so well done Imelda
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2008
After many years working the rockabilly and swing circuits, the lovely Imelda seems really ready to find stardom with this brilliant CD. Great arrangements - real instruments, played by humans not computers, great self-penned songs, and the always glorious voice of the lady herself.
You could not ask for more. If you've ever seen her at the 100 Club, Dover Street Wine Bar, or any of the myriad places she's played, then you owe it to yourself to own this album! And I love the way the Dublin accent peeks through in some of the songs...
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2009
Having seen and been knocked out by Imelda May live in Brecon on 27th September 2009, I wanted to get all her recordings. "Love Tattoo" is mainly her own compositions, which are brilliant. Not only does she have a fabulous husky, sexy voice and a rock solid backing band, but she covers a wide range of styles through from blues and gospel to funk, rock-a-billy and punk. All the tracks are great, but "Falling in love with you again" is particularly haunting and memorable, and the title track is hard, driving rock. She has a refreshingly different image too, thankfully avoiding the barbie-doll look that is currently fashionable!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2010
This is just one of the best albums EVER! I downloaded it after hearing 'Big Bad Handsome Man' on the radio, and I have to say that the whole album is excellent. Every song is full of vitality and her voice is smooth and silky but versatile. I had the album playing when I went walking one day, and the rhythms are just right for striking and maintaining a vigorous walking pace, although - be warned- the temptation to swing your hips as you go is almost overwhelming!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2009
I agree with all of the positive reviews of this album. There is nothing I can say about the excellent Imelda May (aka Imelda Clabby) that has not already been said in other reviews here - however I don't think anyone has paid tribute here to another person on this album without whom it simply would not be the same...the Double Bass playing of Al Gare (aka 'Slap Happy') is fantastic. The bass thumps and thuds through out the whole album in a wonderfully positive way (just listen to him on 'Johnny Got A Boom Boom' and try to NOT tap your feet!). A great taster for honest Rock'n'Roll/Jazz Bass. Nuff said.
A great album, a great singer ... and an excellent Bass player.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.99
£0.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)