Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 October 2015
This album was or is brocks least favourite of all the HAWKWIND albums,why im not sure but it is definitely a tad mellower than most of theyre stuff. That said one track that stands out is reefer madness,all based around the anti marijuana propaganda floating about in thirties and forties,smoke this devils weed and you will throw yerself out a window...eh?i thought that was LSD? Oh well anyway its a tongue in cheek song all about the weed and its effects.......i looked at my hand ,it had 11 fingers and 1 fell off and stole my stash....Excellent and very clever lyrics from the late bob calvert throughout this album but i admit its not anywhere near my favs from HAWKWIND who are by far my favourite band period! That said it still has a few surprises in it that differ from most HAWKWIND albums and anyone who loves calvert will love this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2017
One of Hawkwind's worst albums from the 70's. Basically I only bought it for one track: Chronoglide Skyway. I saw them live on the tour for this album ( My first ever concert ). Thankfully they played lots of their older material.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2017
Amazing album this faultless the equal of floyd at their zenith
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2015
Great cd as ever if you love the band buy this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2009
I would like to echo Mr. Blackwell's review of this album. I've always loved these Charisma-period Hawkwind / Hawklords albums. In addition though, I would also like to praise the remastering work on this. This album always sounded good (the original vinyl sounds great). This remastering job is superb! A really full, dynamic and detailed sound. No 'loudness wars' here.

Great packaging too (I would very much like a Japanese 'mini LP CD' format version but I can't see that happening soon...!)

A brilliant album properly done for the digital age. About time too!
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2009
The 1976 release of `Astounding Sounds' saw Hawkwind embark on an eclectic journey of musical discovery, for the first time going beyond the single-minded focus on swirling chugga chugga space rock that was perfected on the previous year's release of `Warrior On the Edge of Time'. This was the start of their `Charisma period', where elements of punk, new wave, funk and even jazz were woven into the Hawkwind sound. The eccentric rock poet Robert Calvert helped to give the band a whole new direction with his original lyrical style and quirky song-writing contributions. Highlights on this album include `Steppenwolf' and `Reefer Madness', though my personal favourite is the atmospheric Turner-penned number `Kadu Flyer'.

Although Hawkwind's reputation largely rests on the back of their space-rock glory days of the early to mid-70s, this new phase of the band also produced a handful of albums that, though a departure from the signature Hawkwind sound, deserve a special place in the affection of both Hawkwind fans and the wider rock community. The other late 70s Charisma albums are `Quark, Strangeness and Charm', '25 Years On' and `PXR5', which are all being re-released this year.

More than any other band I can think of, Hawkwind have been plagued over the years by a plethora of often expensive, substandard and illegal releases of both live performances and studio albums. So the new Esoteric/Atomhenge label is a boon to rock fans, allowing definitive CD releases of most of the band's post-EMI catalogue. Falling into the gap between the EMI albums and those now in the Atomhenge fold is the aforementioned `Warrior', the music rights to which I believe are owned by the individual members of the band that played on it. So there'll have to be a lot of grown-up cooperating to bring a worthy release of this gem to the world. We're waiting! In the meantime we have much to enjoy with the simultaneous release of `Astounding Sounds' and '25 Years', and the rest of the catalogue coming on a rolling release schedule throughout 2009 and beyond.
44 Comments| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2016
This album doesn't come up to the quality of music, lyrics or recording quality of the classics "Quark, strangeness and Charm", or "PXR5". It has some good moments such as when it builds to a short climax with the saxophone in "Steppenwolf" and the track "Kadu Flyer" stands out. Apart from that it is average.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2016
Old classic not one of their best but worth a listen
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2013
I have a large portion of Hawkwind's output in my collection but somehow this LP passed me by.
Quite obviously a band in transition both musically & personel wise, sounding more like what would follow than what had gone before
I've listened to it twice through & at the moment think it's "OK"
But a lot of Hawkwind LPs are growers so I may change my thoughts & review later
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 13 October 2010
Hawkwind : here's the typical chapter and verse from music journos and some fans - 'Hawkwind's seminal period is the "Space Ritual Alive" era. After Lemmy leaves it gets a bit proggy and not so good,'.

OK, consensus out of the way. So since when has the consensus meant anything to true rock and roll fans? Isn't rock about rebellion, subjectivity, individual truth and finding your own way? Well, it is to me, so, consequently, I've always loved this album, which was the first Hawkwind I bought on disc after the introductory compilation 'Masters of the Universe'. And don't get me wrong, as I love all the band's 1970s output as every bit of it is great.

After the masterpiece that was 'Warrior on the Edge of Time' (sorry, that's my fave Hawks album, with its perfect balance of instruments, great mix, lack of sludge and intense sonic colours) and Lemmy departs, we get something new. For the first time Calvert is in the dominant lead vocalist seat throughout a Hawks album, so we're guaranteed superb lyrics, fascinating vocal delivery, intelligent songwriting to rival the likes of Bowie and early Roxy Music (not that it wasn't profound at times before that). The sci-fi trappings of the band are given more authenticity by the covers' parody of "Astounding" (THE key SF magazine of the pulp era), then are beautifully skewed into Euro-Glam territory by the inclusion if the Weimar Eagle and the amazing "Steppenwolf", based, of course, on the brilliant misanthropic novel by Herman Hesse. So just as Bowie is discovering all things Kraftwerk and Neu! (who Dave Brock liked by the way), Hawkwind get in on the Berlin Decadence act. And how well it fits them. A perfect mesh of prog, psychedelia and Eurocentric modernism wrapped in cod nostalgia - for me, this makes mid-seventies Hawkwind more like classic early Roxy than any other band, especially when you compare the mix of instruments.

The musicians : Brock takes a bit of a back seat (maybe why he never seems keen on the album, but he's there singing in the background, that fantastic keening folksy voice always sounding ideally archiac and somehow fitting in these hypermodern settings), Calvert is in full flight, Turner is making a lovely chaotic contribution on the wind instruments, not to mention a lovely vocal on the sublime 'Kadu Flyer', whose lyrical imagery about flight - kites, pterodactyls and so on - simply says to me "Hawkwind are about flying, so share their wings.'. It's al very Himalayn and mystical, but great fun. Paul Rudolph (former Pink Fairy and Eno collaborator) is always great to listen to, as he's a great player (check out his contribution to 'Here He Comes' from Eno's " Before and After Science" album), but he isn't Lemmy, no. But who is? Lemmy is, like all the truly great rock bassists (a very small elite club) totally unique - like J.J. Burnel, Mick Karn, Barry Admanson and Chris Hillman. Rudolph is another guitarist (like Lemmy and Burnel) playing bass here for convenience' sake. Then we have Simon House, whose taste, skill, tone colours and elan are just magical - Hawkwind only became truly special when House came on board to my mind and he plays on all their best records - his classical training always made such a brilliant counterpoint to their grungier charms, rather like John Cale did for The Velvet Underground. His synths on this album are almost as colourful as those on the magnificent "Warrior" album. Fans need to check out his contribution to Bowie's amazing 'Stage' live album, which anyone who likes the Charisma era Hawks should try. Finally, we get the Drum Empire : King and Powell. Some nice stuff, here, lads, well done.

The songs: 'Reefer Madness' is great fun of course, a colourful tongue-in-cheek warning about the dangers of dope (referencing the unintentionally hilarious health warning/exploitation film of the same name). 'Steppenwolf' is for me the moment of unassailable genius on the record, with its Coltrane-esque refrains after each chorus, gorgeously simple guitar riff, brooding violin section and words that are - to this published writer - confirmation of Calvert's poetic mastery. Chosen like the finest precious stones and set in sterling platinum, this is seriously good writing. Hesse himself would have loved the song, I'm sure. Sheer literary rock bliss for those who appreciate lyricists of the calibre of Reed/Morrison/Bowie/Ferry. Proper writing!

'Kerb Crawler' is also massively underrated, with its images of 'boot girl' pickups (in 20s Berlin, casual prostitutes advertised their sexual specialities based on the colour of their boots- avoid any ladies with green high heels is the message if you want to stay healthy) and the narrator who will 'burn you down the autobahn' in this superb meshing of futuristic automobile fetishism and old fashioned lady-of-the-night-cruising. Isherwood via Metropolis via Soul Revues, with some brilliant female backing vocals a la The Sirens and Calvert's stunning middle eight lyrics, whose imagery reflects the influence of New Wave science fiction writers such as Samuel R Delany and Roger Zelazny, while not sounding unalike the early Ultravox! of John Foxx (I'm thinking the first album) in its urban imagery and spindly edgeiness, hitning at the cyberpunk future of William Gibson.

Not only all this, but there's the cracking instrumentals - the near-ECM jazziness of 'City of Lagoons', nicely laid back and spacious, the mutant funk of 'The Aubergine That Ate Rangoon' (very trippy, man) and the transcendental sunny vibe of 'Chronoglide Skyway', which is ideal chill-out room material.

All in all, if you like clever, colourful seventies rock without stodge and lots of style, this album is for you. Ideal for fans of psychedelia and True Glam and even Prog. Excellent!
55 Comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)