Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£3.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 June 2009
I was thrilled when I heard about "Confessions of a Shopaholic" will become a movie. Exactly because I am a big fan of the entire book series.

And than the movie came. But it disappointed me somehow. The cast was excellent, Becky being the one I imagined reading the books, Luke the same. But there the resemblence stopped. Ok, you'll accuse me of being one of those single-minded persons who sees only one side of the medal. But...sorry, I can not! Becky is English, more English than Bridget Jones herself and to transform her in an American... Suze was supposed to meet Tarquin "on the way" and he was a plain, borring, rich, horrible (in Becky's opinion) dressed, Scottish guy, who did not even interest Suze, in the begining. And Becky...Becky was supposed to work for a television. Luke had Brandon communications from the start, he did not work for anyone. And so on....

This is always the mistake the writters do. They take a funny book (I would not use the adjective "great" because it isn't the case) and transform it in something that, they believe, would be more appealling for the larger public. For me, Becky Bloomwood died in the moment she became American.

On the other hand, it was kind of funny, well acted and I have to admit that Isla Fisher did a great job. But it lacked something, a spark, a little bit more chemistry between the main characters. Maybe Alicia Billington should have been more of a villain than a ... clown who tried so hard to be mean. But, in the end, it is a funny movie for a Sunday rainy afternoon spend with your girl-friends and a warning for what you may become if you are addicted to shopping (I've started to believe I am one...).
33 comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2009
I liked the book (even though it is a little fluffy at times) enormously, as indeed I have enjoyed the rest of the series by Sophie Kinsella.

However, this is a pathetic attempt to make the main characters Americans (with the exception of Luke) living in New York (so how are they going to make Shopaholic Abroad?) using actresses who couldn't even act their way out of a (hand)bag.

Even Kristin Scott Thomas, a wonderful actress, looks pained at times, and fails to save this film from the rubbish dump of my collection of films.
22 comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2013
I loved the books eries so much and I thought in the first and second books, Becky's character was hilarious. However, the film has ruined that completely.
1) It is set in America, for some reason unknown, yet Luke Brandon is English. Why? There seems to be no sense in this decision, since the second book Shopaholic Abroad is about her move from England to New York. They could have got two seperate films out of it rather then merge them into one crazy one.
2) In the book, Becky is not so obsessed by clothes as in the film. She tries so hard to budget and make more money, but Becky in the film just seems to not even try and do anything to help her situation.
3) Derek Smeath is turned from a kindly father-type figure to a horrible debt-collector with no sense of remorse. Why? There was no need for this transformation.
4) Becky's parents look way too young, since she is supposed to be about 26 in the film, and her parents don't look much older.
5) Important characters in the book sre missing from the film. Why? They were good and you cared about them when you read it.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2009
Being a massive fan of Sophie Kinsella's Shopaholic books, I was really looking forward to this film, but unfortunately it was a big let down for me. In fact, I actually fell asleep halfway through and my other half left the room to do something else. I think Isla Fisher makes a good Becky, but there were only a few scenes that were true to the books. And why set this in America when it is truly a British story? There are very many excellent British actresses and actors that could have played the parts just as well (if not better in some cases) as the American cast. There were no real laugh out loud moments which was very disappointing. I'd recommend reading the books, they are fantastic and very funny.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2009
This was such a disappointment that I felt I had to warn others not to see it! I love the Shopaholic series and whilst Becky in the books is irresponsible and flighty, she genuinely seems to have an addiction, a serious problem which affects her family, friends and job. There is a level of desperation in how she deals with her situation and the reader fels sorry for her predicament.

What is wrong with the film? Too many things to describe all but I will have a stab:

Setting: As other reviewers have mentioned, the book is English. Becky shops at Boots and goes home to Little Oxshott to see her supportive and well meaning parents. There is a lot of humour between the older characters particularly her mum and Janice from next door. Janice and Martin - important characters for the arc of the first book and present throughout the series - are not in this film at all. The actors who play Becky's parents in the film are awful (probably too young to be Becky's parents) and they live in New Jersey. Why? If a film is transplanted elsewhere, the reason should be something other than because-Americans-don't-understand-how-the-English-speak. The drabness of the scenery is a shame and a lot of the humour is removed from the start. Also an excuse to cue Americanised sentiment along the lines of "If the American economy is in millions of dollars of debt, it isn't that bad.." or some vomit-inducing nonsense. Especially when they COULD have used this as a cautionary tale linked to the credit crunch.

Story - the film merges the plot of the two books - so instead of a well rounded plot, there is a mishmash of ideas thrown together. It's amazing that so many bad plot devices got in here. Why did they make Derek Smeath an evil one dimensional debt collector? He was a kindly but firm bank account manager just trying to get her to discuss her finances and reduce her overdraft. Why make Becky repay him in small change? This makes Becky look petty and not particularly likeable. The horrendous shopping anonymous made me shudder, it was so cliched and pointless. As did Kristin Scott Thomas (normally very good) Cruella de Ville style character with her awful french accent (and she lives in France, shame on her).

Suze - one of the many characters whose role and personality was lobotomised for the film. In the book Suze is a wealthy lovable friend who is firm with Becky but indulgent. In the film she is miserable, screechy pseudo friend who marries Tarkie (her cousin or not - never explained here) who makes up excuses along with Becky to avoid the evil debt collector - as I write this, I can't believe how ridiculous it sounds. Overacted by the charmless Ritter, it's even worse.

Luke - ok, so he's not the most fleshed out of the characters, but at least he has his own mind, business and sense of humour when he meets Becky. The cardboard cut out - why English when no one else is?? - which Becky falls in love (?) with seems so bland, it's surprising she notices him.

Are there any good points? If the plot, script and direction had been better, I think Isla Fisher would have made a good Becky - she is kooky enough to pull it off. The actress who played Alicia managed to encapsulate her perfectly - but as she is supposed to be a one dimensional character, is this an achievement?

If you liked the books at all, please steer clear. Such a good idea truly wasted. I really hope they redo this properly and shoot the person who allowed this travesty to be greenlit.
55 comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2012
I have just discovered the Sophie Kinsella books and read them all very quickly...........they are hilarious!
This film is rubbish and so far removed from the actually contents of the books. I hated it and I am surprised that the author allowed such blatant mis interpretation of her novel.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2010
If you are a fan of Sophie Kinsella's Shopaholic books then you must see the DVD.Isla Fisher plays the part of Becky Bloomfield to perfection with her happy carefree shopping ways.If it gleams,glistens or is just there in front of her she must have it - including a very expensive emerald green scarf that would pay for the entire wardrobe of most girls.Go for it and shopping will never be the same again.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2009
I have to agree with the 1 star reviewers here. This film is not great. Even if you havent read the books, it's not great. I'm actually suprised Sophie Kinsella was happy with this film. I've read all the Shopaholic books, and while i admit i wasnt a huge fan of the first book, it's still miles better than this film portrays. Why is Becky American? I cant picture Becky as redheaded Isla Fisher. I cant picture Luke like he is in the film either. She is living in New York already. So the second book where she goes there for the first time and takes in all the wonders, i guess that wont be happening. Nobody in this film feels right. None of the characters go with what i imagined them like. Most of the stuff in the film i cant even remember happening in the book.

Sophie Kinsella, if you had cared about your books, you wouldnt of let the Hollywood bigwigs swoop in and ruin it all!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2009
I was really looking forward to this film after reading and loving the Shopaholic books. Boy, was I disappointed.
They combined the first and second book into one film which didn't do justice for the books at all.
They set the whole film in America when the first book is set in England and the second book is set in America. I don't see why they couldn't have had Rebecca in England for a short duration of the film. Not faithful to the story at all. The acting from Rebecca's best friend was over done and incredibly irritating which only made the film more difficult to watch. It's not remotely as funny as the books. They really messed up a great opportunity to cash in on a funny series that would have translated well for the 'chick flick' genre. I would never recommend this film to my friends, not even the ones who enjoy cheesy rom-coms.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2012
Tis quite sad when you type "Confessions of an..." and this movie appears in the search engine in the number 1 slot. Iwas originally looking for the classic book Confessions of an English opium Eater.

Anyhoo, I had the misfortune of watching this rubbish movie in a friends house recently. It is 90 minutes of cliche after cliche of dumb, obvious sterotypes.....So if you take "Sex and the City" and remove the sex, what are you left with? (Besides "The City, " I mean. )

You get "Confessions of a Shopaholic,". It is a movie about a giggly, Manhattan girl, who has a fondness for compulsive shopping.

Bright and shiny and bubbly, just like Isla Fisher's main character, it adopts a nice enough tone -- in a naive kind of way -- but beneath it all, this is a film that couldn't buy a positive female character if there were a barrel full on clearance sale at 'TK Max'.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)