Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 March 2013
This is a unique and gripping account of the impact of the Vietnam war on ordinary people. The relentless terror and oppression brought to bear on these people is unimaginable and their ability to adapt, survive and even thrive is astounding. Their courage makes the reader feel truly humble especially in the face of the account of the girl who features in the war's most famous photograph.

The politics, though complicated, is made very accessible to the reader and gives a new and terrifying perspective on world unrest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2001
A mesmerising account of how the American War has affected and indeed shaped the life of Kim Phuc. I was moved to tears on various occassions throughout the book and found myself crying for Kim and all of the other innocent victims of the war, especially the children. Kim is truly an amazing woman who has lived an amazing life. I admire her strength and resilience completely and I hope I can achieve atleast half of what she has done.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
I read this book cover to cover in just one weekend. I couldn't put it down even though it had me in tears on more than one occasion. Very well written and easy to to read. Loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2013
A story of a people and a persons fight against the odds. If you've seen the photo you'll want to know the full story, if you haven't seen the photo make sure you do.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2015
One of the very best books I have read. The words created vivid images of the suffering during the war and under communist rule. Recommended for all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2014
I really liked this book, I found it very moving even to the point of tears so had to put it down, What a courageous person. well worth reading
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2016
I loved reading it, if 'loved' is the word. Such a powerful and insightful book, well written and quite an easy read considering its contents.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2015
I'm part way through this book. It's a compelling read. It illustrates the appalling consequences of war upon innocent civilians.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
An amazing journey to find and expose who she is and why in the picture - and helps expose the horrors of the war
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2013
Worth reading to understand a bit more about what really happened in Vietnam during the war period and after it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.