Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
14
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
2
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 May 2017
Cadillac on the cover, what not to like
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2017
theory of a deadman at there all time worst.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2006
This is a great album, don't get me wrong but it has been EDITED. In some songs, curse words have been taken out. Its not a big problem, but it is anoying when you pay for something and don't expect it. I'm returning my copy and looking else were for one thats not been edited. just a friendly warning, still a great album
33 Comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 March 2006
This is the second album from Theory of a Deadman, a Canadian rock band with a large following that includes video game and wrestling fans as well as rock music lovers everywhere. Their popularity has led to two nominations for Juno Awards in April 2006, for "Group of the Year" and "Rock Album of the Year".
There are several buzz-worthy tracks on this album, my favorite being "Santa Monica", which is the track chosen for the Juno Awards 2006 CD. Others are first single "No Surprise"; "Hello Lonely (Walk Away From This)"; "Better Off" and "Say Goodbye". The other tracks are mostly your standard rock fare with lots of guitars and drums, but good listening of you're in the mood to rock.
Amanda Richards
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2005
Theory Of A Deadman are just one of those bands. They're great, but you just know that they aren't going to megastars. And, in my opinion, good! Why? Because this band started of to a Southern rock style, almost grungy, and proved their worth with it in their first album, 'Theory Of A Deadman'. And, when most bamds change to fan demand, these guys have to stook to their guns, and have continued to produce these sonically sounded raw rock songs. But, to the album;
'Hating Hollywood' is a classic opener, and demonstrates what this band is about.Just pure, power Southern rock. 'No Way Out', 'Quiver' and 'Better Off' are more of the same, each one sounding similar when you listen to it first time through, but the more you hear it, the more you hear differnce. I know, its weird. 'Hello Lonely' and 'Santa Monica' are the ballad style songs, but both prove this band can be powerful and melodic at the same time. 'Hell Just Ain't The Same' and 'Me And My Girl' just sound like they should come from Outback America, which is the style this band trys to put across, and does so well in these two songs, although they do demonstrate how far Theory can push their boundaries. 'Save The Best For Last' is their best raw rock song on the album, with chruning guitars, rock solid drums and powerful vacls. Great. 'In The Middle' and 'No Surprise' are songs, that are although different, will have you singing and humming all the time, and their catchiness is unrivalled.
So, a good album? Definatly!! This album is varied enough to keep you interested, but has that core feeling to all its songs. Its a powerful, soaring musical masterpiece, and pushes the band to near perection. Buy It!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2009
Anyone who has read my review of Nickelback's "Dark Horse" album will be aware that I regard TOAD and Nickelback as being very similar.
The only real difference being that no-one has heard of TOAD, shame really because they are at least on a par with Nickelback, maybe even better.
"Gasoline" is a very strong batch of Hard Rock, from the opening rocker "Hating Hollywood" to the acoustic ballad of Santa Monica, TOAD cover all the usual rock traits very well.
It's quite a straight forward listen, nothing to really tackle the musical brain in you but its a record that rocks, plain and simple.
The real standout track for me however is the beautiful power ballad "Since You've Been Gone," a very moving and emotional track.
Perhaps best not to listen to this if you've just broken up with someone, it's very likely to make you cry.
Give "Gasoline" a listen, for just 45 minutes of your time, it'll be time well spent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2011
I love this band- and although I understand the comparisons between them and Nickelback (for my money at least) these guys are FAR better! Songs like 'Santa Monica' and 'Say Goodbye' deliver the kind of song writing and maturity that Nickelback just cant cant quite carry off.
Dont get me wrong, I still like Nickelback, - I just wish people would pay more attention to these guys too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2005
I wanted to listen to something new so I bought TOADM and I have to agree this is probably one of the best albums in my collection. They have a similar sound to Nickelback but they vary the songs enough that the sound doesn't become repetitive and you can listen to the album over and over. Some solid rock with well written ballads. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2005
Wow. from heavy classic rock solos to the subtle smooth 'Santa Monica', this has got to be one of the best albums i own.
I always feel TOADM are underrated, but this album proves they can certainly rock with the best of them.
Buy this album. you won't regret it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2013
I love Theory of a Dead Man they are one of my favourite bands so I am always going to love any album they release.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)