Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tokio Myers Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 16 March 2011
Didn't have wi fi for weeks becaues of this. Every time I installed it it froze my computer. I called the customer service team, which was an 0845 number, so I decided to use Skype. whilst talking to the service team they asked me to install the program. I told them it woudl freeze the computer and I was talking on Skype. I asked if they would take my mobile number in case we lost contact. They said no.

So guess what happened? After a long, boring call, much of it on hold, the stupid program froze my computer right in the middle of the conversation. i hung up and htat was it then. I plugged my ethernet cord in and used that for awhile before taking my computer to a repair shop. They also tried to install this notebook card but it froze for them too. They then replaced it, with another Belkin, much to my chagrin.

Have noticed that it is not as good as my previous wireless, drops out sometime although this could be the provider, but often it doesn't start up when the computer first starts up and I have to manually connect it from the Belkin icon.

Would not recommend it. and the 0845 customer service number is a real turn off.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2011
These cards are not the latest tech, but they do exactly what they are supposed to. Didnt like the fact that it sticks out of the machine quite a lot, but this card scores on functionality and price. Bought this for an old Panasonic Touchbook, so didnt want to throw a load of money at it. Connected to my modern Netgear router with ease. For the price it cant be faulted.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
Was a bit doubtful given some of the reviews but I managed to install this no problem on a dual boot laptop with XP sp3 and Windows 7 both 32bit. For XP plug it in and start up laptop with driver CD in, new device is found next, next, done. On Windows 7 the light just flashes, I had to go into the "Installation Files" folder on the CD and run the setup in there and that got it working.
Picks up a full signal and connects fine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2012
I've recently upgraded a laptop for a friend from WinXP to Linux. Unfortunately as the lappy is a good few years old the wifi element of the laptop has gone the way of the Dodo. Well I knew that computer could (and would) accept a Cat5 cable, so I purchased this PCMCIA card in which to break the bond between laptop and cable. Guess what it worked straight out of the box and running with Ubuntu 12.10 not a problem.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
My old Belkin adapter snapped when it was trodden on and I had no hesitation in replacing it like for like.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2011
Fairly easy to install, though to begin with the laptop I installed it on recognised it but Windows didn't. Simple to fix by plugging it in again while in windows, at which point it recognised it straight away. So far no problems with signal strength. As my title says it's a good product. One star off because I don't like the software that comes with it. But that is purely personal preference.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2011
Purchased this adapter because I was having trouble getting my old 'Prism' adapter to work with Linux. This model was immediately detected and with the simple downloading of the driver worked straight away.
Recommended for Linux 'newbies' like myself who have previously failed to get 'on-line' wirelessly with Linux.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2015
Good card, helped restore life to a dying PC for at least another year (PC broke not the card) all my ports had died so this was the only option, it worked well.
Did seem to occasionally drop signal, although that could have been the PC's fault or my dodgy WiFi's. Works well on Windows XP and Linux Mint.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2011
wanted to make my pc wireless to enable it to be moved from router, did some research and as I had a pcmia slot in the pc that was available I ordered this belkin adaptor. It was delivered and installed and works very well. A good cheap way of making a pc wireless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2010
Hi

thank you for sending me the PCI Wireless adaptor.
I had to download a fix in order to use of wep as my wireless broadband is on WAP, but in the end changed my sky account password to use WEP and now all works ok.

thank you

mark
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)