Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 February 2010
I love reading wrestling books,even though alot of the auto's are written with ghost writers i still enjoy them. This book was written by superfans so it isnt linked to either wwe or written by someone who worked for wcw before it fell at the hand of vince mcmahon in 2001.
This book is so interesting that i was engrossed for hours and learnt so much, things i thought i knew were sometimes proved correct and sometimes incorrect, this book is one giant learning curve.
When you read the mistakes that wcw made you could almost blush, they are so cringe worthy bad but this helps you understand why wcw fell and fell behind the wwe until it was no more.
This book could well be the best wrestling book i ever read, you would be a lemon if you had an interest and didnt buy this book,sheer class.stunning in every way.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2007
The Death of WCW is without question one of the most interesting and entertaining wrestling books I have read.It is both informative, entertaining and gripping.While initially I found the start covered no new ground which always gets discussed everywhere (eg Ted Turner purchase, Hogan debut, start of Nitro etc etc),once it approached '98 and onwards it was mind blowing some of the stuff they were doing,which I either supressed or just forgot about.Having been a big fan of WCW, it was both funny and depressing being reminded of what happened to once a great company.Combined with the facts and figures which support all the claims (eg tv ratings and buy rates) -this is one great book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2006
This book is essential reading for anyone wanting to know, not just how NOT to operate a wrestling promotion,but how not to make acomplete Horlicks of any business.

Opportunities were wasted, assets devalued and squandered (Frequently deliberately)and the "workforce" was left demoralised and resentful.

The whole, sad story is told in entertaining and informative style by writers genuinely horrified at what was allowed to happen.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2015
Thank you great product and very fast delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2008
With Nash and Hall, Bischoff, Hogan and Russo all coming out in recent years with their own lame justifications of how it wasn't them who "killed" WCW, this book does a fantastic job of just presenting the facts, and the truth that every single one of them played a part in the downfall of the company. Particularly after reading Bischoff's book and hearing interviews with Nash, it is very refreshing to read what is a completely objective and entertaining review of who it was who ruined the company. There is almost nothing in the book that Nash and co could turn around and dispute and maybe the only problem is that the book was made prior to Nash etc coming out with their excuses so that each and every one of them could be torn apart and exposed as complete nonsense. In particular, it becomes clear that the problems with "higher ups" that Bischoff likes to cite as his downfall played a very minor role in reality compared to the other nonsense such as PPVs involving motorbikes, the Tonight show etc.

The great thing about this book though is that they don't push anybody in particular as being the main reason, and the reader can come away with their own views. Either way, its a hilarious and thoroughly entertaining analysis of how it all went wrong down in dubya c dubya land. An absolute must read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2005
I'm gonna put this simply here: this is a book that every single wrestling fan needs to read and especially everyone who works in the industry needs to as well to make sure this never, ever happens again. Funny, informative, in-depth and written by two guys who know the industry inside out - The Death of WCW is probably the greatest book ever written of pro wrestling. Magnificent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2015
love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2013
Just amazing. How do you destroy a company well the answer is in this book. Seriously Benoit and Eddie gurrero vanilla midgets.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2007
This is a fantastic read, while i myself stopped watching around 1999, i never realised just HOW bad WCW got and you know the worst thing? it was all totally avoidable. great book, informative and you will not believe some of the things that the "big wigs" in that company did, haha, it was wince-inducing in places, and funny! thorougly recommend this book to any wrestling fan of the past or present. 5 STARS
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2009
good book at giving the insights into how wcw was ran, its rise and fall but i found the constant use of stats like rating figures every paragraph a little annoying.
33 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)