Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
33
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 June 2007
the best record saxon ever made, this is the band at their hungry best, 747 still gives me shivers down my spine just as it did when i first heard it, everytime i heard it live and every time someone played it at the pub disco on a saturday night. heavy metal at its best ... bap shoo ap ... and the bands played on,(saxon ozzy motorhead etc) still relevant , still a metal standard, dont just sit there do yourself a favour and buy this cd , coz if you see me riding by - do not stop me do not try !!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2013
had this album on vinyl and tape, have updated to cd, as vinyl wearing out and lost tape. still a classic saxon album, arguably the best one they recorded, a must get for thetrue fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2015
Bought this for my vintage motorcycling brother-in-law, he loves it to bits and plays it very load in his car, I think he is living in his second childhood !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2007
They polished up the raw edges which were evident on the first album & produced a record which is an excellent piece of rock music.
This is (arguably !!) Saxon's finest record. It certainly was the record that broke them (in terms of wider audiences).
Saxon were one of the chief exponents in the NWOBHM & this is them at their best. A really top class record with some blisterings songs.
Good old fashioned heavy rock, with a bit of edge.
The title track is brilliant, as is the fast & furious Motorcycle Man & the anthemic 747 (Strangers In The Night). All in all a top album. If you want to buy only one Saxon album, I would suggest that this catches them at their best.
Denim & Leather was their last really decent album, after that they lost their way completely, Wheels Of Steel though is a fine,fine rock album.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Probably the best album that Saxon have produced in all their 30 years. It defines a fantastic period of time when the creative juices of heavy metal were in full stream with the likes of Iron Maiden and Saxon leading the pack. I like most of the people who have this record was a kid during this time and even with the benefit of more years than I care to remember this record and time stand out as the best musical period in my life. I love this record for it's overall tone and sound but most of all I love it for Wheels of Steel. There are a few songs that most of us used to put on the jukebox in the local boozer - Whole Lotta Rosie, Paranoid and of course Wheels of Steel. It really does stand out as a song with a riff that can be compared to the best rock music ever made by any band. Best played loud as you can crank up your hifi and with wife and kids somewhere else so you can drift back 25 years and remember the good times.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2016
A bit of biff and the boys , classic sounds , and one of the best .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2014
CD not supplied but is on cloud player excellent Quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2015
Loved NWOBHM......and this album was brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2012
I love the band Saxon, especially the beggining era.
This cd is rock, i can't find any song who less than great.
NWOBHM is the best genre, any fan should own it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2010
What more need be said? One of the classics of NWOBHM. Saxon at their best.
Buy it.
Now.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)