Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tokio Myers Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
31
4.7 out of 5 stars
Carboot Soul
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.90


on 16 June 2016
This had Been around a long time...and it never ceases to to be a great album to put on in the evening while relaxing. The tracks are great the album is sublime
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2015
SMOKIN TUNES. What can you say other than the perfect smoking music. In a nut shell when you own this and 'Smokers Delight' you have all you need for a hazey session. I love to mix those two albums together and in my opinion these 2 albums are the best from DJ Ease, Nightmares on Wax. Simple, unpretentious beats that work in any chillin occasion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2017
Quality as promised, well wrapped. Thank you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2017
Great thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2017
Perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2000
Along with Global Communication's '76:14', this album is arguably a contender for the greatest chill-out album ever made. After a few listens the mesmerising tunes have found a way to your heart and you will wonder how you ever managed without them.
As the title suggests George 'EASE' Evelyn has trawled through hundreds of old records to find the samples he uses to construct the gorgeous soundscapes of this album. Highlights are too many too mention, but suffice to say that this album transcends musical boundaries and tastes - I've yet to find a single person who hasn't fallen in love with this album upon hearing it.
Oh and I'm not some obsessive fan writing to heap praise on an idols latest offering - my musical tastes range from hip-hop to techno to rock.... This album however has earned each and every one of it's five stars. As the saying goes, if you only buy one album this year, buy this one and let the love affair begin...
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2001
This is a stunning album of relaxed, chilled out songs. You don't need to be into any particular type of music to appreciate this - classicists to hip-hop heads will enjoy. Unreservedly recommended.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2016
Quality tunage
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERon 18 January 2006
Nightmares on Wax is one of those legendary one-man bands who crop up every now and then (also known as George Evelyn, but that doesn't sound as cool). Even the "merely good" work by people such as he is astounding, inventive and really fun.

And "Carboot Soul," his third album, is no exception: it's an amazing mixture of chillout electronica and acid jazz. It's a bit less hazy than his 1995 "Smoker's Delight," but that isn't surprising -- here Evelyn pulls on various influences to flavour his music. The title fits this album: it's soulful, yet it has as many influences as a "carboot" rummage sale.

It begins on a symphonic note in the epic "Les nuits," which seems to herald a new music direction. Don't be deceived. The symphonic build-up leads to funky grooves and jazzy flavours in "Morse," which continues to the brassy "Easejimi," the mellow murmurs of "Finer," and the wonderfully peculiar "Argha Noah." Say that last title out loud, and you'll understand the joke.

But there is a slightly more delicate style near the end, when Evelyn switches to the gently rippling guitar of "Fire in the Middle," the melancholy acid jazz of "Survival," and the eerier, more symphonic sound of "Capumcap." Evelyn ends the album on a high note, with those sensitive, lower-key songs.

It's hard to find groups as good as Nightmares on Wax -- scour the top hundreds, and you won't find anything like this. I personally found "Carboot Soul" in a tiny hole-in-the-wall music store, in the "used" bin, although it's hard to imagine why anyone would discard an album like this.

Despite the chillout label, Evelyn's music has a sort of relaxed warmth that counterpoints the icy sound of many other bands. He also has a good ear for samples and beats, lacing them with razor-sharp drums and some wonderful brass instrumentation. Sara Winton's rich voice is used well, crooning, "A bottle like a model shipwreck/where did it come from?/Where will it go?/A face without a name/survival..."

"Carboot Soul" is another triumph by Nightmares on Wax, and another wonderful display of George Evelyn's considerable talents. An absolute joy.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2001
Everyone had been waxing lyrical (ha ha, it wasn't intended honestly!) about Nightmares on Wax and told me this album was FAB. I had to check it out for myself and they were right. Les Nuits is a fantastic opening and you think it can't get any better after that. You are wrong. Finer is great too, not saying the other tracks aren't but that's what's playing on my CD player at the moment. I could talk about all the tracks being amazing on this album but I'd be here all day. This album redefines chillout. It's funky and laidback like no other. It's an asset to my collection.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Smokers Delight
£7.99
Mind Elevation
£7.99
Thought So...
£7.99
Feelin' Good
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)