Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
33
4.5 out of 5 stars
Smokers Delight
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99


on 9 October 2012
Can't really put my finger on the reason I love this album so much. You don't need to be a brain surgeon to realise this album is geared towards "Smokers, tokers and midnight jokers" but take the advice of a (relatively) smoke-free person and understand that no matter what the occasion or ones preferable vice of choice, this is essential listening. It's not a short album, running well past the 70 minute mark, but it never seems that long. You can easily have it as a piece of background music, or you could delve into it with an attentitive ear and pick apart each musical nuance and dymnamic on the album.

Highlights include the wonderful "Pipes Honour", "Groove Street", "The Journey" and the suprise Eastern tinged curveball closer "Gambia Via Vagatorbeach". I implore lovers of ALL types of music to give this a chance, hopefully you'll love it as much as I did.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2017
Wonderful and I think possibly more enjoyable than car boot soul... but what do I know?! Buy it and have a relax
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2017
Love this guy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2017
Boringggggg
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2015
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2014
A PURE CLASSIC SMOKERS JOINT! When it comes to chillin you need not much. I suggest that you bag this puppy as it resonates through time to still sound fresh now as it did when it was released. What I love is the simple beats and basslines of funk with no stuck up need for over production. In it's simplest form it shows us what true chill and funk n soul is at it's core. Alondside carboot soul this is the best work of N.O.W. It goes with things such as 1) A bath 2) A sunbathing session 3) A joint or 4) A wintery night in, Need I continue? Get ready for the soundtrack for any chilling occasion.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2003
I purchased this album more on word of mouth rather than actually listening to it before I bought it which some might say was a little daft. But after a few listens I became very fond of the laid back collection with some clever deft touches added in. At first listen you may feel this isn't quite to your liking but if you leave it on and don't skip the tracks I can guarantee you will not be disappointed it is a great mix of all sorts of different sounds which blend so well together and leave you feeling relaxed but focused
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2000
From beginning to end this CD never pretends to be anything but what it is - a relaxing head trip for all those who like to flow into their music. Listening to this album is an experience the likes of which you rarely come into contact with in modern music. Each song is a personal interpretation of previous music forms, combining layers of melodies to sometimes amazing effect. This album is recommended to anyone who appreciates or wants to know what the meaning of the words 'chilled out' really is.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2000
If your'e like me and can't buy any old cd just on a whim this album has to be for you because its a solid peice of work, and it's consistant throughout the album. I've had it for ages, and I still listen to it simply because it's beautiful music, the whole album moves along at a stoned pace, strings laid on smooth beats.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2000
While their third album "Carboot Soul" is much better, "Smoker's Delight" seems to have a cult mystique appeal, presumably held by those who haven't heard the album, because it's, well, just not very good.
The atmosphere is satisfactorily chilled, despite the stagnant production values that seems to afflict most albums on the Warp label, but it never gets beyond the novice level when it comes to the actual music. Most of the starting melodies are in place, but there just doesn't seem to be the depth of sound that is expected, and I found the majority of tracks to have no longevity whatsoever, Tracks 3 and 11 being the only notable exceptions.
Basically, it's a pop album masquerading as something more alternative. If you want something more satisfying to smoke to I'd suggest DJ Shadow's "Endtroducing", Boards of Canada's "Music has the Right to Children" or anything by the Future Sound of London.
11 Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Carboot Soul
£7.90
Nights Introlude
£0.99
N.O.W. Is The Time
£8.99
Mind Elevation
£7.99
Thought So...
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)