Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
67
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.73+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 July 2011
This must be the best '60s pop compilation you are ever likely to come across -- and such great value. True, it doesn't include the really big names like The Beatles or The Rolling Stones, but what you have here is the essence of '60s pop music, the songs and instrumentals which are instantly recognisable from that era. So, the first record I ever bought is included here : Bernard Cribbins' comic song 'Right Said Fred' with 'Hole In The Ground' on the flip side. Not really a pop song? Well, as other reviewers have already commented, the music of the '60s was so diverse, it encompassed pop, country and western, folk, jazz, crooners -- you name it and the '60s had it.
There are no more than 3 contributions from any one artist, and very few songs, I think, which you will not be able to remember. One surprising omission for me is 'Stranger On The Shore' which was another of my early purchases and a great hit at the time for Acker Bilk.
For the record, I am listing the tracks on Disc 5, as a previous reviewer repeated the tracks on Disc 4 by mistake :
1. JENNY TAKE A RIDE -- Mitch Ryder And The Detroit Wheels.
2. YOU'RE NO GOOD -- The Swinging Blue Jeans.
3. I LIKE IT -- Gerry And The Pacemakers.
4. DO WAH DIDDY DIDDY -- Manfred Mann.
5. POISON IVY -- The Paramounts.
6. YOU GOT WHAT IT TAKES -- Marv Johnson.
7. SABRE DANCE -- Love Sculpture.
8. I'LL NEVER GET OVER YOU -- Johnny Kidd And THe Pirates.
9. PRETTY BLUE EYES -- Craig Douglas.
10. HOUSE OF THE RISING SUN -- The Animals.
11. CONFESSIN' -- Frank Ifield.
12. ON THE ROAD AGAIN -- Canned Heat.
13. THE WEIGHT -- The Band.
14. ONE WAY LOVE -- Cliff Bennett And The Rebel Rousers.
15. BOOM BANG-A-BANG -- Lulu.
16. BIG SPENDER -- Shirley Bassey.
17. HURDY GURDY MAN -- Donovan.
18. BALLAD OF BONNIE & CLYDE -- Georgie Fame.
19. THE CARNIVAL IS OVER -- The Seekers.
20. STAIRWAY TO HEAVEN -- Neil Sedaka.
21. I UNDERSTAND -- Freddie And The Dreamers.
22. ALL I HAVE TO DO IS DREAM -- Bobbie Gentry & Glen Campbell.
23. GREEN FIELDS -- Beverley Sisters.
24. YOU'RE MY WORLD -- Cilla Black.
25. TEARS -- Ken Dodd.
0Comment| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2009
Although hits, I think, as a set, some of the middle of the road songs here are out of place. It is not meant to be a definitive collection, no Beatles, Stones, Kinks, Who etc, but I think it should have concentrated on the pop/beat side of the charts as this makes up the large majority of content. The MOR just gets in the way.
It has been poorly edited for CD as there are many tracks that start before the previous track ends, so if you use random play the beginning of songs are missing (very noticeable on Anyone Who Had A Heart).
22 comments| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2011
I am delighted with the selection of music; so many popular sixties collections around and most tend to be compilations of the No. 1 hits of the time - ignoring many great hits that were around then. However, is it me or has anybody else played it on their pc and found the list of tracks that comes with each disc is so off base it had me in stitches! It was a real challenge matching some of the hits on the uploaded list to what was actually playing - many times it was not even on that disc!
any ideas how I can straighten this out and match the list with the disc when it plays on the pc?

Original Hits - Sixties
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Excellent value and (unlike so many other lesser compilations) ALL original hits: Even the remastered tracks are the original hit performances.

Gives a true reflection of sixties music which was unimaginably diverse: The outgoing styles of big ballads, twee singers and orchestras sitting (yep, sometimes uneasily) alongside "Four Guys, three guitars and a drum kit" bands, Motown and Soul artists and strange hippy one offs. That's how it was then: For example the top singles of 1969 included "My Way" by Frank Sinatra and "Honky Tonk Women" by the Stones, the chalk and the cheese - no?

Anyway, if you want to buy a 60s album, this one is highly recommended because it's all original hits, and you get a lotta diverse music for your money.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2011
This set of discs is one of the best i have bought for sixties music, if you liked the movie Pirate Radio this box set is the definitve sound of the days of Pirate radio in England, dont bother spending a fortune on the soundtrack to the movie just buy this box set, but if you are American be aware you may not recognise 80% of these tracks, as most of them never made it across the atlantic in the British Invasion.
This box set is the music i remember when i was a kid from 6 yrs old growing up from 1960 onwards , you will not have wasted your money on this Cd if you buy it,all the tracks are original songs, original artists, and original recordings.
i highly recomend this Cd
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2010
If like me you grew up in the 60s, you'll be thrilled to have this great value box set. An earlier review of this set, bemoaned the fact that there are no tracks by The Beatles, The Stones or other legendary rock groups included. This is surely a business decison made by the copyright holders. In any case, there are numerous collections of their hits available and their original albums continue in the catalogue. What's more we know their music inside out and it's the forgotten gems that you'll find here alongside the many familar smash hits that make this compilation special.
This set would also be a great introduction to 60s pop for younger listeners.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2011
A must for the 60's music buff. A huge collection of original recordings at a great price and with excellent sound quality. A complete collection of 60's hits in one package.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2013
Being a youngster in the Sixties - so many of these great tunes brought back happy memories especially the one's that you do not tend to hear so much nowadays even on retro stations - Bernard Cribbins records being a prime example.

Excellent for older people take a trip back through time or younger people who want to discover what all the fuss was about or just have a good set of discs to put on at a 60's themed party.

So turn on, tune in and drop out man!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2010
The 60's represented on this Album are an explosion of different types and tastes, with a lot of talent and innovation to create very individual sounds given that they did it without the music apparatus available today.
Great variety on this album and the sound quality in representing the original tracks are excellent.
The 60's was an exciting time to live through, colourful, diverse and liberal!Original Hits - Sixties
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2013
As a Hobby DJ I have to keep my music selection relevant, wide spread of styles and it has to be quality production. This Album has many popularly requested tracks and others which are useful for any DJ or Anybody with a taste for this style of music. Some tracks that you would've expected are missing but overall not too bad.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)