Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
163
4.4 out of 5 stars
Style: Megabit with 4 Port PoE|Change
Price:£44.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 March 2015
This switch functions as expected and comes in a proper metal chassis, not a cheap plastic one that slides around.

Having said that, as prices for managed switches have reduced, it's not a great deal cheaper than many of the 'smart managed' switches now available on the market, so it may well be worth spending the extra few pounds on something with VLAN capabilities.

The PoE power budget is advertised as 53W across all 4 ports, so whilst it's fine for things like phones and wireless access points, it might not be sufficient for pan/tilt IP CCTV cameras - check with your camera manufacturer.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2016
I honestly thought this would be a cheap bit of plastic but its fantastic. I'm running cisco access points & IP cameras off it, all at once, with no issues at all.
I was previously running a fully managed solution as a test network but got fed up and wanted to 'simplify' it and this was the cheapest thing I could find, but I expected a pitfall to come with the pricetag - so far, I have found none.

Its a metal chassis, not a cheap plastic one. Really, really good value for money! If this was ebay I'd offer an A+++ rating!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2016
Bought this is for a home office and works perfectly and solved my networking issues of my failing old Netgear Switch of 7 years old that no longer consistently worked. It is a fully featured switch in a nicely constructed metal case with some many features. My only disappointment and hence only 4 stars out of 5 was that when I opened the box it ONLY had a continent plug. There was not even a convertor supplied. Now being a techie of 30 years and it being a standard "kettle" plug it was not an issue for me but if sold in the UK really should have the correct plug.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2016
Quite happy with the switch. I needed a POE switch to power some CCTV cameras and also wanted it to be gigabit so I can hook it up to my NAS and my CCTV DVR. I'm pleased to say its functioning just fine and I've had no problems with either POE or with regular gigabit networking on it. I can easily max out the gigabit port on my computer pulling 110MB/sec from my NAS to my workstation. My only gripe is the external power brick as I'm not sure why it could not have been incorporated into the switch itself. But thats a minor issue. It's 8 port and 4 of the ports are POE capable.

Pros:
Sturdy metal construction
Totally silent operation
Good switch bandwidth (16 Gigabits, so each port can do 1Gbit in full duplex)

Cons:
Consumes a fair amount of power
It doesn't do 802.11az (green / efficient ethernet) which in 2015 is a bit disappointing.
Big external power brick adapter
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2017
Fantastic bit of kit.
I have a few switches on our home network, (which is primarily Unifi based), needing to add some POE switches for CCTV Cameras for my QNAP NAS drive (Get Reolink Cameras btw, amazing value and image). I baulked at paying £129.99 for 60 watts Unifi Switches and thought I would try these, so I bought two. A bit of minor inconvenience that they came set with an IP of 192.168.0.1, but literally plug one into my network, give my Mac Pro a static IP address of 192.168.1.24 and set them up in turn to have a 192,168.1.XXX address. And the job was good to go.
Did a little bit of tinkering with settings (QOS/Flow Control) and tried them out.
Impressive especially for half the price of the Unifi Ones.
They have been rock solid for six months now.
Highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2017
Love this switch box it performs similar to a hob in that the LAN ports automatically configures and detect the devices connected and the speed the Ethernet cable is capable of and this is displayed via the LED lights on the front panel. It also supports and indicates when a POE type connection is present. However I personally did not get my brand new NetDuma router purchased only a week before this switch box to utilise the power element. I connected a CAT7 cable from my NetDuma PoE LAN port to the TP-LINK TL-SG1008P switch box's PoE LAN port but the NetDuma did not turn on?? Maybe I did something wrong. I had to plug in the power cord on the NetDuma router for it to work.

However if you have a Gigabit LAN ports and Cat7 cables that supports 1000Mbps then this router will indicated via the LED on the front panel that this data speed is being used. The front panel also shows which LAN ports are actively being used and which of the first 4 LAN ports are used via PoE connection - another helpful indicator on the front panel.

Build quality is excellent. Full metal throughout the case and feels robust and solid. Non of that plastic crap on the case anywhere! Hope they never opt to go for those cheap plastic cases - the more metal the better. Feels compact for a 8 port switch box. Comes with 4 stick-on rubber feet to absorb shock and for better placement on smooth surfaces like a glass table/desk. I love the fact that air vents are on both sides of the case and not on the top or the bottom- This would have made this device perfect for wall mounting but it is not designed to be mounted on a wall. However, I am happy with my purchase and its performance. One of best switch box out there in my opinion and I researched many before deciding on buying this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2016
I have this in the garage so it is in a cold environment and has worked flawlessly since I installed it along with a hikvision 1080p camera. Great thing about this POE router is it reduces network congestion from my main router which handles Internet traffic and it currently is plugged into a homeplug gigabit powering adaptor which is subsequently connected to a laptop running xprotect cctv surveillance software. Works a treat and a great price too would highly recommend!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2017
A year later and one of the POE ports have failed so nothing I can do. Bought this for connecting my 3 POE CCTV Cameras, all working fine until one of the cameras continually started disconnecting from the NAS, tried everything then read a post about POE switch's, changed the port and all okay now, but disappointed its started failing. Will try TP-Link to replace it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2017
Good little IT switch. Silent as no fans so can live under the floor and the PoE ports are a massive bonus for the likes of webcams and access points. TP-LINK continue to be a good brand
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2017
Great little (well relatively small) switches that I use for IP CCTV systems. I use them as they have an external power block and not a plug-in power supply, this makes it easier to hide the switch in ceiling spaces and wire to a fused spur.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 18 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)