Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
67
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.61+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 June 2017
as expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2012
Having not seen this hidden gem before I wasn't prepared for what I was going to witness but I'm glad to say I was utterly blown away by this film, when I say the best film since Lock Stock or Trainspotting I really do mean it. The casting, direction, score, dialogue, intelligent script, everything about this film is so well executed it makes me wonder why I haven't seen it before or why it hasn't had a wider appeal because it more than deserves it. Based on true events that took place in the 80s the story revolves around a central character who becomes involved in the gritty world of bouncing on the club doors and follows his consequential descent into the world of drugs and gangland violence. With a gripping build up of events leading to a shocking finale this film brilliantly and effortlessly takes us through many an unsettling scenario even with hints of black humour thrown in. It has some dark moments but they are expertly handled and always in keeping with the films context and never glamorized, on the contrary, they are necessary. With excellent pace and a cracking 80s soundtrack the film pulls no punches (no pun intended) in shying away from showing us what happens in real life, this IS reality, this is what actually happens in peoples lives and should be shown, all credit to the director for pulling this off with professionalism. Cannot recommend this gem of film enough, advised for audiences of 16 and up due to it's moderate level violence and language. Enjoy !
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2015
I was pretty disappointed in this. I am a big fan of Geoff Thompson. Bruce lee gave us the physical side of fighting and I believe Geoff gave us the secrets of psychological warfare knowledge. His early book the fence was worth a pound a word compared to years of training in various disciplines only to freeze in fight situations. Bouncer was a brilliant BAFTA winner that was close to the core. Unfortunately this film is lame and disappointing.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2015
i read the reveiws on this,,and they all seemed positive, everyone saying how good it looked on a low budget. it is not a good film. its lame. i couldnt tell what era it was suposed to be in..the lead actor..bad...and un likable...no one seemed like you wantecd to like them. so honestly, dont bother
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2016
This is a terrible film with some dire acting and even worse dialogue. Why oh why did an actor of Maxine Peake's calibre agree to be in it? The story charts well-trodden territory: a young factory worker, emasculated by the drudgery of his work, the tyranny of his family life and the violence of his inner city housing estate, befriends some doormen and sets out to toughen himself up. This of course finds him embroiled in a shady, violent criminal underworld where he is quickly out of his depth, and, as is now standard for films for this type, a groovy 80s soundtrack accompanies the litany of gruesome beatings and killings which inevitably occur along the way. Very little of this main character's rapid transition from shrinking violet to ruthless henchman seems credible, largely because a great deal of the action is prefaced by an incredibly clumsy, obvious narration which allows for no ambiguity or sophistication. It feels very much like the transformation takes place not over a matter of years, months, weeks or days, but in about half an hour. As horror parody Garth Marenghi once said: "I know writers who use subtext and they're all cowards." Presumably the writer of Clubbed feels the same...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2015
Believe the reviews that it is badly acted. Also the costumes and attempt at "period" setting. Managed to maintain my interest, but really cant be too positive about it. Could've been a lot lot better
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Terminal loser Danny decides to study the Fistic Art to control his fears and help him be a better father to his two girls; this leads to a job working doors with some of guys from the local gym. Into a world of hooligans, drunks, drug dealers and heavies Danny loses some of his chums on a long voyage through murder and prison. The plot has a nice twist but tends to be a bit too wordy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2009
What a fantastic film. Having read 'Watch My Back', I was prepared for the violence, although in no way was it gratuitous; what I wasn't ready for was the humour and tenderness weaved into the film. Very gritty and true to life story that will bring out the British love of the underdog who fights back. Watch out for the great twist at the end.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2009
I was aware of this film from the early stages of production due to the way it was funded, and was looking forward to seeing the end product, which did not dissapoint

The action, storyline and acting are all excellent. Sometimes when geeks watch films which portray inaccuracies or stuff which they know would be 'unlikely to ever happen in real life' they get mildly annoyed, and so it will be here for bouncers and boxers

The actors cast as bouncers are supposidly working at the 'biggest club in town' so how 4 of them (2 of which dont weigh a buck-05 wet thru) manage this is somewhat unrealistic (a few bit part walk on's from more beefy doorstaff would have helped here!)

And the boxing club was somewhat devoid of, err, real boxers - with the exception of Geoff Thompson, the source of inspiration & redemption for countless jouneymen of all ages, & the pen behind this great story

But all that is just picky trivia in the light of the film as a whole, as a piece of quality entertainment with a strong heart & something worthwhile to say

A great brit film with a great 80's soundtrack & an intelligent script which deals with several difficult issues square on

One of those films where, when the end titles start to roll, you find yourself saying - "mmmm - good that, yeh, enjoyed it"
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2015
The 4 star reviews must be by people who worked in the movie or are friends of the actors because this has to be one of the worst movies I have ever seen, The acting was terrible, very bad plot and story line and a total cringe-worthy film from start to end. Well no after 40 minutes I gave up with it. Please do not be fooled by the rave reviews. Absolutely diabolical
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)