Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
18
4.4 out of 5 stars
For The Bible Tells Me So [DVD] [2007]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 16 April 2010
After watching For The Bible Tells Me So ,I realized that this film could have a huge impact on viewers. Imagine that this film is shown to a group of teenagers,and that someone in the audience might be gay,and too afraid to tell their parents or a close friend, and is contemplating taking their own life. This documentary may just be enough to make that person re-think their situation and know that there are support groups around,not just hatred and judgment. This film uses home cine film footage, and recent interviews with people that have gay children. The home movie segments are poignant,showing happy families,years before the coming out and the trauma.
Also featured are comments by people as varied as Bishop Tutu, conservative anti-gay activist Anita Bryant, and gay Bishop Gene Robinson,who was sent death-threats. The film admirably does try to at least show the differing points of view. A cartoon segment about half way through the film attempts to briefly tell of the scientific findings of recent research regarding homosexuality,explaining that being gay is not a choice,as people once thought.Given the sometimes grim nature of the topic, I was surprised that there were parts of this film that were entertaining as well as informative.
Each of the five families tell their story in a very personal way,and of their varying degrees of acceptance (or not) of their gay children. There are numerous archival news reel clips,images,television talk shows or radio broadcasts on the topic of homosexuality ,and christianity, intercut with the family stories.
I would highly recommend this DVD to any schoolteacher,guidance counsellor or parent. Education is the answer to the hatred,& this film will do a lot of good in the years ahead,hopefully. Outstanding and well-researched.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2011
For The Bible Tells Me So was a life saver for me when I was in anguish over coming to terms with my sexuality and my love for Jesus. I did'nt realise there could be another explanation to the Bible passages that held me in anguish.

I would recommend this beautiful handling of reconciling faith & sexuality to anyone with similar struggles and for anyone with a different viewpoint who wishes to be open and caring enough to listen to another view point.

I wish I had watched this years ago and not judged myself and others.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2009
for the bible tells me so is an amazing DVD that shows us what the bible really says and how some people can really misinterpret it and use it as a tool to spread hate on so many different levels,i have learned alot from this dvd its an amazing buy.if you love this buy ballot measure 9 its just as good.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2009
a great insight into how religious anti gay bias is based almost solely upon a misinterpretation of the bible.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2011
When I saw this DVD I was so very impressed. I know a lot on the subject having studied it in depth personally however seeing this puts it into perspective.

If anyone would like a starting point on this subject matter you cannot go wrong, I think that this documentary will (and has) helped countless parents and families come to terms with the news that someone they know is gay.

I cannot say anything about this documentary that encapsulates its success. Informative, well shot and the editing made it very easy to follow.

A highly suggested purchase.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2010
This is an excellent DVD. It is thought provoking and offers alternative factual views on entrenched homophobic ways of interpreting biblical text. The moving and often painful case histories shown illustrate the difficulties and courage necessary for some of the families to share their experiences. The explanation and interpretation of very small pieces of biblical text, which it points out has often historically been expressed out of context and in very inappropriate ways, is challenging and illuminating.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2010
Very professionally made and directed (why wouldn't it be?) with expectations cleverly turned on their heads. What wasn't made clear though, was if the children continued to share their parents' Christian faith, or not. One could certainly surmise it in the case of two of the main subjects, but not necessarily in the case of the others. I would have liked the children's thoughts on how their sexuality affected their faith, if at all. Thought-provoking and entertaining: a rare combination
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
I write this review from a 'Gay Liberal Christian' perspective, (if you will allow that this is possible!) so it may not be completely objective. If you want a film which weighs both the fundamentalist and liberal points of view equally look elsewhere, but from my position, I found this film really inspiring. The well known passages from The Bible dealing with homosexuality were discussed seriously and explanations given placing the stark condemnation of same sex relationships in a historical perspective.
The film chiefly followes the lives of christian families one of whose children is gay, the effect that their 'coming out' had on the relationships within the family, and on the lives of the son or daughter. The terrible harm done by not accepting each person for who they are is clearly shown. I found the last part of the film really moving as it demonstrates how individuals and the church can move forward in accepting and even celebrating diversity.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2010
This is an excellent film that shows how people can change. However it also shows how a lot of america are still very close minded. Should be watched by everyone, especially straight people and parents. Would be a good gift for the parents of lgbt people after a recent coming out.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2014
Every faith leader, community leaders and LGBTIQ people should watch this video. We might just save the life of an LGBTIQ person. He bible tells me so, is a timeless and authentic story telling.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)