Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
69
4.5 out of 5 stars
Price:£20.57+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 May 2011
Bought this for wild camping. Brilliant improvement of the stoves from yesteryear. It takes the 'click in' Camping Gaz canisters and can take different sizes which is great depending on whether it is being carried in a rucksac, on a bike or in the car. I love the piezo electric ignition. It was so easy to set up camp in the dusk and turn on the stove without having to fumble around for matches or battle against the wind. Its vanes fold away and it packs into a white plastic case which is quite small and packs easily into a rucksac. You can disconnect the canister and carry that separately so it makes packing for backpacking very easy. So far no problems with it and an excellent product.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2011
Having grown up with the old style camping gaz stove I was so excited to see these (I'm an engineer too). This is very good product development from the company I think it's great! Quality from a quality company.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2011
My son bought this stove to take on his Duke of Edinburgh's Award Expedition.
He thinks it is brilliant. He was the envy of the group, as the stove lights first time...no need for matches.
He would recommend it to anyone.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2011
ive used the previous incarnation of this for a few years now and had no probs. This newer version is much easier to use, espcially for your `novice` camping friends. Just make sure they dont try to overtighten it when fitting. Its compact, safe and out the way when its in its case. And it works at reasonably low temps in winter.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2012
Great bit of kit needs wind shieding in high winds as do most small gas stoves.Some reviewers mention them being wobbly.Tips....They don't like too big a pan which can make them too top heavy and above all fit the correct 'PLUS' GAS Canisters.Otherwise they wont click into place and are 'wobbly'. I have two they have never let me down.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2013
This stove is light and compact and fits the reasonably widely available CV range of cartridges.

The best cartridge for this stove performance wise is the CV470, but this makes the stove less stable than using the CV270 cartridge. The problem with all cartridge top stoves without stabilisers is that they become unstable with wide pans. Better go for one with stabilising fit such as the Bivouac or a tripod stove with separate hose and cartridge.

Even better, buy one of the rare (and expensive) stoves which uses an inverted butane canister (such as Jetboil Helios/Go systems Thermopro/Coleman Fyrestorm) because of the power limitations of small butane cartridges. The performance of this stove is more than adequate to boil a litre of water, or fry some eggs and other easily cooked dishes, but that is all, and you should buy a separate windshield.

My money would go on the inexpensive Coleman cartridge top stove, as propane is better for the British weather, or on the beach. Whilst the Coleman does come with stabilising feet, it is however taller, and possibly more difficult therefore to find a windscreen.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2011
Very practical and easy to install. Strong flame and more than enough for a week everyday cooking with normal use.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2013
The only issue I had with this was when attaching the canister, there didn't seem to be any indication that it was connected properly. The paperwork says there is a 'click' but there was none that I noticed.
Using it is very simple and it performed superbly. You do have to make sure it is on level, solid ground before use, maybe it would be worth buying a stability attachment for it, like this http://www.amazon.co.uk/Primus-721171-Cartridge-Footrest--/dp/B000XYQZJ8/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1371695321&sr=8-2&keywords=camping+stove+feet
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
Does what it says on the tin. Only 1 problem, I bought the smaller gas cannisters and with a kettle on top the whole thing was unstable. If the wind blew, it all fell over and the grass caught alight. I guess this applies to all these small gas stoves.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2014
Bought one two years ago. It lights and heats a kettle very quickly. However, the stove has become increasingly unstable, it wobbles on top of the cartridge, so much that the kettle nearly fell off! Hence I have just bought a Douself portable gas stove which attaches to similar sized cartridges via a pipe.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)